We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really great place, best in Split area.”
Review of Hotel Eden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Eden
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Podstrana
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
99 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A really great place, best in Split area.”
Reviewed 10 July 2011

I used to come to Croatia regularly as my ex-wife was from here, and I also used to DJ a lot in the area. This hotel didn't exist back then, but I'm so glad it does now.

The rooms are all modern and comfortable, with a fabulous view back across the channel between Split and Brac.

Yes, it's 10 minute drive back to Split, but really, you can see the city in a day, and if you stay in a hotel in the city you'll be kept awake all night with noise from the bars, and the value for money compared to the central hotels far excedes the inconvenience of a taxi ride.

The beaches are standard Croatian rocky affair, but you can either opt for a quiet area near the hotel, or move to the beach at Le Meridien, or go past that to an even nicer one.

The Meridien is no more than 100m away, but you wouldn't know it, however if you feel the need for a bit more action it's fun for a night to have a cocktail at their champagne bar and look at the big boats at their marina. There are three supermarkets within 5 minutes walk for snacks, cheese, ham, beer etc....

However, when it comes to dinner, I cannot recommend the restaurant at Eden highly enough. The breakfast is a bit poor, very average ham and cheese and some fruit, but don't let that disguise the fact that the kitchen can produce the most wonderfull Dalmatian dishes in the evening. Yes it's a little expensive, but the seafood, salad, blitva, is as good as I've tasted anywhere. The lady who provides live music is terrific too.

I'd originally planned to stay for only 4 nights before heading to the islands, but was so happy with the food and room I stayed for the whole 2 weeks.

The only reason I give 4/5 instead of 5/5 is that I was moved to a neighbouring hotel twice to accomodate large group bookings, as they have some issue with online bookings, but as a solo traveller was happy with the compensation for the inconvenience.

Don't let that put you off though. It's a great hotel, in my many visits to the region my favorite by far.

I'd like to thank Matko, the owners son who manages it, and made me feel so at home, and Ante, the restaurant waiter, and a proper star in the best Dalmatian way, for all their hospitality and service, and I hope to see you all next summer.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank DJDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    50
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
35
62
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

The hotel in well located on the seafront. The buffet breakfast is very good with a wide selection to choose from. The room was very comfortable and quiet. Nice view...

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ALEX5_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Service was great. Stuff was very helpful with anything you needed. Rooms were modern and clean. Close to the beach. Definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank matheo062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
176 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2008

Stayed there for a fall weekend. Absolutely lovely place though a bit out of town; the public bus works well. The road noise is hardly disturbing as the hotel is downhill, and apparently the noise does not reach the building esp. the seaside where all balconies are.
The pool was not big and not very warm but well cared for; it's simply a matter of switching on the lights (though the staff prefers that you ask them for assistance) and 5 mins later plunge-you-go.
Buffet B'fast was nice, and so is the flatscreen satellite TV in each room. Restaurant also serves quite good dinners.

  • Liked — Balconies and view
  • Disliked — Distance from Split town
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ErikandSandya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2008

Stayed two nights at this hotel in the outskirt of Split. The standard is quite nice in this hotel since it's a 4 star hotel and also feels like one, as the interior is very clean and fresh.

However, we were quite disappointed about the pool. It's very small and has to be "setup" on request before it can be used, so it seems like it's not being used so much.

As pointed out by others, it's preferable if you have your own car if you are going to stay at this hotel, as it takes approx 30 mins before you can reach the city of Split. However, the bus stop is immediately in front of the hotel, and it runs every 30 mins.

The taxi from the hotel to the Split airport is around 350 kuna (2008).

Except a pizzeria across the road, there are limited dinning options in the close promixity but further south on the road there seems to be more options.

The beach immediately reachable from the hotel is a bit boring since it's concrete blocks, but if you trace the shore some hundred meters to the left, you will reach the Hotel Le Meridien Lav which has a much nicer beach.

  • Liked — Amenities
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank vcand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2008

We drove past Split, hoping we would come across the hotel. It's outside of the city, so a car is helpful. It's difficult to drive out of the hotel car park, and turn onto the busy road, and you'd better practise your clutch control. The hotel itself has it's own path down to the water- there's NO sand- your best bet is to find an isolated bit of pebble or concrete. Atleast it's convenient. Ok I actually loved this hotel. The girls at the reception were so helpful, expecially when recommending a restaurant in town. It was quite modern, and exceptionally clean. The air conditioning didn't work, unless you lay on top of it. Appart from this, the hotel was good for what it was- very bright, neat and modern.

  • Liked — very clean, and staff very pleasant and helpful
  • Disliked — It's a tad too far from Split, if you don't drive. Not many amenities near by.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank intrepidnmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2008

Excellent location. Directly on the water. Short drive to the city. Rooms were very modern, clean and spacious. Definetly would stay here again.

  • Liked — Clean and modern
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Vesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Podstrana
0.2 mi away
Hotel Split
Hotel Split
#2 of 8 in Podstrana
235 reviews
3.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Split
4.1 mi away
Dioklecijan Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Fanat
Hotel Fanat
#20 of 55 in Split
146 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel San Antonio
Hotel San Antonio
#8 of 8 in Podstrana
89 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ark Apartments
Ark Apartments
#1 of 1 in Stobrec
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden

Property: Hotel Eden
Address: Strozanacka cesta 76, Podstrana 21312, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Podstrana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Podstrana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eden 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Hotel Podstrana
Hotel Eden Croatia/Podstrana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing