We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Refugio Vertice Paine Grande
Nearby Hotels
Lago Grey Hotel and Navegation(Torres del Paine National Park)
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Estancia Tercera Barranca(Torres del Paine National Park)
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chateaux(Torres del Paine National Park)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa(Torres del Paine National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Patagonia Camp(Torres del Paine National Park)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Las Torres Patagonia(Torres del Paine National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hosteria Mirador del Payne(Torres del Paine National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
explora Patagonia - All Inclusive(Torres del Paine National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rio Serrano Hotel(Torres del Paine National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hosteria El Pionero(Torres del Paine National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveller rating
49
92
93
51
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
92
93
51
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsserved cafeteria stylecold toastmini marketlunch bagco edsingle bunk bedcatamaran ridehostel hotelset your expectationsdesk staffsoupsmall roompacked lunchdining room ismashed potatoeshour hikeshared bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 338 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed one night in Paine Grande lodge, and what a regret. Reception was not very friendly, the cantine like food (as served in most lodges in Torres del Paine) not exactly a culinary highlight, but worst of all is the lay-out of the building. There is no separation between the eating and lounge areas and the sleeping area, which means that noise from these areas is overwhelming. We couldn't sleep until well after midnight because groups of people were still drinking and talking quite loudly in the open areas. Although a stay in the lodge is rather expensive, little was done (both in lay-out of the building, neither in demanding some discipline) to make this a positive experience for guests who wanted some rest after a long day in the park.

Room Tip: If you have to stay in Paine Grande, ask for a room as far a way from the common area as possible!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Check-in was smooth and the staff seem friendly. Our room with 6 bunks was tight but simple and clean- with hooks and cubbies for storage. Price-wise- it's a racket to stay in the park, but we had no other choice besides camping. We did bring our own sleeping bags, but the ones they rent out seemed OK. Facilities are college dorm style, but outlets are only in the halls so you can't plug valuables and leave it (phone, camera, etc). In the sitting lounge, most outlets weren't even working, and it was freezing with only one of many fireplaces actually going in the lodge. Dinner at $20pp plus $10 for a mini bottle of wine is overpriced too but comforting after a day's long hike. They gladly plated us vegetarian plain-sauce spaghetti instead of the default bolognese. Overnight, the wind kept making all the bathroom doors open and slam non-stop- all night! I think they're metal too, because they sounded like lightening every time. The doors should have a hydraulic attachment if this is a common issue. By morning, all but one stall was broken in the women's bathroom, and trash overflowing. At least the shower stalls have a separate enclosed bench for drying and changing- very helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank occasionaltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Our group of 9 adults had a truly marvelous time hiking the W circuit. We started from Ecocamp, spent the next night at Refugio Los Cuernos and spent the third night at this lodge. We had a glorious and sunny day hiking up into the French Valley so we were in very high spirits when we arrived at the lodge. Six of us stayed in a room with 3 sets of bunk beds while the other 3 joined up with 3 "strangers" in another bunk bed room. Despite many trips travelling together, this was the first time we had slept in the same room and it was like adult summer camp, albeit coed! We were provided with sheets and sleeping bags and had a great time though I have to admit that sleeping pills and ear plugs came in handy. The shared bathrooms and showers were clean and hot water was plentiful. This lodge has glorious views and some nice areas to sit outside in the sun. Food was decent and plentiful - no complaints about dinner, breakfast or the packed lunch. Go with the right attitude and expectations and you should have a good experience.

Room Tip: There may be some double bunk bed rooms available but the tour we were on put us in 6 person co-ed bunk bed rooms. It was fine since we're all great friends but if you ended up with strangers, it might not be much fun. Confirming the number of people that will be in your room is advised!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jann01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The worse service that I ever had!
We came from a snowy trip and learned that the heating was not working. Than, after hours of frozen rooms, the heating began to work, but thye shut it off after an hour because of the place regulations,,, :-(((
The stuff behaved as if they hate the guests, and especially the little girl in the reception, that managed the place so poorly and repulsive.
If you have other alternative, do yourself a favor and stay away.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Meron_sasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

If you are able, I would strongly recommend camping over staying in the Lodge.

Positives: Only 2 people to a room

Negatives:
- No heat
- Worst food I have ever eaten and outrageously expensive. Burnt scrambled eggs and burnt, soggy toast for breakfast. Rubbery mystery meat for dinner. Avoid at all costs.
- Tiny rooms. My husband and I could not both get dressed at the same time.
- Constantly ignored by staff
- Awful showers: water goes from freezing to burning in a second. Drains are plugged.

There are limited options, but consider camping or at least packing a stove and cooking with the campers.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews