We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent villa for a wonderful family holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
Pool Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool Area
Sundeck Garden view on town Split
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
83 reviews
Pool Area
Sundeck
Garden view on town Split
Recreation zone
Garden area
Pool area
First floor apartmenMaria" (1st floor) Lounge
Resident unit 'Maria' (1st floor) Terrace
Resident unit 'Maria' (1st floor) Kitchen
Resident unit 'Maria' (1st floor) Bathroom
Resident unit 'Maria' (1st floor) Master Bedroom
Resident unit 'Maria' (1st floor) Secondary Bedroom
Penthouse unit 'Lucia' (Top floor) Terrace
Penthouse unit 'Lucia' (Top floor) Lounge
Penthouse unit 'Lucia' (Top floor) Kitchen
Penthouse unit 'Lucia' (Top floor) Master Bedroom
Penthouse unit 'Lucia' (Top floor) Secondary Bedroom
Penthouse unit 'Lucia' (Top floor) Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
7 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Podstrana, Split-Dalmatia County, Dalmatia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 83 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
SaraFalk
Linköping
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent villa for a wonderful family holiday”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We booked all three apartments as we were three families traveling together. Our children are between 2 and 15 years old. The villa was the perfect place for us! We enjoyed the pool area, the sun deck and the stunning view over village Podstrana, the sea and the beautiful surroundings. The location is perfect for morning runs or pleasant dinners in the village by the sea, boat trips to beautiful islands (we went to Brac) and national park Krka with its amazing waterfalls. Split, which is a really nice city, is easily reached by car (15 min drive). The hospitality and service mindness of the owners was extraordinary, still they were discrete and let us fully enjoy the garden as we wished. They showed us where we could buy fresh bread and peaches and recommended good snorkeling beaches etc when we asked for the information. The apartments were fully equipped and spacious with balconies and all we had wished for. We highly recommend Villa Maria for a wonderful family holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark T
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just perfect.”
Reviewed 25 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Everything about Villa Maria was perfect for my family, 2 adults and 2 children (aged 7 and 3) in a group of 11 adults and 5 children.

The location was excellent, halfway up a hill overlooking Podstrana, with mountains on the left, sea and coastline on the right and Split in the distance, the view from our balcony was breathtaking. The walk down the hill took you into Podstrana in 7 minutes, with the beach another 5 minutes. The walk back was a bit longer due to the steep hill, but that's what you have to expect for a great view. For those with young children, or the elderly or infirm, I would advise using the taxi firm in the town.

Our apartment in the villa was excellent, luxurious, very clean, air-conditioned, comfortable beds and furniture, bathroom with shower and washing machine, and a fully kitted excellent kitchen with everything that one needs to provide meals for a family. Whatever I looked for had been provided, even found a pair of binoculars in the apartment! I don't think anyone in our group complained about any aspect of the apartments.

Outside the villa itself we had access to a very well maintained, clean and spacious pool, sun loungers, and a fenced play area for the kids, complete with trampoline, ping-ping table, basketball net and a small slide. There was also a vegetable garden which we were permitted to use, the courgettes grown there were amazing! The villa and the facilities made for a very relaxing and stress-free holiday.

Lastly I would like to highly commend Silvio and his family for making our stay so special. In particular I thank Joseph, who did much more than I ever expected to make us feel welcome and introduce us to Podstrana. Joseph went out of his way for us and was always available for help and advice, taking us to the supermarket on our arrival and helping us settle in. On the second day of our stay we did have a problem with the air conditioning, Joseph sorted it out immediately. Also big thanks to Ivan who worked tirelessly around the pool and the garden, and Maria who cooked us the most delicious meal on one of the evenings of our stay, the courgette soup was simply extraordinary. Our group are by no means quiet, but we had never any complaint about any noise we made.

To sum up, great value for the money spent would be an understatement. Villa Maria is the perfect place to spend a Croatian holiday.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mila W
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, fabulous house”
Reviewed 23 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We booked the whole house as there were 11 adults, 3 children and 2 babies in our group. Silvio arranged our airport pickup and return which went very well. The house itself is stunning and the grounds are kept immaculately. The family who live on the ground floor (some of Silvio's family) were extremely accommodating and helpful. Joseph especially ensured we had what we needed. The local wine we ordered (again and again) went down very well! The family arranged a meal for us coming near to the end of our stay, every bit of this was really delicious, star of the show being the home grown cherry cake. We weren't the quietest group but there were no issues in this respect. The hill up to the villa from Podstrana is steep and as we had prams we often got taxis, these are cheap and easy to find. The bus stop to split is at the bottom of the hill and takes about 20/30 minutes. We had a really wonderful stay and would like to thank Silvio and all his family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion140...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We were a group of 9 and stayed for 2 weeks.
We all agreed that this was just a fantastic place to stay especially if you are a large group as there are 3 apartments all with their own facilities which gives everybody space if they want to.
I do not think I have been anywhere where the host has been so helpful nothing was to much. Silvio picked us up from the airport at a very reasonable charge. He also arranged mini bus for us on a few excursions and car hire for some of the group, took them there to pick up the car and return it. However you do not need a car as there is a bus stop at the bottom of the hill but the hill is a bit steep on the way up to the house but Silvio was happy to pick us up on a few occasions when the heat was to much to walk.
We also had the host cooking us evening meals on 5 occasions and the food was so good every time and plenty of it.
All in all a great place to stay and thoroughly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good location and exceptionally helpful host.
Liked least: The hill up to the property having said that just call the host and he will pick you up. If you have a car then no problem.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candice W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa but not appropriate for large groups”
Reviewed 12 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We rented out all three apartments in September (a group of 13). The apartments are very nice indeed, but not suited to big groups of people looking to have dinner parties or drinks on the terrace as we were asked to keep the noise down (/ go inside) from 11pm. Town is a steep 10/15 min walk downhill (uphill is a killer!) and a short 20 min bus ride away. Lovely pool and recreation area with lots of games although you are not aloud to eat, smoke or drink by the pool and the family live on the ground floor so will be checking! Also there are children who run around and use the pool so if you are looking to rent out all the apartments you will not have this area to yourself anyway. Split is so lovely and has lots of excursions, a great holiday destination. We enjoyed our holiday very much as split is gorgeous and the apartments are nice but it was ruined by the fact we were told not to make any noise past 11 (and rudely scolded when we did) and by noise I mean dinner parties on the terrace and drinks, not wild parties, noise of which should be expected of 13 people in one place. Upon arrival we were advised to go into town if we wanted to be outside past 11, as we were not to make noise on the terrace or by the pool and recreation area due to the neighbors, which was quite disappointing and we wished this had been communicated to us before we arrived. Evidently we were told this was the first time they had rented all apartments to one group, so perhaps they will not do this again. There was also little privacy as the owners often walked into our apartments unannounced, and while some were a delight (i.e. the lovely older lady we thought to be the owner's mother) others were quite rude which was a shame. I would highly recommend this place to a small family looking for a relaxing time. if you are looking to drink and have late evenings and dinners on the terrace I would not recommend.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Dec 2014
Dear guests,

Firsty we are sorry because of your disappointment with your stay at our property.

Although we initially thought of ignoring this after the long and exhausting season ended everybody from Villa Maria agreed that we will not be disgraced and ashamed publicly.
Disgrace and shame was everything we felt during the entire stay of this group.It was the very first time that we were forced to ask the group to leave the house before it was originally arranged (with refund of the means for the rest of the stay and with organised transfer to their next destination).
The fact that family is living in the house is stated very clearly during the communication between us and the person who sends the inquiry.Also all rules (including the one thats repeatedly stated in this review ,the 11pm rule) are made clear in communication before guest even decides about booking.Since we realized that 11pm might just be a bit too much for a group of teenagers we even tried to be more tolerant and not react every time when we hear screaming,loud music,smashing doors,glass shattering…

As seen on our advert on Holiday Lettings villa is situated in residential zone where neighbours don't have a lot of understanding for any kind of noise in early morning hours. We tried to warn the "group leaders" that noise will result in police interventions that could have lead to even more serious trouble.

Out of respect that we have for every group of guests that goes through our house we will not even try to name all incidents that we experienced during the stay of this group but we must state that during the entire stay of this group everyone in the house remained calm and respectful of our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siv L
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place !”
Reviewed 11 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Villa Maria during The last weekend in september and first weekend in oktober. The weather was fantastic. We were two families, 4adults and 4 small children in the age between 3months and 6 years. We stayed all in villa Maria. The villa was a good size, clean and all the necessary kitchen facilities. Silvio, the owner, arranged a transfer to and from the airport ) We were taken for a trip in the car and Silvio showed us everything to know about in podstrana and surronding areas. On the return we were taken to the supermarket to get provisions for the villa. Great service! The villa is in the good location but is a walk up a steep hill from the beach. The beaches in the area is clean and Nice. In the evenings we went by taxi or the owner arranged private transport. There is a bus stop at the bottom of the hill to access Split. There are one really cheap fast food place near the beach where you can buy the best chicken sandwich and gyros ever! The lokal bakery close to the villa provided lovely bread every day :) Silvio and his familiy did everything for us to make our stay fantastic! The last evening they arranged BBQ for all of us! So good! Overall we were very impressed with Villa Maria and the owners, such generous and welcoming people. We would definitely recommend this for other families with children.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maisie W
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous and Welcoming Villa, Great Pool!”
Reviewed 8 October 2014 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Villa Maria during September and the weather was warm. We're six girls in our early twenties looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday away from busy London and found this villa perfect. The villa was a good size, clean and all the necessary kitchen facilities. We arranged a transfer from the airport with the owner for a good price and on our arrival were greeted with a cool drink until the villa was ready (arrived on an early flight before check-in time.) We were taken for a trip in the car by the owner where we did a little tour of the local area inc, beach, shop and recommended restaurants, on the return we were taken to the supermarket to get provisions for the villa. Great service! The villa is in the good location but is a walk up a steep hill from the beach so we walked most of the time but did taxi back from Split after a meal out. For older travellers I would recommend renting a car. There is a bus stop at the bottom of the hill to access Split for a better price, here we visited the local market. There are some fabulous local restaurants all within walking distance to Villa Maria. The villa is set on the higher level with a large terrace, great for evening meals (the owners live downstairs.) The view overlooks the garden, play area (with trampoline and table tennis) and the pool and was a great spot for watching the beautiful sunsets. The pool was a good size and warm enough as it was nearer the end of the season, the pool area was very comfortable with a toilet/change room and lots of comfy sunbeds. During our stay, one of the party had teeth troubles and the owner did not hesitate to drive her to the local dentist, very kind. Overall we were very impressed with Villa Maria and the owners, such generous and welcoming people and what worked out as quite cheap accommodation for 6 people. We would definitely recommend this villa and would love to visit again. Brilliant!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout of the villa, huge terrace and great pool.
Liked least: The hill leading to the property but great view of the sunset!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing