We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its the only good alternative inside the park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Explora Patagonia - All Inclusive
Certificate of Excellence
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“its the only good alternative inside the park”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

explora once more amazes me with this spectacular hotel; right in the shores of lake peohe with a magnificent view of the paine mountains.. the best breakfasts ive ever had.. and the best sunsets..

hotel great, cozy an chill.. the pool is kinda far away but its in a perfect spot you wont regret the trip to the pool!

Room Tip: the best rooms are cordillera paine rooms and off course the suite..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jealbornoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exploraSA, CEO / Gerente General at Explora Patagonia - All Inclusive, responded to this review, 22 December 2011
Dear traveler,

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to review your explora Patagonia experience.

You’ve written this review at the end of October and I hope that you had a chance to see our freshly renovated explora Patagonia lodge. In early October 2011 we put the finishing touches on an extensive renovation of Hotel Salto Chico. Furnishings have been upgraded throughout all public spaces with new chairs, sofas and tables setting a comfortable scene. Illumination has been similarly enhanced with a new and more effective lighting system installed throughout.

Next to the dining room, a brand new space has been arrayed as a wine bar featuring a small and beautiful selection from Chile’s different wine regions. Our hotel spa, Casa de Banos del Ona, received the most extensive renovation with a complete enhancement. Unfortunately, I have to disappoint you, the spa is still located about 300 feet from the lodge, but we’ve added one massage room in the lodge. It is set in the main building next to the guest rooms for guests who would rather be treated in the main lodge than stroll to Casa de Banos del Ona.

Again, thank you for your kind review.

With kindest regards,

Jesús Parrilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    634
    71
    19
    6
    11
See reviews for
116
398
48
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

...well almost. It's not easy to get to, but once you are there it is fabulous. It's a beautiful small contemporary hotel, designed by a famous architect, with meals and drinks included in the price. Yes, it's expensive, but worth it for a once in a lifetime experience. The guides are very knowledgeable about flora, fauna, and geology. We found all the people who work there extremely friendly and helpful. Plus, many of the other guests are fascinating. We celebrated our 35th anniversary and my husband's birthday while there. It was an unforgetable trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the torres, the mountain peaks across the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mojo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exploraSA, CEO / Gerente General at Explora Patagonia - All Inclusive, responded to this review, 22 December 2011
Dear traveler,

Thank you for reviewing your explora Patagonia experience, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

I have noted that you’ve chosen explora for a special occasion, which isn’t uncommon. The setting of our lodge in the heart of the Torres del Paine National Park is in the true sense of the word “unique” and even if you and your husband didn’t enjoy the same type of excursions, it’s easy to split up for half a day and meet up for lunch again at the lodge. If small groups want to stay together on their own during the daily excursions, that also can easily be arranged.

Thank you also for pointing our your fellow explora guests, which complete the explora experience. We are very blessed to receive travelers from around the globe, which makes for fascinating company.

Remember that after visiting one explora lodge, you are entitled to the benefits of our CESA - Club Exploradores del Sur de América - a recognition program with benefits including rate discounts and room upgrades for repeat guests.

We are grateful for your feedback.

With warm regards,

Jesús Parrilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport beach
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

The setting, our room, and the especially the view was extraordinary. A view I will remember for the rest of my life.
The excursions left a lot to be desired. The guides are upper middle class college students. Our experience was it was difficult to get clarity on the excursions. You had to be aggressive to get good recommendations or understanding of the trips. We ended up with a hike that saw little, conditions were poor, was too long for our skill, and worst of all a teen age guide that did not know how to guide. Much of the hike we did not see us as she was too far ahead. She spoke very little English and was too self absorbed to be competent. We felt we were ruining her vacation.
On our last day they attempted to make up for this experience by taking us for a beautify horse back ride. Why couldn't they do that in the 1st place?
Our favorite excursion was for the barbecue in the mountains.

Room Tip: Talk to the hotel before your arrival in order to plan excursions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NewportBeach1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exploraSA, CEO / Gerente General at Explora Patagonia - All Inclusive, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
Dear traveler,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your explora experience. While we are flattered to hear that you will remember the views from our rooms “for the rest of your life” and that the Chilean BBQ (locally referred to as a quincho) was outstanding, we are very sorry to hear that your guided excursions did not all meet your expectations.

explora guides have a very important role: they accompany our travelers on in-depth exploration of the natural and cultural environment, generally seeking to ensure that your experience is as enjoyable and memorable as possible. In fact, for us at explora, our guides are so essential that we have developed a very rigorous recruitment process to select new ones. We also have our own Guide School, where we train staff in our own particular art of travel to ensure that our guests have the best Rapa Nui, Atacama or Patagonia travel experience has to offer.

In reference to your complaint, please know that we have carefully reviewed last season´s complaints and we can share with you that had very few complaints about our guides. However, we have taken your feedback very seriously, discussed with our management team and team leaders in order to continue to thrive for perfection while meeting our travelers´expectations. In your particular case, we are somewhat relieved to hear that this particular guide redeemed herself at the end.

We are grateful for your feedback.

With kindest regards,

Jesús Parrilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

This has to be one of the BEST hotels and Places on the Earth!!!! If you ever get a chance to go don't miss it!! The staff the service the tracks the views are all GREAT!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exploraSA, CEO / Gerente General at Explora Patagonia - All Inclusive, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
Dear traveler,

We are delighted that you took the time to review our lodge. Your enthusiasm is for the explora way of travel is wonderful. Thank you very much.

Please remember that after visiting one explora lodge, you are entitled to the benefits of our CESA - Club Exploradores del Sur de América - a recognition program with benefits including rate discounts and room upgrades for repeat guests.

We are grateful for your feedback.

With kindest regards,

Jesús Parrilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

I have had the fortune of staying in some impressive places around the world, and the explora Patagonia probably tops them all. The view from our room was nothing short of phenomenal. I have tremendous praise for every aspect of our stay. I looked forward to returning to our room with its inviting bed. I was very happy with the friendly and helpful staff and despite being in a very remote location the food is great. If you like exploring the rugged outdoors during the day while being able to relax in blissful comfort in the evenings, this is as good as it gets. The activities are diverse and perfectly planned. The guides are great and the groups are an ideal size. I should also mention that the horses they use are the healthiest and best cared for that I have encountered.

If I had any complaint it would be the almost non-existent internet connection only available in the common-area, but frankly I think this turned out to be a good thing.

Thank you explora Patagonia. I hope to visit again sometime.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muninn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exploraSA, CEO / Gerente General at Explora Patagonia - All Inclusive, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
Dear traveler,

Thank you for the time you took to review explora Patagonia.

You have used the words “rugged outdoors” “bliss” and “comfort” in one sentence, which we feel is a fantastic way to describe what explora is all about.

Our horses in Patagonia as well as Atacama are bread and owned by explora. At Hotel Salto Chico, a 6,400 square-foot stable houses 26 horses less than 6 miles from the property. They include Quarter Horse and Argentine Criollo mixes, English with Belgian and Percheron mixes, and Patagonian Criollo. Each equine horseback exploration includes one guide and one gaucha. From rides that end at the rustic quincho barbecue site to the crossing of the Serrano prairie, along the turquoise waters of the Serrano River, with views of the snowy peaks of Mount Balmaceda, there are 14 distinct rides to choose.

Lastly, remember that after visiting one explora lodge, you are entitled to the benefits of our CESA - Club Exploradores del Sur de América - a recognition program with benefits including rate discounts and room upgrades for repeat guests.

We appreciate your feedback.

With kindest regards,

Jesús Parrilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
113 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

It is hard to give a review of a place like this (and like no other) after so many people have already reviewed it. I have not really been able to find something bad to say about Explora Patagonia so I won't start trying!
What is impressive is that -when you come by car (we came from Punta Arenas)- you just realize how remote this place is. Even though Torres del Paine could look like a "tourist place" it does not really gather so many people at a time. It is then hardly imaginable that they have succeded to create such a luxury, so very well managed and eco-friendly place in such a place!
Of course, this has a price but the room, the food, the kindness of the staff and the range of activities will make it worth 3 times!
Big respect, Explora!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jboule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exploraSA, CEO / Gerente General at Explora Patagonia - All Inclusive, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
Dear traveler,

We are grateful for your effort and time that you spent on reviewing explora Patagonia.

The explora staff reads every single review and we take everyone’s comments into consideration when we praise our fantastic staff or when we consider adjustments. We are delighted that you’ve had a memorable stay.

Allow me to point out that after visiting one explora lodge, you are entitled to the benefits of our CESA - Club Exploradores del Sur de América - a recognition program with benefits including rate discounts and room upgrades for repeat guests.

Thank you for your feeback.

Warm regards,

Jesús Parrilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We stayed at Explora Salto Chico for 4 nights part of our round the world trip with our 2 young children (2 yo & 5 yo). This was definitely an immense treat and a highlight in our 6months on the road. Something we had organized way in advance. It was worth every moment.

Patagonia/ Torres del Paine is not an obvious destination with young children, but Explora Salto Chico made it all possible, and very smoothly. It did require extra efforts on their part, but they did their best to satisfy our every needs.

Their most important effort was to find us an experienced nanny (a school teacher/mother) who came from Puerto Natales and was hosted at the hotel the whole duration of our stay for a modest sum of $50 extra paid directly to her. She did not speak english but was very friendly, comfortable with the children, took initiatives and gained our trust easily. The children bonded with her quickly, while under the distant supervision of Rosario, the general manager of the hotel. Rosario by the way is a wonderful person and an excellent manager. If you go with children, do get in touch with her directly beforehand via the office in Santiago so she can help prepare your arrival.

Having a babysitter at our disposal allowed us to go on long treks without the children, or go horseback riding in a more challenging way. We also did a number of excursions with our children and then, the guides always showed great interest and care in making us feel safe and enjoying it all. Our children got a chance to go horseback riding with the gauchos, an experience they will never forget. They also enjoyed the swimming pool every evening.

Meals were very accommodating for the children, prepared specially for them and before dinner times. Overall they were healthy and balanced.

On the meal topic, I do not agree with the complaint of other reviewers. I am French, and quite peculiar with food, and was impressed by the quality of the meals in general, and the wine selection. This is so far away, yet we always had a great variety of dishes & wonderful fresh fruits and vegetables, which is an exploit given the remoteness.

We were certainly a minority as a family (2 other families with children stayed at the same time, but older than ours, in their pre-teens) and while we felt particularly well looked after by the staff, we did encounter a few nasty looks & comments from some (much older) guests who would have preferred the resort to be kids-free. Apparently the hotel is working on clarifying the message that this is a place open to all ages, and where all ages can truly enjoy.

On the room topic, it was somewhat of a disappointment as the standard rooms are tiny and a bit old-fashioned in style. However, it looks like they are working on some remodelling. As one suite was available, we received a complimentary upgrade. Another wonderful gesture. It made a big difference to us (there are no communicating rooms). I strongly suggest to book a suite if you have more than one child.

Overall, Salto Chico / Torres del Paine is a place we will never forget. The treks are perfectly organized. The guides are very professional and make you feel safe at all times. The quality of the horseback riding is the best I have ever seen. The lunch/parilla at the estancia away from the hotel is a must (part of one of the full day excursion)! The location of the hotel is out of this world, the service & the quality of excursions are excellent. Once they revamp the interior design, this will truly be one of the most incredible hotels in the world.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BozAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exploraSA, CEO / Gerente General at Explora Patagonia - All Inclusive, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
Dear traveler,

Thank you very much for your detailed review of explora Patagonia.

It was our pleasure making your stay with two young children memorable, flexible and adventurous. Allow me to state that explora has always welcomed children and young adults since its inception nearly 20 years ago. It has never occurred to us to single out any group of travelers as not welcome at our lodges.

While we can’t control other travelers and their view of the world, the explora experience aims at being the vehicle in which people from different cultures and backgrounds come harmoniously together under a common pursuit – their passion for travel and their curiosity to discover new territories.

The remodeling was completed in mid-October 2011. Included in the extensive renovation of Hotel Salto Chico, the only lodge located within the heart of Torres del Paine National Park, is an upgraded of furnishings throughout all public spaces with new chairs, sofas and tables setting an even more comfortable scene. Illumination has been similarly enhanced with a new and more effective lighting system installed throughout. Notably, all illumination is LED Technology and eco-friendly.

Next to the dining room, a brand new space has been arrayed as a wine bar featuring a small selection from Chile’s different wine regions. The hotel spa - Casa de Baños del Ona - received the most extensive renovation with a complete enhancement from floor to ceiling and wall-to-wall. New dormers have been added, increasing the gentle light for enjoying massages, body treatments, facials and other relaxing therapies. Beyond the existing steam rooms and two saunas, the treatment possibilities have been expanded at the spa with the addition of a new Turkish bath, indoor Jacuzzi, and cold-bath for bracing finishes to any of the above. Just outside the spa deck has been enhanced with new flooring, while four hydro-massage tubs offer a relaxing perspective of Lake Pehoé.

We welcome to opportunity to be your host on Easter Island or in the Atacama desert. Thank you again for your feeback.

With kindest regards,

Jesús Parrilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torres del Paine National Park hotels
18.6 mi away
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
#2 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
446 reviews
8.1 mi away
Rio Serrano Hotel
Rio Serrano Hotel
#5 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
794 reviews
20.9 mi away
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chateaux
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chate...
#1 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Las Torres Patagonia
Las Torres Patagonia
#6 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
1,140 reviews
5.4 mi away
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacion
Lago Grey Hosteria and Navegacio...
#7 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
443 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Lago Tyndall
Hotel Lago Tyndall
#11 of 12 in Torres del Paine National Park
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Explora Patagonia - All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explora Patagonia - All Inclusive

Property: Explora Patagonia - All Inclusive
Address: | Sector Salto Chico S/N, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
#3 Romantic Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
#3 Luxury Hotel in Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Explora Patagonia - All Inclusive 4.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lodge is located right in the heart of the extraordinary Torres del Paine National Park in southern Patagonia. The diverse and untouched landscapes of this area led UNESCO to declare it a biosphere reserve.Our Patagonia hotel lodge opened in 1993 on the banks of the Salto Chico waterfall. It affords an excellent view of the unique Paine Massif and two of the three impressive torres, or towers, which give the park its name.The lodge has 49 rooms and a variety of inviting spaces. Situated on a 3-hectare (7.4-Acre) site, the design borrows certain organic forms from the landscape itself, adapting to it with simple elegance. It was designed to create a dialogue with its environment, putting human beings in touch with the sublimity of their surroundings.For travellers, the lodge provides the welcome surprise of comfort in a remote area. Nonetheless, you are not isolated from nature, but rather placed "within" it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Explora Patagonia - All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Explora Patagonia Hotel Salto Chico
Explora Patagonia Torres Del Paine
Explora Patagonia - All Inclusive Torres Del Paine National Park, Aisen Region, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing