We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service needs improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Meridien Lav Split
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Podstrana
Certificate of Excellence
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Service needs improvement”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I was couple of times in last 4 years in this hotel, for business and as well with family for leisure. It has great location,direct access to Marina, very nice outside pool and amenities around.
However no great view or fantastic outdoor pool can overcame the poor quality of service, specially at front desk. Very unprofessional, poor knowledge, language issues, far from being polite, also talking very badly about hotel managers in front of guest.
Breakfast on nice terrace with gorgeous view is to "socialistic", typically one of those we were used 30 years ago in Croatian seaside hotels. Offer of food and drink is average for this type and range of hotel, the espresso or cappuccino is to be paid which is not acceptable if you stay in hotel with 4 or 5 stars. Again the service is poor, students serving, talking among themselves instead of addressing guest needs. Again language issue.
Pity that such beautiful property with fantastic beach location is not able to change from socialistic attitude and implement Le Meridian chain/SPG quality. It is actually every stay worse than previous one.

Room Tip: Take room facing marina and island Brac, they are a little bit more expensive however very spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dvorjanka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirjana S, Manager at Le Meridien Lav Split, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Dvorjanka1,

thank you very much for taking time to write a review of your recent stay with hotel Le Meridien lav, Split.

I was sad to read your experiences with us do not meet your expectations. However, your constructive comments can only help us evolve and improve in both, our service and our offer.
We will for certain take all mentioned under consideration.

I would like to invite you to contact me directly on info-split@lemeridien.com, to be able to go into the mentioned issues a bit further.

I sincerely hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again and to show you our will to grow and improve is neverending.

Sincerely,

Mirjana Simunic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    817
    530
    151
    51
    32
See reviews for
393
653
52
195
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

If you're looking for a single resort in which to spend your time.. this would be it.

If you're looking for a hotel near to Split so that you might visit the city in addition to lounging on the ocean.. this is most definitely not it.

I chose to stay in Split during the beginning and end of my trip to Croatia. The beginning hotel was amazing, mind blowing, and everything I ever wanted in a hotel so it may have unfairly set a bar too high for this. I stayed at Le Meridian Lav at the end of the trip.

The hotel was quite luxurious. We had a gorgeous view of the sea, though it was quite rough and gray. The spa area was lovely and we indulged there. Food was good, though pricey and quite limited in choice. The staff were simply incredible. Never made it to the beach due to the unfortunate weather.

In order to get into the city of Split, because this is technically in Podstrana, there is no shuttle and you have to rely on your own vehicle or taxis. Ultimately when we arrived we felt a little stranded and away from civilization. If that's what you want than this is definitely the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JNATravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirjana S, Manager at Le Meridien Lav Split, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear JNATravels,

You are most kind for taking time to write your review, but especially for all the kind words of praise you have for our property and for our services. It is really inspiring to read you found our hotel to be "everything you ever wanted in a hotel" and our staff to be "simply incredible". This will for sure encourage us to go always a step further in providing a special and memorable experience to each of our guests. I do understand your concern regarding our location, but I can assure you it is one of our advantages. We are situated only 8 km from Split center, and yet our peacefull surroundings and nature creates an atmosphere worth of a SPA resort.

We will love to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Mirjana Simunic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Taking in considering that Split has like, one beach where you can actually swimm (I'm very sensitive about beaches and clean sea), Lav Meridien is on great location. Hotel has it own, closed beach beneath the pools, and it's nice. Rooms are nice also, nothing special, nothing extra, clean, cosy and with nice light. Breakfast buffet is great, lots of choices - that's crucial. Dinner was ok - nothing special. One thing I wasn't actually satisfied in hotel was one lady (forgot the name) at checking desk. Maybe she had bad day, I don't know and in the end I don't care, but she was very rude to me one night when I wanted her to organize me something lighter to cover up for sleeping. There's no need for that, I believe that the people who decide to work in hotels, MUST be at your service and have a smile on their faces. That is must.
Great thing with this hotel that if you go north from it you can go through Split and go towards smaller places and places to visit, and if you go on south from the hotel - you are just 5 minutes from great restaurants and little beaches- so you don't need to have your holiday in one beach at the hotel. Also, been in their spa, took a massage - it was good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SelmaTerlevic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirjana S, Manager at Le Meridien Lav Split, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Selma Terlevic,

Thank you for choosing Le Méridien Lav for your recent visit in Split and for taking the time to write your experience of your stay with us.

I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location suitable for exploring local area easily. We are certainly proud of scenic surrounding and having picturesque towns near like Trogir, Omis, Solin and Makarska as well as nature parks of Biokovo and Krka.
Thank you for complimenting our restaurant offer. I will also like to refer to, what I believe was oversight or unfortunate misunderstanding with front desk associate. Our staff is trained according to highest Starwood standards and the only way to communicate with the guest is with politeness and professionalism. I do apologize for any inconvenience, but I can assure you mentioned must have been nothing more than just a misunderstanding.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back should your ways bring you to Split again.


Sincerely yours,

Mirjana Simunic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 weeks at the end of September 13, very smart hotel, rooms are very nice and comfortable with plasma tv. Hotel is abit isolated from split center and will cost around £15 in a cab.
Staff were ok never really put themselves out, hotel bar is quite expensive also food.
The swimming pool is very small for the size of the hotel but it has it's own beach which is really nice

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank paulyandnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirjana S, Manager at Le Meridien Lav Split, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear paulyandnelly,
You are most kind for taking time to write your review.
I am glad to read you found our hotel to be smart and comfortable. Our location 8km from Split center helps us provide peace and relaxing environment worth of the title “Hotel and SPA resort”. Conveniently, we have a shuttle bus service running the whole season and with very reasonable prices.
It is nice to read you enjoyed our pool and beach. Our pool, because it is so inviting, sometimes seems to be a bit insufficient for everyone who will like to enjoy it. That is why our beach, spreading just several meters below our pool, takes the experience to the new level.
I hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again.
We would be more than glad to welcome you again.

Best regards,
Mirjana Simunic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kranj
Level Contributor
90 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Been there several times.Rooms are comfortable, spaceious.
Variety of breakfasts and dinners wide.Sometimes they bring Michelin star chefs as their guest cook.
I like Lav marina which is beside the hotel, were we had sometimes parked our boats.They have also kid's care.
Shuttles are organized, so you can easily go to City centre.

Room Tip: junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ales A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirjana S, Manager at Le Meridien Lav Split, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Ales A,

You are most kind for taking time to write your impressions of our hotel. It is always nice to read we have met our guests' expectations in many ways, but also succeeded to invite you for more than one stay and to make each stay a special one.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards,

Mirjana Simunic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We spent a weekend in this lovely though busy resort in July 2013. Great food, good gym facilities, great views from the hotel bedroom; beautiful coastline and swimming in the sea. The wardrobes in the cupboard did not have sufficient shelving space which made it difficult to keep our clothes. The bar staff were attentive; the concierge and other waiting staff were poor (we almost did not get our flight back as the car we had booked through the concierge was not confirmed with the taxi driver!). Location to the city was quite a distance but they had a good shuttle service into the city which worked very well for us.

Room Tip: sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirjana S, Manager at Le Meridien Lav Split, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Valerie D,

Thank you very much for your reaview!

It is nice to read you found our hotel lovely and comfortable and you enjoyed our food, gym facilities and our most famous views spreading from almost every corner of our resort. Thank you for complimenting our staff. I can assure you our associates pay attention to every detail in planning transfers and other services, so mentioned must have been just an unfortunate coincidence.

I hope your was will bring you back to Croatia and we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Mirjana Simunic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Beautiful resort, few "car minutes" from Split.
Food, stuff, wellness with pool, comfortable views, everything is ok.
Tasty cappuccino is the best in Marina, with nice view on island Brac.
And beautiful piano bar is also worth to visit.

Room Tip: Ask for room vith a view on sea or marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirjana S, Manager at Le Meridien Lav Split, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Peter T,

I am so glad to read how much you enjoyed our resort and I sincerely hope you will come back to experience our food, wellness, views at least one more time.

We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Sincerely,

Mirjana Simunic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Podstrana
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Split
0.4 mi away
Hotel Split
Hotel Split
#2 of 8 in Podstrana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
22.8 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#3 of 8 in Podstrana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
4.2 mi away
Dioklecijan Hotel & Residence
16.9 mi away
Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Lav Split? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Lav Split

Property: Le Meridien Lav Split
Address: Grljevacka 2A, Podstrana 21311, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Podstrana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Podstrana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Lav Split 5*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embark on a journey of coastal discovery. Found on a pristine part of the coast and featuring emerald clear waters a stone’s throw away from Split, the Le Méridien Lav’s unique location invites guests to easily explore the imposing Dalmatian coast stopping every few kilometers to admire scenic towns and villages including those of Trogir, Omiš, Solin (Salona) and Makarska as well as the nature parks of Biokovo (St Juraj) and Krka – all within an hour’s drive from the hotel.MOVE! A resort like no other in the region, Le Méridien Lav Split offers unparalleled facilities for those looking for action-packed travel. Energize your mind and body with an early morning jog along the beach or play away in some of the resort's numerous sport facilities (tennis courts, tennis, beach volley, boules, free climbing wall, archery, diving, water sports, yachting, cycling, wellness club ) Large superior and deluxe rooms and family suites are perfectly sized to accommodate two adults and up to two children. The Penguin Club offers a safe, educational and entertaining experience for the kids. Club's fully qualified nursing staff will keep busy their inquisitive mind! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Lav Split reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Lav Split Hotel Podstrana
Le Meridien Podstrana
Podstrana Le Meridien
Le Meridien Lav Split Croatia/Podstrana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing