We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastico! Fabuloso!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fantastico! Fabuloso!”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

When our van turned into the entrance of Tierra Patagonia after driving for 4 hours from Punta Arenas, we were quite disappointed as we could only see the top and back of a flattish wooden hotel in a barren land, although surrounded by beautiful snow-capped mountains.

Everything changed when we were warmly ushered into the reception and through to the lounge and restaurant. The "flattish wooden" hotel is actually intimately constructed to blend into the beautiful landscape, and it is an architectural piece of art.

Every single room, the lounge and the restaurant look out to the beautiful mountains and the Laguna Sarmiento, a pristine calm lake filled with blue waters. Everywhere you look becomes a "WOW" moment!

Imagine waking up every morning to that, and having your meals, taking in the delicious food and glorious scenery....the waiters Pablo, Dexter, Maurizio, Beatrice and Sebastian made us feel like family, always greeting us at every meal with bright smiles, so much warmth and enthusiasm. Nothing was too difficult for them, and no amount of coffee, raspberry juice or Calafate Sour was too much trouble.

The rooms are elegantly zen-like with not much clutter, and with large bathrooms with a shower room, WC and bath-tub. You can even soak in the bath and take in the majesty of the mountains as there is a glass panel between the bedroom and the bathroom which allows the view.

We found the other staff friendly and warm. One of their guides, Nacho reviewed the various excursion options with us the day we arrived, and recommended a few to us. Even then, we already liked his warmth and sense of humour.

Nacho took us out to the Laguna Azul the next morning before returning to the hotel for lunch. We enjoyed ourselves so much with Nacho that we requested for him to be our guide for all the other excursions, and we were not disappointed.

The next few days' excursions included a hike up the Cornizas ridge where we were fortunate to witness about a dozen condors soaring majestically around the ridge, where it also snowed lightly. To have Nacho pointing out all the interesting facts, flowers etc was a bonus. We also went on the Laguna Grey and glacier tour. We felt humbled as the boat manouvered along the lake and the icebergs as the huge beautiful and blue grey glacier and mountain peaks looked down on us mere mortals in majestic silence.

Nacho also gave a presentation of the photos which he has collected over the years during our first night there - you cannot miss it, as it will give you a little insight into the beauty of the surroundings, and his love and passion for Torres del Paines and his job. Consider yourself lucky if Nacho leads your group out.

After all the exercise, a visit to the spa for a deep tissue or hot stone massage, or a dip in the heated pool, again with a lovely view of the mountains & lake, is a must. All 3 masseurs are excellent.

We were very sad to leave our friends at Tierra Patagonia at the end of our stay, and will try to return even though it is a 33-hour journey for us each way!!

Room Tip: Every room has a view of the mountains and lake. We were allocated Rooms 5, 6 & 7 which are a sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MWLing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraGuestServices, Guest Relations Manager at Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear MWLing;
Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to detail your experiences at Tierra Patagonia. I know all our team will be happy to know their efforts were appreciated - particularly Nacho! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, when hopefully the journey will be a bit shorter.
Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    57
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
84
260
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Campbelltown, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights recently, and loved every minute. For us the choice was between this hotel and the Explora, and we chose Tierra because it appeared to have more options for vehicle based tours, since we are not really hikers. The hotel is architecturally superb, and the rooms and public areas are serene and beautiful, with a magnificent view across the lake to the Torres from every part of the hotel.

We enjoyed the included excursions, and found the guides to be excellent.

The fully inclusive package covers tours, all meals and most drinks. The picnic lunch on our full day tour was really good, and meals in the restaurant varied from very good to excellent. The serving staff are young and friendly. The only service issue we experienced was having to ask for our wine glasses to be topped up during our meal, since wines are poured by the glass. The included Chilean wines were all very good, and the "by the glass" system meant that we could each order different wines to suit our different food choices.

We cannot provide a comparison to other accommodations in this area. However we did not find the location outside the National Park to be a problem. The excursions take you to every part of the Park, and the view from every part of the hotel is outstanding. We were very pleased with our choice to stay here, and would recommend Tierra Patagonia unreservedly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kb7758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraGuestServices, Guest Relations Manager at Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear kb7758;
Thank you for your lovely comments! We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to make the most of the excursions and facilities to really see Patagonia. We've noted your comments about the wine glasses being topped up and will make sure that it contintues to flow and more freely in the future! We hope to be able to welcome you back either to Tierra Patagonia or our sister hotel in northern Chile, Tierra Atacama.
Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We just returned from a great trip in Chile but the highlight for me was the time in Torres del Paine National Park in Tierra Patagonia Hotel. What a gorgeous hotel built into the countryside. Waking every morning and falling asleep every night to the view of the lake with the majestic towers through the huge windows was incredible. The hotel is an all-inclusive and the food, wines, Pisco sours, and guided tours are all included. Everything is wonderful. Our guides were great but I personally appreciated Nacho, who took us on driving/walking tours, went horseback riding with us, and then treated us to a personal slide show. Service is excellent. The price is dear but it is worth every peso.

Room Tip: Our room was on the upper level. I think the rooms are identical on the lower level but I'm not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan08830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraGuestServices, Guest Relations Manager at Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Guest;
Thank you for leaving your comments on Trip Advisor and we're thrilled to hear you enjoyed the experience! All our team work hard to make sure our guests have a great stay and it sounds like Nacho went the extra mile - we'll be sure to make sure he reads your comments. We do hope we can welcome you back again in the future.
Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEW YORK NY
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This hotel is extraordinarily gorgeous, far exceed explora in Patagonia where I've previously stayed. Gracious staff, incredibly comfortable facilities, first rate spa (ask for Julien for deep tissue), spectacular hikes. Weak spot = dining room where mostly good food is sometimes marred by inaccurate descriptions (eg menu failing to forewarn guests that there's shellfish in a dish, resulted in an allergic reaction) and some defensiveness among waiters. Overall food service at dinner needs improvement; breakfast is excellent and lunch quite good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DANI24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraGuestServices, Guest Relations Manager at Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Dani24;
Thank you for your positive comments and for letting us know where we can improve! We're working hard on our weaker areas and will keep doing so until we have as many satisfied guests as possible! We're sure Julien will be happy to know his efforts were appreciated and we're glad our guides enabled you to enjoy the excursions we offer. We will revise the menus and description of the dishes to ensure that the ingredients are clearer for future guests.
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Trip Advisor, and we hope you will return to see us in Patagonia again in the future.
Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaco
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

We visited staid at this hotel for four nights and the price fully matched our experience. Friendly and professional staff, exceptional architecture, great cooking, flexibility and client focussed. A must do in the region. The staff and the facility gives you a "homy" feeling.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraGuestServices, Guest Relations Manager at Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Marc;
Many thanks for leaving your review of your experiences on Trip Advisor. We're pleased you enjoyed your time with us and our staff will be happy to know their efforts are appreciated. We ard to make sure all our guests are happy, and we are pleased that you made the most of the experience and the architecture, infrastructure and cosy feel of the hotel. Hopefully you will be able to come back and visit us again in the future!
Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
264 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Architecturally the Tierra Patagonia facility is stunning! It blends in yet has a bit of a spaceship feel, and once inside, we really felt at home! I cannot stress enough how well designed the hotel is and how homy it feels!

As for service, the staff was overall very friendly and ready to aasnwer ur questions and adapt. The guides on duty typically organie a bunch of treks based on the aggregate wishes of the hotel's residents. So just to be clear, the guides/excursions/tours are not "private" but actually "semi-private". In our case,t his worked out very well since all the activities we wanted to conducts ended being schedules by the guides. The guides were friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable, so I was overall very pleased.

The reception staff was very helpful as well, albeit a bit confusing when we first arrived since 3-4 people introduced themselves to us and wanted to assist us with check-in at the same time. Typically, in small hotels/lodges of this type, I am used to one person greeting uss and introducing us to everybodyelse, and then serving as our main liaison for the check-in process.. So all in all, I think the staff was just over eager to assist us, and for the 5-10 minutes it took us to check-in, we were a bit clueless as to whom to talk to...

The waiting and restaurant staff were overall very courtous, albeit sometimes a bit confused (a few orders were forgotten). The main room for improvement in my mind, however, is the food. Food in the restaurant for dinner, at breakfast, and the snacks during our treks were way below average from what I have come to expect from high-end lodges (typically African safari lodges or South American lodges) where rooms are typically over a 1,000USd/night. I suggest the hotel address the food issue somehow. We were a group of 5 peopl staying in 3 rooms, and none of us were really ever satisfied with the meals served.

Anyway, this seems to be on of the two high-end option (along with Salto Chico). We chose this hotel baased on the fact that it does not require it's guests to arrive aand depart on specific dates (Salto Chico has minimum stay requirements) and were very happy with our choice. From a infrastructure perspective, I do not see how a hotel could be more beautifull and offer such nice views 9perhaps Salto Chicco does, but I cannot say as I have not been there).

Room Tip: All rooms offerthe same view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mahme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraGuestServices, Guest Relations Manager at Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest;
Many thanks for your positive comments about your stay with us in Tierra Patagonia. We will work with the team in the hotel to straighten out some of the issues you mention regarding the over enthusiastic service on arrival and the confusion in the restaurant. As we are a long way from anywhere, one of our particular challenges is providing fresh, interesting food to please a wide variety of palates. Your comments help us keep trying and developing different dishes and combinations to ensure we can please our guests.
We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to enjoy the excursions and homey feel of the hotel. We try and be as flexible as possible to give our guests the best experience possible, so thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to be able to welcome you back one day.
Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Wonderful place - this hotel is a fantastic place to when visiting Torres del Paine - the staff are excellent as are the guides. The views are stunning, the beds very comfortable and the bathroom is huge. We went on different hikes, boat trip to the glaciers, saw lots of animals including Pumas (in fact we saw three in the space of 10 minutes). We went in October (Spring/Summer season). The weather is cold but if you have the right clothes, it is fine. The wind is very strong. The hotel is situated in the middle of nowhere - it is totally serene and beautiful. Every where you go, you want to capture the scenic beauty. The food was very good especially since I am veg. I would highly recommend this place

Room Tip: The hotel has two floors and I would recommend rooms on the first floor as the views are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TierraGuestServices, Guest Relations Manager at Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest;
Thank you for the lovely comments and for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. It sounds like you enjoyed your stay and were able to make the most of the different excursions and activities available. I'm sure our staff will be pleased to know their efforts were appreciated and that you had a great time. We hope that we can welcome you back again some day!
Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torres del Paine National Park hotels
8.9 mi away
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chateaux
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chate...
#1 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
225 reviews
22.0 mi away
Rio Serrano Hotel
Rio Serrano Hotel
#5 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
808 reviews
13.4 mi away
Las Torres Patagonia
Las Torres Patagonia
#6 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacion
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacio...
#7 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
449 reviews
12.0 mi away
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
#8 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
34 reviews
21.8 mi away
Hotel Lago Tyndall
Hotel Lago Tyndall
#12 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa

Property: Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
Address: Ruta 9 intersecting with Ruta Y156, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
#1 Luxury Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa is a casual but luxurious design hotel with 40 guest rooms. The hotel ambiance is Patagonian, one that radiates warmth, safety and togetherness; all things desired by those who've spent their day in the Patagonian outdoors. The hotel sits on a bluff where the vast pampas meet Lake Sarmiento, and enjoys a magnificent view of Torres del Paine peaks on the other side of the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa Torres Del Paine National Park, Aisen Region, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing