We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture perfect peace and quiet.”
Review of Hotel Sunce

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sunce
Ranked #24 of 32 Podstrana B&B and Inns
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Picture perfect peace and quiet.”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Lovely hotel right on the beach will ensure you get to relax and take time out. There isn't much to do in podstrana and only a few choices for restaurants but not really an issue as the hotel restaurant is good value and nice and bus 60 will take you to split directly every 30mins if you want some action in the city.
Overall I would recommend this hotel for someone who wants to relax on the beach with easy access to split if needed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaunNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    27
    15
    10
    20
See reviews for
20
56
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lodi, Italy
Level Contributor
125 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My boyfriend and I booked 7 nights in this hotel in June/July, so we really were not expecting any problems when arriving there. Instead, as soon as we were given our room, we were told it was just a temporary accomodation cause our room would be ready on the following day. Of course we were annoyed, especially cause we were given a room woith a balcony over the main road, so plenty of traffic and no privacy at all, but we put up with that cause it was only for one night. Too bad the following day the woman at the reception said she was sorry, but she had made a mistake and the room would be ready the following day, that is, on day 3 of our permanence. Furthermore, they did not clean our room on day 2 saying "we were in", but no one knocked and when we left, cleaning stuff was in front of our door, so no chance they were being honest,
When our room was finally ready I have to admit we were pleased, it was large with a beautiful terrace on the sea, too bad we had other trips planned for day 4 and 5, so we couldn't enjoy it as much as we would have done before. Furthermore, they forgot to tell us our key could be used for the reception door too and the woman got mad cause we were ringing the bell at night (they should be available 24h per day, lucky if you find them there for 1 hour per day). The restaurant was nice, but the prices are way too high for the Croatian standars. Service is really slow, though the waiters were nice people at least.
As for the other services, no issues, beach was beautiful, position was great, just about 15 minutes away from Split (by car).
Good hotel overall, but the staff should really reconsider their attitude.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SilviaLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Did not stay in the hotel, but 12 of us booked a table for a meal here, mainly because we had a drink in the beach café and the waitress was so lovely we thought we would come back for a meal, although I was a little worried as the restaurant always looked very quiet!!

Considering we had pre-booked and they asked if we would like a table on the upstairs terrace overlooking the beach and sea - the start was promising, its a beautiful setting. Unfortunately, the food and service did not live up to the setting. We waited over an hour for our meal - the bread was not fresh (bordering on stale) we were told they had no draught beer (yet we had previously had draught beer from the café/bar downstairs!) so after the first round - we went downstairs to buy the drinks ourselves, it was also quicker than waiting !!. We were not served by the lovely waitress from downstairs but by a younger waitress who did not seem bothered, the service and food once it arrived was only average, which is a real pity.(there was no "did you enjoy your meal" !!) and we nearly complained but as I had to go and find the waitress to pay the bill, I really lost interest and could not be bothered. This was the only place that we did not leave a tip in our 2 week stay in Podstrana. Very Disappointing, this could be a lovely restaurant with just a bit more attention to detail.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nigelfoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

podstrana is the best place for swimming near to split. This region is very choosable if you both want to do beach holiday and stay close to the city Split (5-10 minutes by car).the hotel have a very quiet beach area even in august. the sea in front was calm and clean. it is not logical to expect great service procurement from ex communist country enterprises, they are rigid and formalistic even in tourism sector.
The hotel is very clean. it has a small cafe for drink and snack on the beach, but it is common to wait 20 minutes for a coffee. the breakfast is good but nothing special.
the sea is a bit rocky and hard to swim with barefoot so you should wear sea shoes.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haticeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Örnsköldsvik
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The hotel is nice and very clean. The girl in the reception is nice and helpful, and she can speak English.
At the restaurant the personal is also very nice and they have very good food, but you must have a lite bite patience to have your food, it takes almost 45 minutes to get your food. I recomend you to order the food in advanced, not when you are very hungry.
The breakfast is good, but you must be very early 8:00 o´clock, if not you dont find to much food.
They clean the rooms every day, but they dont change the sheets and not either the towels.
We were for 10 days and they changed it only one time.
The view is so nice from the balcony and the location is good but, it is not close to Split, more or less 9km, I recomend to hire a car.
Internet do not work everyday, and it is a lite bite slow.
It was a big problem with the internet everyday. My husband restarted the router everyday and after that internet was working again.
The owner cant speak English, she only speak German & Croatian. That's a big problem if you want some help to solve your problems or if you want some information about how something at the hotel it works, for example air condition, security box etc.... This hotel is going down because the most professional person in the hotel is not working there anymore, that's bad. The owner should take a course in how to drive a hotel, she have the behavior like the guests are kids, she screams and get crazy if something gets wrong. This German speaking woman is so nice most of the time, but sometimes she is like a devil ( Bad behavior to the guests and to the employees). I didn't like how she scream to the employees and to the guests.

Room Tip: room 102 and room 104 room 202 and room 204
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Benkito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moss, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed for 4 days in July13. Location is very good on the beach. Rooms are small, but OK. Sea view very nice. Close to Split :-). Internet/WiFi very slow. Long waiting time for service/food in restaurant. Breakfast OK if you are early bird - if you're not, eggs, meat etc are not re-filled...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trond Skarsem P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Excellent location, right on the beach. Nice view of the sea from our room/balcony
Friendly english speaking Staff. The ower doesn't speak english but tried to be helpful when we arived late afternoon.
There is a good restaurant in the hotel.
The rooms are on three floors. No elevators and there is some stairs to overcome.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sergiogomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Podstrana hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Split
Hotel Split
#2 of 8 in Podstrana
235 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#3 of 8 in Podstrana
136 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Jerkan
Villa Jerkan
#6 of 8 in Podstrana
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pansion Zanic
Pansion Zanic
#1 of 83 in Podstrana
64 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pansion Martin
Pansion Martin
#5 of 32 in Podstrana
14 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Neva
Hotel Neva
#6 of 32 in Podstrana
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunce

Property: Hotel Sunce
Address: Grljevachka 146 | Podstrana, Split, Podstrana 21311, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Podstrana
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Podstrana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sunce 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sunce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sunce Croatia/Podstrana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing