We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The accommodation was very clean, warm and...”
other travellers have booked this property
Side view of annexe
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Side view of annexe
Welcome Front view showing ample parking on drive
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Side view of annexe
Welcome
Front view showing ample parking on drive
Guest garden
Patio with view of Brecon Beacons
Extension with superb views
Living room with sofa bed
Living room
Kitchen/dining area
Double bedroom
With ample storage
Bathroom/wetroom
Walk in shower
Views from extension
A hybrid bike free to use
Hybrid bike you can use free of charge with pannier
Homemade bread as part of a generous starter pack
White homemade bread. Delicious and light.
Homemade cake on arrival
Homemade rich chocolate cake.
Victoria sandwich- homemade of course
Homemade fruit scones.
Sun rise on a beautiful day from the conservatory
Another beautiful sunrise
Beautiful sunset from bedroom window
A stunning sunrise from the conservatory. Not to be missed.
Local waterfalls
Local waterfall you can walk behind.
Local waterfalls
Family cycling on Taff trail
Brecon mountain railway in Merthyr
Museum of Welsh life, St Fagans
Three cliffs bay, the Gower penninsula
Pen y fan
The Bike Parc Wales, Merthyr Tydfil
Pen y Fan on a snowy weekend
Llyn Onn reservoir on route to Pen y Fan
Stunning view of snowy Brecon Beacons from the village walk.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Aberdare, Rhondda Cynon Taff, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“The accommodation was very clean, warm and stylish and the hosts were very welcoming.”
Reviewed 4 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

I wouln't hesitate to recommend this accommodation. Everything about it was excellent and the owners couldn't do enough for us. It is also a lot more spacious than the impression the photos give. Our favourite room was the conservatory with fabulous views to the Brecon Beacons - so relaxing. We wished we could have stayed longer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2017
We are both so pleased you enjoyed your stay in the annexe and that you found the accommodation suitable. We would welcome you to stay if you were ever back visiting Wales.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annalise3...
1 review
“Spetecular area and nice cottage”
Reviewed 24 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

It was a amazing week in the cottage on our arrive they welcome us with bread and lovely chocolate cake. We wish that we stayed at list 1 week extra because we loved it a lot. The cottage was cleaned.
Karen and Philip was friendly with us and every thing that we need they immediately help us
I defentely come again in that cottage because we loved it a lot

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2016
We are so glad you and your parents enjoyed your stay in our cottage. We would love to see you again in the future.
Karen and Phil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gazzac1
2 reviews
“Spectacular area”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Phil and Karen were smashing hosts who on arrival welcomed us with lovely homemade cake and bread and some supplies. The annexe is in a quiet position and fabulous views from the conservatory over the mountains and is comfortable and well equipped with a huge washroom. Phil and Karen told us about some lovely places to visit and the high Brecons, waterfalls and even the Gower were all a fairly short drive away. Definitely a lovely place to stay for bikers and walkers.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2016
Thank you for your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and would welcome you both if ever you were back in Wales. It was lovely to meet you both.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo H
West Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely little Annexe”
Reviewed 18 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed at Swn Y Gwynt Holiday Annexe for 4 nights but wish it had been for longer! The annexe itself was very clean, modern and had everything we needed. Karen and Phil were very friendly and welcoming, and made some lovely bread and chocolate cake for our arrival! We will definitely look to return here in the future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2016
Thanks Jo for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We would love to welcome you back sometime in the future.
Kindest regards
Phil and Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Reviewed 2 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The home made bread and scones!
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Mar 2016
Thank you for your kind words and we're both glad you enjoyed your stay and liked the accommodation. We would love to see you again sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amelia M
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Everything you want in a place to stay and more!”
Reviewed 1 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Swn Y Gwynt in Cefn Rhigos is a lovely place to stay with beautiful views and easy access to lovely walks (and the Penderyn Distillery for whisky lovers). We arrived to a very warm welcome, home-made bread and tasty Christmas treats. The owners had also provided a decorated Christmas tree, toys and 2 wrapped presents for my 3 year old - this kind of generosity characterised our visit as everything from the bedding to the bathroom products were more than you would expect. The place is beautifully clean, tastefully decorated, spacious, has a new oven and is fully accessible throughout. Although the annexe is connected to the house it feels completely separate with its own bit of garden - we didn't hear or see the owners throughout our stay but knew they were there if we needed anything. The place is also very child/family friendly and the owners have let us know that we are welcome to come back when our baby is born next year. We definitely will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2016
Dear Amelia and family,
Thank you for the lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your Christmas stay here and you found the accommodation suitable. You were a lovely family and your little boy was so happy and so polite. We would love to welcome you back with your new baby later this year.
Karen and Phil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanna91...
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
“Perfect for exploring Brecon Beacons”
Reviewed 22 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed for three days to walk the waterfalls of the area and it was perfect. Phil and Karen made us feel welcome and the annexe is really lovely and well-equipped. The location is great, close to walks and shops and good pubs. Thank you Phil for our fresh bread and Christmassy cakes!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bed very comfy. Everything easy to use/straightforward. Property very well-maintained. Privacy.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Dec 2015
Dear Susanna,
Thank you for the lovely review. We really glad you enjoyed your stay in the holiday annexe. We would love to see you again in the future.
Kindest regards
Phil and Karen Hurd
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing