We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, and not very helpful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torres del Paine National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Refugio Vertice Paine Grande
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed one night in Paine Grande lodge, and what a regret. Reception was not very friendly, the cantine like food (as served in most lodges in Torres del Paine) not exactly a culinary highlight, but worst of all is the lay-out of the building. There is no separation between the eating and lounge areas and the sleeping area, which means that noise from these areas is overwhelming. We couldn't sleep until well after midnight because groups of people were still drinking and talking quite loudly in the open areas. Although a stay in the lodge is rather expensive, little was done (both in lay-out of the building, neither in demanding some discipline) to make this a positive experience for guests who wanted some rest after a long day in the park.

Room Tip: If you have to stay in Paine Grande, ask for a room as far a way from the common area as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 119 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2013

Check-in was smooth and the staff seem friendly. Our room with 6 bunks was tight but simple and clean- with hooks and cubbies for storage. Price-wise- it's a racket to stay in the park, but we had no other choice besides camping. We did bring our own sleeping bags, but the ones they rent out seemed OK. Facilities are college dorm style, but outlets are only in the halls so you can't plug valuables and leave it (phone, camera, etc). In the sitting lounge, most outlets weren't even working, and it was freezing with only one of many fireplaces actually going in the lodge. Dinner at $20pp plus $10 for a mini bottle of wine is overpriced too but comforting after a day's long hike. They gladly plated us vegetarian plain-sauce spaghetti instead of the default bolognese. Overnight, the wind kept making all the bathroom doors open and slam non-stop- all night! I think they're metal too, because they sounded like lightening every time. The doors should have a hydraulic attachment if this is a common issue. By morning, all but one stall was broken in the women's bathroom, and trash overflowing. At least the shower stalls have a separate enclosed bench for drying and changing- very helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank occasionaltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Our group of 9 adults had a truly marvelous time hiking the W circuit. We started from Ecocamp, spent the next night at Refugio Los Cuernos and spent the third night at this lodge. We had a glorious and sunny day hiking up into the French Valley so we were in very high spirits when we arrived at the lodge. Six of us stayed in a room with 3 sets of bunk beds while the other 3 joined up with 3 "strangers" in another bunk bed room. Despite many trips travelling together, this was the first time we had slept in the same room and it was like adult summer camp, albeit coed! We were provided with sheets and sleeping bags and had a great time though I have to admit that sleeping pills and ear plugs came in handy. The shared bathrooms and showers were clean and hot water was plentiful. This lodge has glorious views and some nice areas to sit outside in the sun. Food was decent and plentiful - no complaints about dinner, breakfast or the packed lunch. Go with the right attitude and expectations and you should have a good experience.

Room Tip: There may be some double bunk bed rooms available but the tour we were on put us in 6 person co-ed b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jann01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The worse service that I ever had!
We came from a snowy trip and learned that the heating was not working. Than, after hours of frozen rooms, the heating began to work, but thye shut it off after an hour because of the place regulations,,, :-(((
The stuff behaved as if they hate the guests, and especially the little girl in the reception, that managed the place so poorly and repulsive.
If you have other alternative, do yourself a favor and stay away.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Meron_sasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

If you are able, I would strongly recommend camping over staying in the Lodge.

Positives: Only 2 people to a room

Negatives:
- No heat
- Worst food I have ever eaten and outrageously expensive. Burnt scrambled eggs and burnt, soggy toast for breakfast. Rubbery mystery meat for dinner. Avoid at all costs.
- Tiny rooms. My husband and I could not both get dressed at the same time.
- Constantly ignored by staff
- Awful showers: water goes from freezing to burning in a second. Drains are plugged.

There are limited options, but consider camping or at least packing a stove and cooking with the campers.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

This is a fairly generic place, but a very welcome sight when you're otherwise in the wilderness and a several-hour hike from anything else. It's a wilderness 'refugio' -- akin to a hostel, with shared bunk-bed rooms (coed) and a shower/bathroom down the hall. Plenty of food and supplies. A great stopover for your trek through TDPaine. You can get here on the ferry.

Room Tip: I doubt there's much choice. Who cares? Be sure you trek the French Valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HouTexTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I tried booking it via their site, but after some confusing email back and forth where they did not ask for pre-payment I decided to err on the safe side and booked it via booking.com, either way, not having to pay a local agent to do it for you was a big plus.
This was the cleanest, cutest lodge we stayed in on the W trek. The camping spot was much nicer than what other lodges seemed to offer. We got a twin room which was a pleasant surprise because we were prepared to sleep in a roomfull of strangers. The food was good, the bar was great and the right kind of lively in the evenings.
It was clean, warm and comfy, would highly recommend it as an alternative to camping.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smithochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torres del Paine National Park hotels
12.2 mi away
Rio Serrano Hotel
Rio Serrano Hotel
#5 of 11 in Torres del Paine National Park
910 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
Hosteria Mirador del Payne
#8 of 11 in Torres del Paine National Park
45 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lago Grey Hotel and Navegation
Lago Grey Hotel and Navegation
#7 of 11 in Torres del Paine National Park
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Las Torres Patagonia
Las Torres Patagonia
#6 of 11 in Torres del Paine National Park
1,307 reviews
22.3 mi away
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa
#2 of 11 in Torres del Paine National Park
508 reviews
12.5 mi away
Ecocamp Patagonia
Ecocamp Patagonia
#1 of 18 in Torres del Paine National Park
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refugio Vertice Paine Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refugio Vertice Paine Grande

Address: | Sector Paine Grande, Torres del Paine, Torres del Paine National Park, Chile (Formerly Vertice Paine Grande Mountain Shelter)
Region: Chile > Magallanes Region > Torres del Paine National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Torres del Paine National Park
Price Range: £0 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Lake Pehoe, Refugio Vertice Paine Grande features an amazing view over the mountains. It is the starting point for the hiking trail towards Glacier Grey, French Valley and it is part of the W Trail. The only way to get to Paine Grande is navigating accross the lake or hiking the trails. It features shared bedrooms (only bunk beds). Restrooms feature hot water showers with a push-button system to save water. Paine Grande features a cafeteria (daily fixed menus), a minimarket (groceries and souvenirs) and a bar overlooking the lake and mountains. Important: Refugio Paine Grande does not feature a central heating system. Only 2 resting areas feature wooden stoves (only for guests). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Paine Grande Mountain Hotel Torres Del Paine
Refugio Vertice Paine Grande Torres Del Paine National Park, Aisen Region, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing