We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What an AMAZING place!”
Deck with a view of the lake
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Deck with a view of the lake
Just one of the monsters waiting for you View from the walkway
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Deck with a view of the lake
Just one of the monsters waiting for you
View from the walkway
Chartered float plane
Fully equipped kitchen
Many lovely sunsets
Lots of water to explore
Lodge is situated on sandy point
Breathtaking sunset
Comfortable Living room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 10
La Ronge, Saskatchewan

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kdevries2...
Dyer, Indiana
1 review
“What an AMAZING place!”
Reviewed 9 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Don't hesitate to book a trip here. Fantastic Bear Hunting and Fishing. Clean comfortable cabin. Well run camp with fantastic hosts and guides. If I'm fortunate enough, I will definitely be going back!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dvandrune...
Dyer, Indiana
1 review
“A fisherman's paradise”
Reviewed 7 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Wheeler River Lodge is a great place to go with family or friends for a fishing or hunting adventure. I just got back from a bear hunting/fishing combo trip and would go again tomorrow. Kevin and Cheryl keep the camp in tip top shape and treat you like a member of their family. 10 out of 10 would highly recommend checking this place out!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2017
Thank you so much for your positive comments, David. We look forward to your next visit!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nate C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best camps I've ever stayed at.....”
Reviewed 7 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I've gotten to travel the world and go to many different camps in my day and this is right up there with the best of them! Kevin and Cheryl (owners) make you feel right at home and make sure you have everything that you need! Very professional people, I cannot state that enough! This walleye and pike fishing is second to none and the bear hunting is hard to beat! We'll be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2017
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, Nate! We are pleased you enjoyed your time at the Wheeler!! Come back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff V
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wheeler River is an amazing wilderness experience owned and operated by two amazing people.”
Reviewed 7 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We had a group of 7 that flew to Wheeler River for a week of fishing and bear hunting. The accommodations, fishing, and hunting were beyond any of our expectations. Kevin and Cheryl are wonderful hosts and it was the best run fly in camp I have been to. I would recommend this trip to anyone looking for a true wilderness adventure. I plan to go back soon!

Jeff Van Drunen

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2017
Thanks so much for your kind words, Jeff. We enjoyed having your group of 7 here and look forward to your next visit. Until then, C and K
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenrewert...
Fairview, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A holiday like no other!”
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I've been to Wheeler River five or six times now, usually with my sons & some friends. It simply never disappoints. Cheryl & Kevin (owners) always make sure our trip is flawless. From the top notch equipment, to the accomodations, to the scenery, to the peace & quiet..it's all fantastic! Oh ya....the fishing is exactly what you would expect of northern Saskatchewan.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: World class fishing
Liked least: Can't think of a thing!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2016
Thank you for your review! We always enjoy our time spent with you at the Wheeler and look forward to making more memories!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
curtisort...
Hayden Lake, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely amazing experience!!”
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have been on multiple Canadian and Alaskan Fishing trips, and the Wheeler River Lodge is certainly at the top of the list. The fishing is phenomenal, the scenery is beautiful, and Kevin and Cheryl are outstanding hosts. Kevin and Cheryl keep the resort and boats in great condition. It was an amazing experience to have so many options for fishing. We had so much fun fishing for big pike on the fly that we ran out of time to fish for grayling and lake trout. So, we will definitely be going back. If you're looking for a great northern Canada fishing experience, get it booked!! You won't' regret it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2016
Thank you so much! It was a pleasure to have your Father/Sons/Grandsons group visit our little piece of heaven! Looking forward to seeing you back on the dock at the Wheeler!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L B
Cut Knife, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fisherman's Dream - But has a wider appeal as well”
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Imagine pristine clear waters, teeming with fish, at a peaceful northern getaway and you have Wheeler River Lodge.
The Rowswells have established this Lodge to offer the area's wonderful natural beauty and a variety of fishing opportunities. They work hard to make your experience a good one.
We have visited several times - once with teenage children and recently with adults including someone who has physical challenges. Both of these trips were a great success as Kevin and Cheryl made sure individual needs were met.
The accommodations are clean and more than adequate for a far north stay.
If you are a dedicated fisherman or a beginner, this place will satisfiy your wishes. The northern scenery with glimpses of wildlife as you boat along the many channels, lakes and river is an added delight.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing