We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly B&B on a small family farm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fuocomuorto Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 29 Ercolano B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Great place to stay if you want to be away from the craziness and noise of the city but with easy access to Mt Vesuvius, Herculaneum, Pompeii, and Naples. The property is on a small, narrow, paved road on the slopes of Mt Vesuvius, just outside the town of Ercolano. Both the highway and the train station are just a km or so from the B&B. If you don't have a car, either Alessandra or Vincenzo (the owners) may come get you at the train station. If you do have a car, they provide secure parking on site. But beware that our Garmin GPS and Google Maps on my iPhone had trouble finding the address. If you get lost, just ask. It's a small town. As others have noted, the owners are quite genial and very accommodating. The main house and adjacent guest house are set on a little farm where Vincenzo and Alessandra grow local wine grapes (lacryma christi del vesuvio) and fruit trees. Vincenzo is the fifth generation to live and work on this land and he is quite a good wine maker, especially his red. Buy some from him when you get there (or when you leave), along with some of their home grown and home-processed green olives. The best part about the B&B is the large covered terrace overlooking the Bay of Napoli where you can spend hours at the end of the day watching sunset and sipping wine. It is up on the second floor with a great 180 degree view. The guest house also has a full kitchen that can be shared among the guests. We made many of our own meals saving money and hassle. The owners provide some yoghurt and sweets and meat, etc., in the kitchen, along with an espresso maker. With that, you are on your own for breakfast. You can come and go as you please. The wireless Internet is only available downstairs in the wine room/office. But it is always open to guests and has a comfortable table and chairs. The guest house only has three rooms: two doubles and a single. We stayed in the upstairs double. We recommend the downstairs double instead. The upstairs double doesn't have an in-suite bathroom, and the bathroom is shared with the single room, and it is very small, and when we were there the toilet leaked and you could smell sewer gas. The owners said they were going to have it fixed after we left. Still, we recommend the downstairs double. Be prepared to go away feeling like you have made two new friends.

Room Tip: Ask for the downstairs double. Be aware that the beds are pretty hard.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
There are newer reviews for Fuocomuorto Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed two nights here as a base for the Pompeii, Heraculaneum, Mt Vesuvious and Naples thing. It is well placed to get to all of these by car. It is also in a relatively prosperous part of Ercolano and there are some nice bars/restaurants within an easy walk.

However, the best thing is the welcoming attitude of the owners. They made us feel very at home and did everything to try and make our stay enjoyable - for example offering to drop us off at the nearby railway station so we could go into Naples on the train and bring us home made pastries.

The accommodation is of a good enough standard for the price and has a great sun terrace that overlooks the bay and foothills of Vesuvious.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank markpjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2009

This country property comprises the owner's house and family vineyards and the bed and breakfast house, which sleeps six, is in a recently renovated old country property that has the historic family cantina for winemaking situated underneath. There is a very large, superd private terrace overlooking the bay with the sun setting behind the island of Ischia. Fuocomuorto is on the road up to Vesuvius so the summit rises directly behind the house and is , therefore, just a short drive away.

If you come to Fuocomuorto by train the owners, Vincenzo and Alessandra, are more than happy to drive you down the hill to the Herculaneum site or other nearby places of interest and there is a really good local pizzeria nearby. Whilst out in the 'campania' or country this bed and breakfast, therefore, offers complete privacy, warmth and hospitality, tranquil surroundings with access to the sites whether or not you are in your own transport.

We had a wonderful weekend of site-seeing and rest in this recently modernised house with its lovely traditional bedroom and spanking new bathroom. The terrace is perfect and the vineyard a joy to walk around. We would recommend this accommodation to discerning travellers who like a stong sense of place coupled with tranquility. Vincenzo and Alessandra were marvellous hosts whom I hope we will meet again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SadieMahala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rémy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vindic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank BEAntonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosaced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ercolano hotels
1.1 mi away
Andris Hotel
Andris Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ercolano
375 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B Sanfralu'
B&B Sanfralu'
#1 of 29 in Ercolano
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vesuvio Smiling B&B
Vesuvio Smiling B&B
#7 of 29 in Ercolano
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
B&B Il Lapillo
B&B Il Lapillo
#9 of 29 in Ercolano
98 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Fumarole
Le Fumarole
#2 of 29 in Ercolano
340 reviews
0.5 mi away
Herculaneum B&B
Herculaneum B&B
#5 of 29 in Ercolano
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fuocomuorto Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fuocomuorto Bed and Breakfast

Address: Contrada Croce dei Monti, 80056 Ercolano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Ercolano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Ercolano
Price Range: £39 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fuocomuorto b&b came into being when we renovated an old 18th century rural building. We can accommodate 5 people in 3 rooms and there is also a sizeble bathroom and kitchen.the kitchen is at the full disposal of our guests, and they can use it to prepare lunch and dinner whenever they wish. All rooms are equipped with heating, television and internet access.the b&b also has a free, private adn constantly supervised parking space for at least 2 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fuocomuorto Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fuocomuorto Bed And Breakfast Ercolano, Italy - Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing