We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveller rating
41
90
45
32
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
90
45
32
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspuerto natalesfridge freezerfantastic viewsdel painecabinhosteriaparksuitcaseshorses
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 238 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2011

The hotel has great views and is not far from the national park but it seems to be constructed from paper, making the rooms very loud - we were upstairs and could hear someone snoring on the floor below and every word that was said by people talking in nearby rooms, while some of their conversations were funny to listen to it does not make for a great sleep. The set menu dinner was poor and lacked any imagination or effort, as did the accompanying salad bar. Breakfast was also disappointing. Fortunately we were only booked in for one night and left tired from lack of sleep.

Room Tip: If you must stay here then spend extra money on one of the cabins, that way you might get a reasonable nights sleep.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruth_Mark_and_Hansel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyndall-d, Propietario at Cabanas Lago Tyndall, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2011

Dear Guest:

I just read your comments about your stay in Hostería Tyndall.
Firt: thanks about yor honety, is just what we need in order to improve and satisfy your expectives.
Unfortunatlely I was not there when you have visit us, but I suppose you ve sleep (or try to) in a standart room.
Our policy is to let you know, as soon as you make your Chek in. about the noise insulation problem in those room, and if is possible, we use to offer by the same price, a superior room which were build later and all the imperfection of the standart rooms have been solved. (Size, insulation, view etc.)
As explication please accept me that sure, all the superior rooms must have been occupied, otherwise, I am sure, Reception would offer you with no hesitation, a superior room, because we know about the problems of the standart room which unfortunatelly, is already almost impossible to improve.

Best Regards;

Cristian Bore
cborepp@hotmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Although the Hotel is outside Torres del Paine National Park, it's very close to its entrance and it has excellent views to the mountains.
Its price is very cheap compared with the rest of the hotels of the area. Its facilities are also great with a bar on the second floor with a lot of varieties of drinks with a very affordable price.
You have the option to stay in cabins for 4 people outside the hotel, which is a great option for group travellers.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidstgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We walked into the lobby, about 3 hours later than we had told them to expect us and were greeted by manager Jose Luis with, "Tommie Sue! We've been wondering where you were!" That reception set the stage for a wonderful 3-night, 2-day stay at the Lago Tyndall Hosteria. Jose Luis proved to be a fount of information about everything related to the park. We were shown to our room--all rooms face the Torres del Paine (Towers of Paine, pronounced PIE-nay, which is not someone's last name but an indigenous word that means "blue") and were delighted with its size and the view. The bed provided three nights of comfortable sleep and there was more than enough room to spread round our multiple suitcases. Hot water was plentiful and immediate. There are no TVs in the rooms--a mercy from our perspective. A wide screen TV is always on in the lobby for those who can't kick the habit.

The restaurant on the second floor, over the lobby, serves breakfast and dinner. The breakfast buffet is included in the room price; the latter costs $25 per person for a set menu--no choices. This is the one downside of this inn; however, all food must be brough in over land from Punta Arenas, 3.5 hours away. Because this is the bottom of the world and growing seasons are short, the only plentiful local food is seafood. Otherwise everything is imported, which is either a 3 day drive or a 5 hour flight from Santiago. In other words food is not cheap in southern Patagonia and the more remote the location, the more expensive it becomes. In this context, $25 for dinner isn't exhorbitant. The problem is when one has had a large lunch and wants a light supper. We solved the problem by walking over to the next-door hotel and having supper in the bar--we shared an enormous sandwich that, with drinks, cost $25 for both of us.

The quality of the food at Lago Tyndall is good but not spectacular. The service, however, more than makes up for any shortcomings. The only problem is that when there is a bus tour and the restaurant is full, getting a condiment may take a bit of persistence. But Chileans are famously kind and charming--and all the service staff at the Tyndall lived up to this reputation.

Speaking of bus tours: if there is one in the hotel, it is a good idea to eat earlier than they do. This is true for both breakfast and dinner.

The staff, especially Jose Luis (who, sadly, left the hosteria at the end of March) were friendly,helpful, and knowledgeable about all things related to the park. Jose Luis provided suggestions about places to eat lunch on the day we did a driving tour of the park and his recommendations were excellent.

The hosteria has wi-fi Internet connection but real-time connection is problematic, because of the location and the lack of cell towers. We tried 2-3 times to get one line but finally gave up and waited until we returned to Punta Arenas. We were told that the hotel is trying to improve service but the location--in a broad valley surrounded by mountains-- probably means it will not happen soon.

We would, without question, return to the Lago Tyndall and do recommend it to anyone who is thihking about visiting Torres del Paine.

Room Tip: Frequent e-mail with reservations.
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tsmada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2011

My first piece of advice if you are planning to trek here is to book you accommodation early. I had gone through all the hotels in the area but all were booked up leaving just three hotels including this one ....and I think that speaks volumes.

Secondly, the hotel gets good reviews because of the cabins....located in fantastic scenery, self catered so you can bring your own car in with a boot full of shopping so good value for families

Location: this hotel is outside of the main park, around a 45 min drive to the start of the tower walk. The cost of transferring from the hotel to the start of the walk was US $184 but at least the hotel manager explained this in advance. The park pass was around £30 but that lasted 3 days and we had to show the pass when we entered the park.

Getting here: To get back to Puerto Natales involved a hotel transfer to to the adminstration building (10 mins), then a bus to Largo Armano (an unofficial looking bus terminal on the outskirts of the park) (20 mins) and then a wait for the bus to Puerto Natales and then 2 hours on the bus. It wasn't expensive but it was an arduous trip.

First impressions: I booked with Expedia and the hotel manager couldn't find our booking so that was a great start. We were "down graded" from a delux room to a basic room. We ordered a hot chocolate ($5 US dollars each) and the waitress seemed most put out that she had been disturbed! The corridors are very dark and our room was small and cabin like. A packed lunch was $18 US dollars

Staff - a mixed bunch. The hotel manager was great - he spoke excellent English and helped me plan my treks but the others really couldn't be bothered.

Noise: I am a heavy sleeper but I woke thinking that my friend had started to snore (it was someone upstairs). The rooms are paper thin so when a trekking group left at 6am it was like a herd of elephants coming down the stairs. I think this was the worse problem as you end up trekking when tired.

Heating: The radiators were never on in the morning so it was freezing. The fires weren't lit very regularly so the breakfast room and the reception were cold. Just light the fires!

Food: Breakfast was OK. Perhaps the hotel could havie invested in real orange juice rather than some nasty chemical concoction. It wasn't prepared very well and it wasn't presented very well and the choice was limited but it was edible. The waitress waiting at the door could have cracked her face if she tried to smile - a good morning in Spanish and a smile would have been nice.

WIFI - it didn't work and the desktop computer didn't work either.

The saving grace was the Rio Serrano hotel across the grass (see picture) where we spent all of our time sitting by the log fire, having a drink, using the WIFI, having dinner etc. One day the weather was bad so we spent from 8am until 1am in the hotel ....I even joined in with the dancing as they had a live band.

So yes it's cheap but you're coming to an amazing place and this is one time where your accommodation should match your location. It would also test any friendship with a travel companion because it's a miserable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Catherine_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Hotel Manager was terrific giving us his thoughts on hikes and trips in the area. We really liked his suggestions and warnings such as the hike to see the Towers is very disappointing if weather is bad since after a tough climb there is nothing to see.
Great views of the glacier covered mountains from our rooms and the dining room and better side of the park to be in for hikes to the French vallee or Lago Grey and it was only 88 kilometers to Puerto Natales where we had rented our car.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovetotravelMaUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews