We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best self catering experience at best price”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Llia Cysglyd

The view of Fan Llia in the Brecon Beacons from Llia Cysglyd (Sleepy Llia)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view of Fan Llia in the Brecon Beacons from Llia Cysglyd (Sleepy Llia)
The bedroom has fully fitted wardrobes ,dressing table with mirror and a chest of drawers Dining for 4 and a high chair available
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
The view of Fan Llia in the Brecon Beacons from Llia Cysglyd (Sleepy Llia)
The bedroom has fully fitted wardrobes ,dressing table with mirror and a chest of drawers
Dining for 4 and a high chair available
The en suite shower room
The lounge area with stunning views from the French doors
The Lounge has a bed settee ,tv,dvd player,WiFi,films,books and games
Beautiful surroundings.Watch the birds come to feed
The colours are ever changing from yellow/green to snow capped mountain tops
Take some time out to relax and enjoy the stunning views.You won't be dissapointed
Fan Gihirych and Fan Llia at dusk
The view from the top of Penyfan only 20 minutes drive
Spend a day visiting the famous Scwd yr Eira and waterfalls at Glynneath and Aberdulais
Take a picnic and enjoy the peace and tranquility
There is a Gas barbeque for those evenings watching the sun set
Sunset over LLia with a glass of your favourite tipple
Stunning Rhossili Bay Gower.Take a walk on the coastal path and lunch at Worms head with views
Nearby Llangorse lake, Wales largest natural lake and famous for its coarse fishing and watersports.
Stargazing is popular in the Brecon Beacons National Park Observatory at  Libanus
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Aberdare, Rhondda Cynon Taff, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Hassaan T
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best self catering experience at best price”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The property is located in an excellent setting offering a stunning view from the French window of the living room. It is newly built and in spotless condition. The location is perfect for exploring the area around. It is also very reasonably priced.

However the highlight for us were the hosts. Steve and Alison really put their heart into it. I was touched by the thought and care put in by them. We found everything we could need and more what we couldn't even expect.

Highly recommended.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2015
Thank you so very much for your lovely comments.We do appreciate everyone's feedback and love to see our guests coming back.Hope to see you again soon Stephen and Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britannia...
Llandeilo, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Extremely pleasant holiday rental for exploring Welsh Valleys and Beacons”
Reviewed 1 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Beautifully located new holiday cottage adjacent to owner's property. Everything was spot on in terms of welcome, cleanliness and attention to detail. The property is competitively priced and is perfect for a couple but would accommodate a small family. The cottage itself is new with breathtaking views (on a clear day!). Fantastic for using as a base for exploring the Welsh countryside and the industrial valleys. We really enjoyed our brief (unfortunately) stay but would book again if holidaying in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely comments.Hope to see you again sometime soon Stephen and Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhian2015
England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect accommodation and perfect scenary”
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

10/10 for this gorgeous cottage! The family are very welcoming and friendly, there is lots of tourist information in the cottage so if you haven't 100% decided what to do yet you can easily choose from the leaflets, books and by asking the family. The cottage itself is exactly what the photos show, great accommodation in the most amazing location - close to shops, pubs, attractions, walks and beautiful views! Perfect if you want a relaxing, quiet weekend away or if you want an active, outdoors weekend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments .It never ceases to amaze us how beautiful our view is .Hope to see you again soon Stephen and Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel R
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to stay again”
Reviewed 14 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Have just returned from a 4 night stay and could not have asked for a better place. Steve was so friendly and polite when we arrived, making a real effort to strike up a conversation and make us feel right at home and welcome to stay in the flat. The view from the living room is simply stunning and made all the more magical when we woke up on our final morning to a snowy scene. The flat was immaculately clean and tidy, beautifully decorated and had everything you could ask for and more, with the essentials (bread, milk, coffee and tea), and the Welsh cakes on arrival were a lovely touch. We were warm and cosy despite the outside temperatures thanks to the underfloor heating and Steve went out his way to offer his help at any time. There was plenty of information on hand by the way of brochures and a folder with details of the local towns. Even though the weather wasn't amazing we still managed the Four Falls trail walk which is a 20 minute drive away and is an absolute must. We can't wait to come back in the Summer with James' son and stay in such a great place with so much to do, and hopefully make the most of the barbecue and patio that is on offer! Thank you so much Steve and family, looking forward to seeing you again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The accommodation - all of it, and the welcome.
Liked least: Our stay wasn't long enough!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for the fabulous comments.Looking forward to seeing you both and the little one soon Stephen and Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob E
1 review
“FANTASTIC!”
Reviewed 13 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Loved every minute of our stay! Spotless and very well furnished, everything you could need for a break away!
Fantastic location overlooking some beautiful scenery, plenty to see and do in the local and surrounding area. We will be going back again in the summer! :-)

Thankyou for your hospitality!
Rob + Charlotte

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for the lovely comments.Hope to see you both again soon Stephen and Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StoneyCre...
Stoney Creek
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for family visit to Aberdare”
Reviewed 8 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We travelled to Aberdare to visit family. There are not many places to rent in this area and we didn't want to stay in a hotel or inn - we wanted the convenience of being able to make our own breakfast and have family over to visit for a meal or a drink, so when we found Llia Cysglyd we were thrilled. It was the perfect size and location for our needs. As noted it is an annex to a property. The owners are very friendly but also leave you alone to do your own thing - however, they are available for any issues or needs that may occur.
We were very lucky with the weather - can be really miserable up in the Brecon Beacons in October in the rain but not the week we stayed - it was sunny and warm and the annex was toasty and warm. We were able to sit outside and enjoy the fantastic view on a few of the days and also make use of the BBQ. The location is very handy for Cardiff, Swansea and and especially the Beacons. Our purpose was to visit family and it was very handy for that too. I would not hesitate to return to this property, and especially for the carrot cake that Steve brought us on the last evening of our stay!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location of property
Liked least: little dark in some areas - such as above dressing table in bedroom, kitchen hob and bathroom mirror.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments.Hope to see you both again sometime soon.Will have some lovely cakes waiting Stephen and Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sausage10...
Lancashire, United Kingdom
1 review
“All you could want in a holiday home!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This is a real gem of a holiday retreat. A lovely warm welcome from Steve and family and the accommodation was excellent. The vendors of this property have got it spot on. We will certainly be returning back again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, tidy and well kept
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2015
Thank you so very much for your lovely comments.We hope to welcome you again sometime soon Stephen and Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;