We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Hotel Sunce

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sunce
Ranked #25 of 32 Podstrana B&B and Inns
Podstrana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Hotel Sunce is a reflection of the great experience that Croatia has to offer. Frankly, we just wanted a weekend break and decided to go to Split for a change. What we found was much more than we expected. On Sunce, the place is very well kept, comfortable and cozy. Location was nice, quiet and had a beautiful Adriatic beachfront. But most of all, the staff was very warm and service was superb! Typical of Croatian small town hospitality? And the food was fantastic -definitely worth coming back to. :D
BTW, we are frequent travelers who always thought that Europe could use some improvement in quality of service - not in this case. Croatia is a gem!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    28
    15
    10
    21
See reviews for
21
57
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

No complaints about employess except one and she was called the Director or owner of the hotel. She only spoke GERMAN and was impossible to explain anything to her. My last night there she was only person working in the restaurant as she was both hostess and server and the service was the worst I had ever seen anywhere in the world. After seating us we must have waited and hour before she took our order and then had to wait 30 minutes to get the wine we had ordered. Another hour later we finally got the meal. They need a bilingual server as she had no clue as to what was going on. She seemed partial to German customers as spent more time talking to them than talking orders or concerned about the service. The employees that served the breakfast were excellent and were bilingual and service was the best. The German director has to go before she ruins her own business. She needs to take a back seat away for the restaurant!

Room Tip: Most rooms have an ocean view but you need to ask when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dlnonrev69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zg
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Lovely beach hotel, with fabulous sea view from the balcony. Very close to city of Split (cca 10 min. by car). The staff is very friendly and helpful. All rooms have free wi-fi connenction. Food is also good and you have various choices. All in all you will get excelent accomodation and much of a luxury for relatively little much of money.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dombaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

The hotel is very clean and has great fresh decor appropriate to a beach location. The sea view rooms with balconies are fabulous, with plenty of room and great views. Food in the restaurant was great, fresh and quite reasonably priced compared with other restaurants. Breakfast had a number of choices depending on your preferences, but the previous reviewer was right - the coffee could be stronger! The hostess was lovely, very friendly and helpful - but she speaks little or no English, so if you have some German it is helpful. I imagine you could get through with some sign language, but its not a bad idea for Croatia generally to take a German/English phrase book to assist.
We didnt get to test the beach, as there was a huge thunderstorm the night we were there, but it certainly looked clean and lovely, though smallish. The hotel is near Split in a satellite town called Podstrana. Public transport is easy enough, but make sure you get good directions before you go, as Podstrana is quite big, and the bus stops dont have numbers.

Room Tip: See if you can get a sea view with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FredMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Although the hotel is not in Split (it's in Podstrana) it is still a great place to stay while visiting Split. There is a bus stop not 60 meters from the hotel where you can either catch the city bus or a van ride to the city center.

The hotel is literally ON the beach and has a nice bar where you can enjoy a drink while sunbathing and swimming. It makes for a very relaxing atmosphere after a day of sight seeing. The view from our room was spectacular.

There is a restaurant on the hotel and also a handful of others along the beach within walking distance.

The staff is very helpful (and very funny!). I would recommend this hotel for holiday makers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the ocean. It's really beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alliejay76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundbyberg, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

This is an excellent 3-star hotel right on the beach at Podstrana (Split).
We were welcomed on arrival by Ita Carminatti who is a very service-minded lady willing to help and advise at all times. She made our vacation a special event and our big thanks to her.

The location is about 8kms from Split town with good transportation possibilities. We used the local bus service without problem. There are two bus companies operating, Promet and Dalmatinac. Promet uses normal busses of varying standard but Dalmatinac is preferable as they are vans rather than a bus, air-conditioned and more comfortable.
We found that they charge the same price, 12 kuna single trip. (September 2011)
The bus stop for Split is to the right from the hotel, across the road and about 60 meters to walk. At the bus stop is a newsagent/tobacconist and in the square behind is a Konzum supermarket, very useful for buying water, fruit, etc.

First impression of the hotel was the cleanliness which we have as our first priority. The room was big enough for the two beds and the bathroom with shower and useful shelves for our toilet bags was well equipped with a hair-dryer, shampoo and soap and electrical outlet. The wall-rack for hanging bath towels was very useful.
A tip is to bring your own beach towels as these are not supplied and room towels are not permitted to be taken out of the rooms.

The balcony we had (room 104) was very large with two chairs and a table, ideal for sitting outdoors with an evening drink watching the beautiful sunsets. Also, two excellent sun-loungers which we could only use in the early morning and late afternoon as there is no shade on the balcony during the day. For light-skinned north Europeans, the sun is very intense and shade is essential to avoid burning but for visitors with darker skin this may not be such a disadvantage.

The hotel built on a slope from the main road down to the beach so there are stairs to the different levels. There is no lift/elevator but staff is able to assist if requested.

Breakfast was quite sufficient with hot food, eggs, bacon, sausage, etc. plus cereal, bread cheese, ham, jam, honey. Tea, coffee and juices are also available. A tip for Scandinavians, who like their coffee strong, is to bring some instant coffee along to add to the breakfast coffee.
To sit outside the restaurant on the terrace in the early morning sunshine to enjoy breakfast was a lovely start to each day.

On the beach there are plastic sun-loungers but no cushions/mattresses for the beds.
Good to lie down on but a bit uncomfortable after a while when sitting up reading. There are four big sunshades which can be a bit difficult to raise in the mornings but provide sufficient shade when open. This is not a sandy beach but is stony and swimming shoes with good soles are desirable. The water is clear and salty, just as it should be and taking a dip now and again was refreshing.

Along the beach to the left, there is restaurant Jure which we used a number of times. The food with pizza, spaghetti, fish was good and reasonably priced. The waiter, Mario, was efficient and spoke English.

In the other direction on the beach there is a 30 minute walk to the big hotel Le Lav Meridien with all the big private “yachts” moored in the basin. Take this walk and smell the money!!

Room Tip: Room 104. Twin-bedded room with huge balcony, sea-view and great sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank STOHMSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Hotel is located straight on the beach, so close to the sea that you feel almost immersed in the Adriatic. Great views to the islands and bypassing yachts make it really a relaxing stay.
Big, sunny terraces help you to enjoy the landscape.

Clean, modern rooms. Good breakfast. Firendly and helpful staff.
Free wi-fi all over the place.
Indoor swimming pool and sauna for free for the guests.

Hotel parking might be challenging due to small space..

The gravel beach is suitable for children.
Entry into water easy even without swimming shoes.
Sunbeds and umbrellas free for the guests, but if the hotel is full the selection might be limited (still, we could always find a palce for us).

Hotel manager always smiling and making your day 8-)
Really good family hotel.

Room Tip: make sure you get the sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miramaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Podstrana hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Split
Hotel Split
#2 of 8 in Podstrana
243 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#3 of 8 in Podstrana
140 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Jerkan
Villa Jerkan
#6 of 8 in Podstrana
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Antonio
Hotel San Antonio
#8 of 8 in Podstrana
93 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pansion Zanic
Pansion Zanic
#1 of 84 in Podstrana
65 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Neva
Hotel Neva
#6 of 32 in Podstrana
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunce

Property: Hotel Sunce
Address: Grljevachka 146 | Podstrana, Split, Podstrana 21311, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Podstrana
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Podstrana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sunce 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sunce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sunce Croatia/Podstrana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing