We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent 5 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Meridien Lav Split
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Podstrana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

rooms were spacious, pool and beach great, great view, great restaurants in hotel also. breakfast was good , nothing special but it was enough of choice for anyone.
staff was great, service really was fawless

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirjana S, Manager at Le Meridien Lav Split, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear John L,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! It is beautiful to read you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Mirjana Simunic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,744)
There are newer reviews for Le Meridien Lav Split
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

721 - 727 of 1,745 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

Very nice hotel in Split, Croatia. Went with family in My 2014. Very attentive and helpful staff. Though the rooms are spacious and we had two with balconies facing the ocean and outstanding views the hotel can't be described as luxurious. It had more of an upmarket Holiday Inn feel to it. However, the sumptuous breakfast spread on the terrace with breath taking views of the bay and Split was outstanding. The hotel formed part of four buildings with a Casino and had excellent parking facilities. The only minor irritation was the constant influx of coaches disgorging hordes of tourists. The hotel had a nice beach with a marina where the hotel had its own fleet of yachts ranging from the average to the uber luxury kind that could be rented out.

Room Tip: If you pay in advance for your stay you get great rates from Starwood Hotels and ask for rooms with...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pankaj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirjana S, Manager at Le Meridien Lav Split, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear pnmehta,

You are most kind for taking time to write your lovely review of our hotel! We are glad to read you enjoyed your stay, especially our views that adorn almost all our facilities: rooms, bars, restaurant, even the fitness center. Thank you for complimenting our breakfast! We are proud to present our guests a breakfast with Le Meridien signature and a local touch.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Best regards,

Mirjana Simunic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights 'off-season' - the hotel is pricey, parking not included. We did not eat at the hotel because of this. The pool and beach access are very nice - and walking the surrounding area is safe and easy. Indoor pool + sauna + fitness room beautiful - many great views from terraces.
In the beds I found a couple hairs, and the pillows and mattress not the most comfortable. We were given a 'front entrance' view - many rooms with ocean view were probably nicer! Staff were helpful, all in all a great stay. Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarasoda27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirjana S, Manager at Le Meridien Lav Split, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Sarasoda27,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and would come back in a heartbeat. We are always creating new experiences for our guests to discover all our property has to offer, but also our attractive surroundings, our islands and coastline with lot of small monumental towns and villages.
We hope you will come back soon and re-discover all our beauties.

Sincerely,

Mirjana Simunic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is a hotel that I would definitely stay at again. The highlights are the amazing views onto the marina and coastline, the food particularly the breakfast buffet and the outdoor infinity pool. The biggest positive however is the friendliness of the front of house staff who were outstanding in their helpfulness. This is the best place to stay in Podstrana in my opinion and a great base to explore Split.

P.S. If you only visit one restaurant in the Marina, make sure you try Leonis as the food and service are some the best I have ever had.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KushiroBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirjana S, Manager at Le Meridien Lav Split, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear KushiroBoy,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! It is really inspiring you enjoyed your stay with us this much and most of all that you found our front of the house staff to be attentive, friendly and helpful. We are very proud of all of them and their effort to provide our guests with highest service and a memorable experience.
We hope to see you again very soon.

Warmest regards,

Mirjana Simunic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I was hoping for a luxurious hotel as the Le Meridien name is famed for providing, however I was disappointed with the rooms that were given to us. They seemed to be poorly designed and out dated. I knew that it was not located close to split (7 km away). I was hoping for better. The staff was not very personable for a "5 star hotel". I would not recommend it, I found out that this property is only managed by Le Merdien and is over 40 years old. The locals all say that this is the nicest hotel in Split, I think I will try a smaller hotel with a better location on my next trip to Split or perhaps the Radisson Blu, which is new and much closer to town.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here, stay in a upgraded room, they will punish you if you don't pay a...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dougzihua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirjana S, Manager at Le Meridien Lav Split, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Dougzihua,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

We appreciate your constructive comment very much and it will certainly help us improve and grow as a property.
It was with regret to read your experience with us did not meet your expectations.
I sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back and regain your trust.


Kind regards,

Mirjana Simunic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I have stayed in many 5 star hotels across the world and this hotel would be lucky to gain 4 stars. As an example - anyone who has stayed at the 5 star royal Meriden in dubai - this hotel is a world apart!!!

I would not be bothered to write a review unless being constructive so I will just give my plus and negatives points and we will see if the management takes it on board. Feedback of my comments are welcome if not encouraged.

Good points:
The pool area and surroundings were well maintained and clean
Gabrielle the pool boy was very welcoming and helpful everyday
Lady on the desk who greeted us on arrival was very pleasant
The view in the deluxe room is beautiful.
The house keeping lady was very forthcoming and friendly
Leonis rest! ( although expensive! But worth it amazing quality and atmosphere.

Bad points:
Outdoor pool is freezing!
A few of the front desk staff have bad attitude when asking them simple questions, more often than not their answers were fluffy or not true. Let me expand...
The entertainment system ( to watch a movie) was not working on arrival so I called up a few days into the holiday. " It will be working in 4-5 days". It is 10 days into our holiday and I just called and they said it is not working and by the sounds of it is not likely to be working soon. The concierge said" sorry sir I would have to speak to the IT manager". We have a young baby and would love to watch a movie at night.
The menu at the pool for lunch has about 6 very basic choices so I asked the bar tender, when will the menu change for high season? " on the first of June sir" it is the 3rd of June tomorrow and she promised me it would change mañana. I won't hold my breath.
"When will the casino be open?" Answer was 1st June. Then when not opened on the 1st they just replied "out of our control". So why did you tell me 1st June then??
Very expensive: not particularly for the room but for the food and drink. The cocktails are an absolute joke. Paying at least £6-7 for a cocktail in Croatia you would expect to get a whole glass. In all honesty make no mistake when I say three gulps for every one I had! £2 a gulp. Absolute nonsense. Most of the glasses were made up of ice. Get a grip either lower the price or increase the measures. Surely if someone was taking notice of how many people were drinking the bar drinks they would take that into consideration as most of the guests were going over to the local supermarket to stock up!
The hotel is so far out that we spent a lot on taxis which were generally 120 kuna into town. On the 1st of June! ...The shuttle bus started but horrifically we were charged for this service which I think should have been gratis.
Breakfast on the first few days was good but 10 days deep there has been no variations
One bottle of 500 ml water was delivered for the 3 of us to share each day
Aircon - why can't you set it to a specific temp?
Management: please remove the piece of tissue paper outside the lift on level 2 that has been there for 5 days- attention to detail - shocking

Summary to improve things:
- staff should say and know only FACTS to avoid disappointment
- improve value
- improve diversity
-cater for the fact that the hotel is out of town. ( shuttle bus free and running even in low season)
-don't call a room deluxe when there is nothing deluxe about it.
- attention to detail.
- green choice vouchers should be able to be redeemed anywhere in hotel.

Room Tip: The marina view rooms are lovely. And doesn't make ur feel so much like your. A big high rise co...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirjana S, Manager at Le Meridien Lav Split, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Nik D,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in Split and for taking time to write your constructive feedback.

We very much appreciate your comment and it will certainly help us improve and grow as a property.
We are aware of some shortcomings and that is why your comment has already been considered seriously on our management meetings in order to implement actions that will improve our performances and make our guests feel more comfortable and recognized.

I would like to invite you to contact me directly for any further discussions on info-split@lemeridien.com

I sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Have stayed at the hotel during the company event 14-17 May and was really pleased with amazing views and warm welcome from personnel -- especially Danijela from bar @spa-zone: professional and friendly approach. Good job!

Ekaterina, Moscow

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Gagarinscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirjana S, Manager at Le Meridien Lav Split, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Gagarinscat,

It is truly inspiring to read you kind comment, especially your compliment to our Danijela! We are very proud of our each associate giving their best in making our guests feel special and recognized.
I sincerely hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again and to enjoy our views, this time maybe during a holiday trip.

Kind regards,

Mirjana SImunic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Podstrana
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Split
0.5 mi away
Hotel Split
Hotel Split
#2 of 8 in Podstrana
259 reviews
22.7 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel Park
Hotel Park
#11 of 56 in Split
226 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Lemongarden
Hotel Lemongarden
#1 of 1 in Sutivan
70 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#3 of 8 in Podstrana
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Lav Split? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Lav Split

Address: Grljevacka 2A, Podstrana, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Podstrana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Podstrana
Price Range: £81 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Lav Split 5*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embark on a journey of coastal discovery. Found on a pristine part of the coast and featuring emerald clear waters a stone’s throw away from Split, the Le Méridien Lav’s unique location invites guests to easily explore the imposing Dalmatian coast stopping every few kilometers to admire scenic towns and villages including those of Trogir, Omiš, Solin (Salona) and Makarska as well as the nature parks of Biokovo (St Juraj) and Krka – all within an hour’s drive from the hotel.MOVE! A resort like no other in the region, Le Méridien Lav Split offers unparalleled facilities for those looking for action-packed travel. Energize your mind and body with an early morning jog along the beach or play away in some of the resort's numerous sport facilities (tennis courts, tennis, beach volley, boules, free climbing wall, archery, diving, water sports, yachting, cycling, wellness club ) Large superior and deluxe rooms and family suites are perfectly sized to accommodate two adults and up to two children. The Penguin Club offers a safe, educational and entertaining experience for the kids. Club's fully qualified nursing staff will keep busy their inquisitive mind! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Meridien Lav Split reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Lav Split Hotel Podstrana
Le Meridien Podstrana
Podstrana Le Meridien
Le Meridien Lav Split Croatia/Podstrana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing