We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loved it!”
other travellers have booked this property
A Holiday is to Relax
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A Holiday is to Relax
Hot-Tub waiting - Romantic all Seasons.  Just add a loved one and a Bottle of Wine The Terrace at night - Awesome !
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
A Holiday is to Relax
Hot-Tub waiting - Romantic all Seasons.  Just add a loved one and a Bottle of Wine
The Terrace at night - Awesome !
Hot Tub, good friends, quality time together, Amazing!
Barbecue at any time - Canvas awning for those inclement moments.  Enjoy!
Comfortable, Roomy, Bright relaxing living area with Log Fire and Free films
Original Stonework, Log Fire.   Homely and Comfortable - You won't want to leave!
Totally Private Enclosed Playground especially for YOUR CHILDREN - they love the slides!
Twin Beds easily convert to a Super-King {zip and link beds} the choice is always yours
Original Welsh Dresser in hallway, Room for playpen when needed, high chairs, cots, babygates - free
Modern well-equipped bright kitchen with small breakfast bar
The Dan Yr Ogof Showcaves are not to be missed.  The Largest and most magnificent Caves in the UK
Put a Tin Hat on, go down in the original working miners lift and see the original coal mine shafts.
Penderyn Award winning Distillery, 15 minutes up the road.  Enjoy a Tour with tasters at the end!
This group of our Guests made it to the top of Pen Y fan with two babies!  No mean feat. Well Done!
Bike Park Wales is 15 Min's away, also central for other Cycling challenge tracks in South Wales
Outstanding Waterfalls - 15 mins away.  Walk for as long or short as you like - Spectacular! Picnic?
Cardiff Bay. Millenium Centre, Boat rides, restaurants, Techniquest, Dr. Who Exhibition, Cinemas etc
This beautiful little railway is loved by children and adults alike. Only 20 mins from '266'
Paintballing in Aberdare Country Park - 5 mins from 266  -  Views of mountains and lake - Awesome!
Horse riding, Mountain Walks, Centre, Lakes, waterfalls  in Aberdare Country Park - 5 mins from 266
Master Bedroom.  faces amazing, unrestricted  views of the mountain opposite.  Roomy and comfortable
2nd Bathroom, is quite large - plenty of room to spread out and enjoy a good hot shower.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Aberdare, Rhondda Cynon Taff, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
amiekreth
Lake Tahoe (California), California
1 review
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 25 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This place was very nice. It was just perfect for our family. It's such a comfy and cozy house in a beautiful area. We very much enjoyed our stay here, I highly recommend this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2017
Thank you so much for taking time to review our Cottage Amie. It was such a pleasure receiving your family as our guests. Your babies were all so gorgeous and smiley! We genuinely hope to greet you all again soon, although we appreciate you can't just hop on a bus from California... Best Wishes to you all, from Diane and all the Team at "266"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilie S
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Quaint home with everything you need and more!”
Reviewed 16 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This is a lovely small home in the town of Aberdare. There is a small market just down and across the street for buying food and household items, and an ASDA just a few minutes drive away for everything else. It is within 30 minutes drive of several wonderful tourist destinations, including our favorites of Raglan Castle, Caerphilly Castle, Castell Coch, Caerleon Roman Ruins, Brecon Beacons, and Tintern Abbey. The cottage is set up with everything you could possibly want in a vacation home, and is so perfectly designed that honestly we were quite content to just enjoy some relaxation time in it. The back patio with hot tub was so peaceful and enjoyable, the playground for the children is perfect, and the house itself was clean, comfortable, and modern with a nice mix of antique charm. The hostess surpassed herself in accommodating the needs of our group, and even left milk and delicious Welsh Cakes for us to enjoy upon our arrival. The only word of caution I have for fellow travelers is there are a lot of stairs in this home. You have to go up a few steps to get into the house, then the kitchen and living room are on the bottom floor, a flight of stairs leads you to two bedrooms and a bathroom, and then another flight of stairs takes you higher still to the third floor with another bedroom and bathroom. In spite of the stairs, we really loved the house, and highly recommend it to everyone!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2017
Heyyyy good job there's a 3rd toilet on the ground floor... haha, Thank you so much Emilie, it was so refreshing to meet such a wonderful family as yours. Sisters all together to give their mum a special treat. You've given us a wonderful insight into South Wales Castles, I'll be adding your extra Castle list onto our places to go Doc'
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce W
1 review
“266 cottage Wales”
Reviewed 13 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had a lovely 4 nights at '266' cottage in Wales and I would highly recommend it. We went as a group of 4 adults/4 children. After our exploring during the day the hot tub and barbecue area was ideal for the evenings. We visited Bike Park Wales when there which is just a 20 minute drive away, went to the dinosaur caves and the coal mines (free entry) we loved the mines. We would definitely be back, Diane was a lovely host.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2017
We're so glad you had a wonderful time Joyce. I was in awe of you all driving eight hours from Scotland! You didn't even look tired! Well done all of you for making such an effort to come to Wales. There'll always be "A WELCOME IN THE HILLSIDES" for you all. Still so much to see and do here, come again soon. Our very Best wishes from Diane and all the "266" Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doug420za
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great find for Mountain biking trips and even family holidays”
Reviewed 13 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The property was well equipped with everything we could possibly need.We really enjoyed the hot tub after a long day on the mountain bike trails.Our host Diane was awesome and willing to help in any way possible. One member of our group fell off and injured himself on the first day, Diane was happy to allow him to stay at the property while we hit the trails the next day. We were supposed to check out that morning. This will be our first choice accommodation on our next Mountain biking trip, not sure it will be available once it becomes well known though.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2017
Thank you Doug for taking time to review. We felt so bad for your friend having an accident., hopefully he's well on the road to recovery. All being well, he'll still be up for another challenge on Bike Park Wales on your next trip. We are in the middle of preparing our 2nd Cottage, let's hope it'll be ready before the end of the season! Best Wishes to you all, Diane and the Team at "266"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marklaund...
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
“Could not recommend this place higher!”
Reviewed 7 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Absolutely brilliant stay! Diane is a joy and so full of beans!

It was wonderful to have someone so tentative and caring looking after us and recommending where to go in and around the local area.

The cottage is beautiful and so well maintained - a wonderful place to relax at the end of a day of driving or walking and the hot tub is an added bonus!

We highly recommend staying here!

I've never been to Wales before but now I plan on coming back every year to this cottage.

We always have one UK and one abroad holiday every year and it is so lovely to know that we can come here and be comfortable and looked after.

We have already been recommending to friends and family.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2017
Gosh thank you Mark an guys for your lovely review. AND for leaving me some of Sean's Birthday Cake!!! delicious. It was such a pleasure to meet you all, we really are looking forward to welcoming you all back, Best Wishes, Diane and the Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt P
1 review
“Another brilliant stay!”
Reviewed 26 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

This was the second time that we have been to the cottage.
With bikepark wales just around the corner, it is the perfect location for mountain bikers and is only 25 mins from Cardiff which is a beautiful city.
Once again, we had everything we needed. Diane couldn't do enough and even put an extra childs bed in to accommodate us!
We had a fantastic time and I honestly cant say enough good things about the owners.
Will definitely be back again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2017
Thank you for coming back and bringing your families also. Both families little girls were a delight. Let's hope there'll be a third time soon.
Best Wishes, Diane and 266 Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevenhug...
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“266 is a beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 26 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stayed at the cottage for a few days with our son and we had a fantastic stay. The cottage has everything for a nice family break. Our son really enjoyed the play area (great for children as all enclosed and safe)
The hot tub is great after a day out,very relaxing.
Diane is such a lovely host,we really appreciated how helpful and kind she was,our little boy now says "aunty diane" which is very sweet.We look forward to coming again soon and have told our friends and family about the lovely 266 cottage in a lovely part of wales with many attractions.

If you are looking for a family break anywhere in south wales we couldn't recommend this property more as it has everything needed for a wonderful stay
Thankyou Diane.
Jennifer,Steve & Ashley

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2017
Thank you so much for your response Jen and Steve. Ashley was so sweet. Seeing him trying out the slide and whizzing down made my day. I've worked with children for years and I just love seeing them happy! We are looking forward to hosting you all again soon, Best Wishes, Diane and all the "266" Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing