We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and good service”
Review of Villa Senator

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Senator
Ranked #3 of 32 Podstrana B&B and Inns
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Clean and good service”
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Nice and clean rooms, with a big terrace. The internet connection it's kind of slow/ inexistent in the rooms but it's OK on the terrace. The host it's very helpfull and the breakfast it's diversified. There it's a 5 minutes walk to the beach. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariusW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
18
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We have just spent a fantastic week here. Arrived slightly early, but met by the owner with welcoming complimentary, ice cold Croatian lagers and given very informative binders about the surrounding area to read. We were then shown to our room on the third floor, with a fabulous views of the coast, which we did request. However, the room was in the eaves of the property so space was limited, but there was a king size bed, small table with two chairs, two bedside cupboards and a wardrobe with hangers. There was an ensuite shower, with small basin and wc and efficient air conditioning. The room was exceptionally clean and we had clean white towels throughout the week. The owner very kindly lent us beach towels and foldable beach mattresses, which were perfect as nearly all the beaches were pebbly. I also asked for a hairdrier as there was not one in the room, which I kept for the week.

Breakfast was included in the price, which consisted of fresh bread, boiled eggs, various sliced meats, cheeses, sauasages, pate, jams. marmalade, yoghurt and fresh fruit, tea, or coffee and fruit juice. We were also offered an omlette each day if we wanted one. There was plenty there and it was ideal.

They also serve an evening meal, we ate there on the first night and it was good ,we had steak and spaghetti bolognese, on the terrace outside the front of the hotel.

The hotel is on a hillside, in a residential area, fairly quiet, with superb views of the Adriatic and the island of Brac. The beach is a ten minute walk, there is a local supermarket and bakery a short walk away and a number of restaurants. There is a frequent bus service into Split and Omis, but we had a hire car for the week which was superb. We took the ferry over Brac, £47.30 return for a car and two adults and worth every penny. The beach at Bol is outstanding and ideal for swimming and windsurfers. Take high factor sun cream, a hat and mosquito spray for the evening. (The owner does provide a mosquito plug in for the room but the only mossies we encountered were outside.)

Without doubt, this family run hotel, is one of the friendliest we have stayed in. The owner can not do enough for you and on departure we were given a bottle of red wine and a lavender pot pourri bag! Perfect, we would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: The two rooms on the third floor with a balcony overlooking the sea, are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lizswansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We originally thought we had booked a hotel in Split, but turns out this hotel is a few minutes outside split. It is near the hotel Meridien.

The family run hotel was awesome, very close to the beach, with views of the beach and ocean from the room. It was a short cab ride into split and the owners were good at helping us get taxis.

Overall very pleasant experience. Good breafast.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Just stayed here in August 2011. The accommodations are very clean and perfect for people looking for a quiet vacation. It is family owned and operated and they provided excellent service. I would recommend Villa Senator to anyone looking to visit the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We were three couples traveling to Podstrana. When we first arrived at the hotel (easy to find), we were met with drinks and helpful information about the hotel, Podstrana and Split by the hotel owner and his son. It is a small family hotel with three floors and the rooms were all very nice, with balcony and aircondition included. Breakfast was available from 07-10, but as the plane left early on the morning of departure, it was no problem starting it at 06:00. The restaurant was open from 16-22 (flexible), and we ate there on two occations. The first time we all shared a big plate of fried squid and mixed spesialities, and the squid was so good we came back for a second time. Prices ranged from 50-110 kunas.

It was about two minutes walk to the beach, wich had many snack-bars and restaurants where you could eat when you stayed at the beach or come back in the evening. You could also rent sunbeds for 20 kunas. The bus for Split center was near the bech, took 20 min and went every half hour.

Whenever we asked or wanted help of some sort, the owner or his son went out of their way to give us the information, made calls for us or even offered to drive us if we wanted. The service was impeccable and they had much information about what was worth doing. Villa Senator is a good place to stay if you want to see the dalmatian coast, and Split area.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LaPetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marple, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

Stayed here for a few nights and was very impressed with the level of friendliness and help from the family and staff.
We spent the first hour chatting to Marijan, the owner's son, who was a mine of information about the local area, transport and beaches and Croatia too.
We ate there and had one of the nicest meals of our 3 week tour around the mainland and islands (complimentary drink too!!!).
Our room was cool, spacious and very clean and tidy with a sunlounge area and they gave us another room for free as it was not in use at the time.
Frequent bus trip to Split took about 20 mins and there is a large beach about five mins walk.
Marijan's father even took us to the ferry port in Split on our last day. Fabulous!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dkw15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umea, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

Very helpful staff, nice rooms with seaview on top floor. Good breakfast buffet. A little too long from the beach to be perfect, but instead you dont have to listen to the terrible traffic in Podstrana. A lot of stairs at hotel and in surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pettnils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Podstrana
0.6 mi away
Hotel Split
Hotel Split
#2 of 8 in Podstrana
241 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#3 of 8 in Podstrana
140 reviews
3.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Split
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Lav Split
Le Meridien Lav Split
#1 of 8 in Podstrana
1,651 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pansion Zanic
Pansion Zanic
#1 of 84 in Podstrana
65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Pinocchio
Villa Pinocchio
#1 of 32 in Podstrana
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Senator? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Senator

Property: Villa Senator
Address: Bartola Kasica 9, Podstrana 21312, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Podstrana
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Podstrana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Senator 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Senator reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Senator Croatia/Podstrana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing