We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but the owner was extremely rude!”
Review of Hotel Sunce

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sunce
Ranked #23 of 33 Podstrana B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 July 2010

The cleaning ladies and the lady in the reception were really nice and service minded, but the owner was not service minded at all. Although she understands and speaks english, she only spoke german with the guests. She has the wrong occupation - she should not have anything to do with people and guests at all. She embarrased herself by her behaviour!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vacation_swe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2010

On the positive side: Great location at beach. Sweet, English-speaking staff. Nice and clean rooms. On the negative side: Unpleasant smell in bathroom. The owner doesn't or refuses to speak English. She is also rude, very rude actually.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna189852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsunce, Manager at Hotel Sunce, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2011

Just to make a notice that in fact all our reviews got much better since 2009, thanks to management change and better relations with our guest.
We are very pleased about the impressions that our guests are writing last few years and specially 2010,2011.
Thank you all for that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

Good location on the beach. Nice, clean rooms. The staff was very nice and friendly. This hotel could get a GREAT review, if it wasn't for the fact that the owner was rude and refused to speakand/ or understand English. She only spoke to the German-speaking guests, ignoring the rest.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asjblom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

The airconditioner did not work well and neither did the wet bar. I complained and complained of no use. The Internet worked but it took a full day to get the owner to fix it. She wants cash for the food served in the restaurant, you guess why? The prices are way out of range compared to other hotels in the area but if you are driving and have no reservations what can you do? She wanted to charge me Euros 1.5 for 100 ml. of milk so that I can make my own tea. I would compare it to Stalag 17. Don't fall for the glitzy brochure, the only redeeming factor here is the manager and her assistant they are friendly, very helpful but it takes a long while to make up for the iron fisted owne.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
4  Thank zamindar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2010

I had read nearly all the reviews before booking this hotel. I was not disappointed at all. The staff is very friendly and helpful, especially if you are nice yourself. They will make meals for you when needed. They have good advice, are helpful and actually caring. And never arrogant. So if youre not hostile yourself, this hotels' staff is perfect people to have around. The view is magnificent. I was here in off-season, no dought about that. So i got a room with extra large balcony. The beach with actual sand is right there in front of your eyes and less than 30 sec to walk down to. If you are not used to having seaview or easy access to beach this hotel is perfect. You might get a sun-bed in the balcony , or at least you have a table and chairs. The view from the restaurant is also magnificent.

However the hotels' restaurant is really expensive. You can eat in downtown at a restaurant for half the price. The breakfast is great. Good quality and variety. Better than most other 4-star hotels. They might even cook warm food for you like omelettes for breakfast if you want.

Split city is easy to access by bus. Every half hour. Or van, also every half hour. 12 Kn each way and takes 30 min to town centre. A main road to Dubrovnik runs just outside the hotel, easy to travel on , and still almost no noise to the rooms. But be very careful when driving form the parking and on to the road, as it is situated on a bend.

I really recommend a tour to Livno in Bosnia, near the Croatian border. Safe and easy to drive to. To see the spectacular alpine / scandinavian like landscape. A huge lake just across the border, with beautiful small towns and valleys around. It takes up to 2 hours do drive from the hotel to Livno, Bosnia. Its well worth it. And they will not trouble you in the passport controls ( neither Bosnian nor Croat), not even if you go by car. Inside Bosnia there is peace, tranquility and very lovely people. Bosnia was amazing in every way. Also it is a contrast when you come back to the sea and islands and experience the difference in landscape on a short trip.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorPak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2007

I liked my stay in Hotel Sunce. I have stayed there for week. The stuff is very nice and friendly (ask for Ivona, she will give you informations about everything you need). My room was very clean and had a beautiful view. If I ever go in Split again, I will definitly choose the same hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank germanSarajevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2007

My family and me were at lovely short break in Split staying at Hotel Sunce.
As this was a special birthday celebration for my father -in-law we took particular care in choosing where to stay. We were certainly not disappointed with our choice.
The hotel is located at beautiful beach in Podstrana, only 10 kilometers from center of Split. The hotel itself was extremely clean and rooms attractive and comfortable. Breakfasting on the hotel terrace looking the sea was delightful and a super place to return to in the evenings for a relaxing drink and dinner after a hard days sightseeing.
All the staff (thank You Ivona for care and informations about everything we have asked, thank You Maria for clean, fragrant room) and the owners(Thank You Mira and Vlado for beautiful breakfast served with love) were friendly and helpful.

We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel as a excellent base from which to explore the delights of beautiful Split and this part of Croatia.

Thank napoliboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Podstrana hotels
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Lav Split
Le Meridien Lav Split
#1 of 8 in Podstrana
1,791 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Jerkan
Villa Jerkan
#6 of 8 in Podstrana
57 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Johnny
Villa Johnny
#5 of 8 in Podstrana
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Pinocchio
Villa Pinocchio
#1 of 33 in Podstrana
87 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Split
Hotel Split
#2 of 8 in Podstrana
268 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pansion Zanic
Pansion Zanic
#1 of 87 in Podstrana
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunce

Address: Grljevachka 146 | Podstrana, Split, Podstrana 21311, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Podstrana
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Podstrana
Price Range: £53 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sunce 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sunce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sunce Croatia/Podstrana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing