We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful B&B!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Riverton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverton Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Riverton B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful B&B!”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

We were lucky enough to book this B&B and felt part of the family after our two night stay. Gay is a perfect hostess who looks after your every need. Gay's cooking is amongst the best we have sampled during our five week stay in New Zealand. The bedrooms are comfortable and cozy. We know we will be back in the future.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GapYearTraveller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4Rs, Owner at Riverton Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
What a brilliant trip you are having, and how smart are you to send a review from your phone, one day I will learn to do it also!! It was such a privilege to have you to stay, and for you to enjoy it all so much, is so good. Our weather doesn't always help with some of the options one has, but there are always so many alternatives. Life in the fast lane at Riverton is quieting down a little, so a bit more time to do the gardens etc. Today I sit and gaze out at the reflections, they are amazing, which reminds me why we love living in this unspoilt area of our wonderful Country. I am sure you will come again, and I am sure we will meet again. Stay well and travel safely. Regards Gay @ Riverton Bed and Breakfast 4 R's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
61
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Gay, the owner of the Riverton B&B, is amongst the elite of those well recognised New Zealand gracious and generous B&B hosts. The accommodation and food are excellent and Gay has lots of stories and is very entertaining. Her recommendation for dinner, and organised transport to and from, was terrific. We arrived as guests, but think we left as friends and hope to return.

Riverton is a delightful spot, not on the traditional international tourist route, but well worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clyde90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4Rs, Owner at Riverton Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
A very warm welcome to you both and very grateful thanks for all the lovely things you say about me, the truth is, it is so easy to be happy with amazing people like you two. It truly warms ones heart, to have such instant camaraderie, and so much fun. It was a wonderful evening and makes us realise how lucky we are to have people from all over the world to stay in our humble home, which seems to make people happy, especially the comfy bed, and then the fun starts again at Breakfast, (which sometimes comes quite quickly) Do continue to love and laugh it guarantees longevity. I do hope that one day we will meet again, when you come to the "Riviera of the South"!! Gay @ Riverton Bed and Breakfast 4R's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balclutha, nz
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We found Gay's Riverton B&B in 2011 and returned there in 2013. Gay, the owner, is charming, very helpful and a fine chef (ask for her breakfast eggs with her secret sauce!). She knows the area and makes every effort to make your stay memorable. Gay, we will be back! Thanks so much, Annie and Mike

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank picklesBalclutha_Nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4Rs, Owner at Riverton Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
It was such a lovely surprise to have you both visit us again, you are such an interesting couple and make me feel alive, I do hope the travels to this wonderful country of ours never come to an end, just think, soon you will be able to bring the grandchildren with you!! Our summer has at last begun with very high temperatures, so our lovely view is enhanced with the sunshine. Recently we have had lots of dolphins swimming up the river at full tide, and when they return as the tide changes, it is such fun to watch the children of the village jumping off the bridge and swimming with them, how wonderful is nature.
You take good care of each other, and come back soon, to Riverton Bed and Breakfast 4R's. Archie also sends his love. Best wishes to you and yours Gay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Gay is a very friendly and helpful person to her guests. She is also a splendid cook and raconteur. If you ever visit this lovely area of South Island, please look her up, you will not be disappointed. Gay:very many thanks for a wonderful and memorable stay!

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank rod m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4Rs, Owner at Riverton Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Hi Rod so good to hear from you, F & D are still here, and we were wondering where you were/are? It was so good having you to stay and to see you doing so many interesting trips, good on you! It has been relatively quiet since you left, but the weather has just continued to be amazing after the roth of the early summer storms, time for you to return!!
It was so amazing talking to you and hearing all your travels, just keep on going around the world.
Look forward to your next visit, thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. Take care and travel safely. Kindest regards from Gay and Arch @ Riverton Bed and Breakfast 4R's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Gay welcomed us on arrival and from that moment could not have been more helpful, friendly or indeed entertaining.
The room was comfortable and clean. The breakfast very good. If you are visiting Riverton stay here, a real home from home.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidswiss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4Rs, Owner at Riverton Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Greetings from Riverton. Well you have had my mind racing today with your choice of title for your review, I have pondered all day wondering which was the "Old Fashion bit" I am hoping that it was my welcome to you both and during your stay, as I so love people I sometimes get carried away!!! It was such fun having you to stay and hearing all your travel plans, living in two Countries must eventually get very tiring, but you are such interesting people, and I guess this is why. It was a privilege to have you both staying and to see how much you enjoyed our lovely area in the 2nd Oldest town in New Zealand, was so good.
Do hope you might visit our shores again sometime. Thank you for sharing the time with us.
Gay and Arch @ Riverton Bed and Breakfast 4 R's (relaxing river reflections @ riverton)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I messed up my timing to a booking in Invercargill and was one night ahead of schedule. I looked on the map and decided Riverton was close so looked for accommodation options there. Based on reviews and the limited number of options that came up in my search I decided to try this one and booked online from Te Anau the day before. From the moment Gay had our contact she had pre-thought everything for us including our dietary needs. The SeaView room was available so Gay upgraded us from the Riverview room we had booked. This room is superbly appointed by my needs, perfectly clean, well stocked, warm and comfortable. I am in fact typing this review lying in the super king sized bed of the SeaView room. Gays dinner recommendation of the Beachhouse Cafe was spot on, our breakfast is organised for the morning and with the rain falling gently on the roof I'm ready to snuggle into a comfy bed. Who needs more? Thanks Gay.

Room Tip: Riverview room is just as clean and well appointed, but the SeaView room has a wonderful sitting spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4Rs, Owner at Riverton Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
How lucky are we to have had you for your first ever B&B. It is so good that you have left with happy memories, just as we have happy memories of you both. We certainly were the lucky ones to be able to accommodate you in your plight. I am sure youll have many more happy times staying at B&B's and be able to get to know the locals of the towns you stay in. I do hope your time in Invercargill at the Burt Monroe Events were as good as you expected, an d how lucky you have been with the lovely weather. Take good care of each other and do come back again to visit our Country again, I think you will agree it is a wonderful place to visit.
Our kindest regards, and thanks for you visit Gay and Arch @ Riverton Bed and Breakfast 4R's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gore
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Riverton Bed and Breakfast was a wonderful choice for a special night away for our 33rd wedding anniversary. We received a warm welcome and shown to our clean comfortable well appointed, beautifully presented room, where attention had been given to much detail. There was even home made shortbread, fudge, truffles and other goodies! The breakfast was amazing. So much selection, and our pancakes and French toast were cooked to perfection, so tasty and well presented. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and left with wonderful memories. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PLC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4Rs, Owner at Riverton Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
It was such fun being able to help you celebrate your 33 Wedding Anniversary, they are like birthdays, so very important. In this busy life everyone lives, time is so important, it is so good that we are close enough for you to "pop" down to Riverton to spend time on the beach and enjoy lovely meals at the Beach House Cafe. You are such a caring couple, so I am sure you will have many many years together, so hopefully you will return to Riverton Bed and Breakfast and enjoy the experience of staying here at 4R's. We love meeting lovely people.
Kindest regards Gay and Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Riverton Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverton Bed and Breakfast

Property: Riverton Bed and Breakfast
Address: 13B Shrewsbury Street | Southland, Riverton 9822, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Riverton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Riverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Base yourself in Riverton, and explore the wonderful untouched area, walk, bike, jog, swim in the sea, visit Stewart Island, go fishing, visit Te Anau for the day, climb the Hump Track, it's all here, and it's not too crowded. - Relaxing River Reflections at Riverton. There are no strangers at our place, only friends we haven't met. At our home you have the choice of accommodation. We recently bought this property and spent many weeks redesigning the house, to give guests their own space, and separate wing. There are two en-suite rooms to choose from and everything is new, with lots of thought put into ensuring your comfort. Each room offers peace and quiet and superb views to either the river or the sea with magical sunrises and sunsets. Your hosts Gay and Arch Maley have been operating B&Bs and looking after the comfort of guests for OVER 22 years. The breakfast is to "Live For," giving many choices of home made offerings which can be eaten alfresco, or in the comfort of the dining room, still with wonderful views. Receive a FREE BOTTLE OF N.Z WINE when you come to stay with us. We also provide FREE WI-FI to all our guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing