We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Downham Market, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Tracey S
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a perfect week at The Coach House. From the delicious cream tea we received on our arrival to all the little attention to detail things like the soft comfy dressing gowns we all had inc the little ones. (Which they thought were fab). The kitchen had everything we needed, the beds were so comfortable and the bedrooms were beautifully laid out. Both doubles had en suites which were lovely. All in all The Coach House had everything we needed and more for a perfect holiday. It was one of the nicest places we've stayed in. Thank you Anna for a wonderful stay we will Definately be back. Tracey, Marc & Jessica.

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
30 Jun 2014
Thank you for your review, we look forward to seeing you all again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sheer luxury of the property
Liked least: small taster which Anna has immediately rectified
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Apr 2014
Thank you Mike for such a great review of The Coach House. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and all the little extras we like to offer. Thank you for letting us know a 4 slice toaster would be more convenient than the 2 slice one, we have purchased a new one and really appreciate the feedback. We look forward to seeing you again at The Coach House in the future and send our best wishes for Easter!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Date of stay: February 2014
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Mar 2014
Thank you for your review. We're really pleased you enjoyed your week of celebrations. We would like to say we were happy to welcome the extra dogs as it was only for a brief part of the week. We deep-clean the property on a regular basis and are proud of our 100% score for cleanliness and Gold Award from VisitEngland.Thank you for taking such good care of The Coach House!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: January 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location was breathtaking
Liked least: Nothing was all lovely
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Jan 2014
Glad you enjoyed a relaxing time at The Coach House and look forward to seeing you again. Thank you very much for your review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Date of stay: January 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homemade fudge on arrival
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Jan 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us! It was a pleasure welcoming you to The Coach House and we hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marie-ann...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A truly beautiful house , the perfect place to spend a family Christmas.”
Reviewed 2 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

The Coach house is a beautiful spacious home which was more than big enough to accommodate the 8 adults in our family but still felt really cosy and very warm (wonderful under floor heating)
It is very tastefully decorated to a high standard and the attention to detail made our stay even more special. We had a lovely basket of home-made goodies, fresh flowers and even Christmas music playing to greet us on arrival.
The location on the outskirts of the small village of Hilgay is great, some wonderful north Norfolk wide sandy beaches, Ely and Cambridge all accessible in approx. 35 minutes.

We had a wonderful week and very memorable Christmas at the Coach house and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a special place to spend a Christmas with friends or family.

Date of stay: December 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: large family kitchen area, very socialable when cooking Christmas lunch!
Liked least: nothing..it was perfect!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
7 Jan 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments, we're really glad you enjoyed your Christmas at The Coach House and look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly owners :)
Liked least: The fact that I had to leave and return to London!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Oct 2013
Many thanks for your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your holiday in The Coach House and look forward to seeing you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.