We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not sure whether it merits 5 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Meridien Lav Split
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Podstrana
Certificate of Excellence
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good, but not sure whether it merits 5 stars”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This was our final accommodation during a tour of southern Croatia. After our previous hotels, Le Meridien's reception area felt more like an airport terminal. The staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful, and our room was adequate and spotlessly clean. However, the air-conditioning system had a mind of its own, and we never managed to get a single station in any language on our TV
- the World Cup was on!
This is a large hotel, and finding your way about, and which lifts to use, took a little time. It's in a great location, with easy access to a beach and a marina with bars and restaurants, which were good. Breakfast could be taken inside or outside on the terrace, with a wide variety of food and as much as you could eat. Again, the staff there were very helpful and courteous.
We used the shuttle bus to Split only once and would have liked to see a more comprehensive service provided by the hotel. Thereafter we used local taxis, which cost us approx 120 Kuna each way.
All in all, Le Meridien Lav has got a lot going for it, and with more attention to the smaller details, could well merit its 5 star rating.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myfanwy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirjana S, Manager at Le Meridien Lav Split, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Myfanwy2,

You are most kind for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in Split and for taking time to share your review!

It is nice to read you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for your compliments, we are especially proud of our staff that gives their utmost in providing highest service quality.
Your kind constructive comments will be shared with our management and closely considered in order to improve and evolve as a property.

We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you again very soon!

Best regards,

Mirjana Simunic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    853
    553
    160
    54
    35
See reviews for
412
686
53
201
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dallas, texas
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

A fantastic property with a fantastic staff. The entrance to the resort gives one a view of the water beyond and gives a feeling of relaxation as soon as you enter. Every staff member greeted us with a smile and a demeanor that exuded service and professionalism. The room was very comfortable and worthy of a five star resort. Do not miss the breakfast buffet--every item tempting and delicious and the service was impeccable. Any request was attended to immediately.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texascouple21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirjana S, Manager at Le Meridien Lav Split, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear texascouple21,

Thank you very much for your review!
It was with joy to read how much you enjoyed our property and our service exceeded your expectations in every sense.
All your kind compliments will be shared with our team as we find it to be most inspiring to have such satisfied guests. It is our biggest reward.

We will be more than glad to welcome you again to our property very soon!

Sincerely,

Mirjana Simunic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I had the opportunity of living at LAV Meridien for two months during a working period in Croatia. The place is amazing and rooms are perfect. The SPA is also very well built with Sauna, Turkish Bath, swimming pools ad a very good fitness center. The breakfast is awesome and all waiters are very pleased to hep you. At the marina area you will also find very good restaurants with awesome see food, pasta and grill.

Room Tip: All rooms are at the same good level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eduardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirjana S, Manager at Le Meridien Lav Split, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Eduardo M,

It is beautiful to read you enjoyed your two months stay with us! We do always give our best in making our guests feel relaxed and comfortable with us, just like staying at their home away from home.
All your kind words of praise will be shared with our associates as a great motivation.
I sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again very soon!

Best regards,

Mirjana Simunic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband and I were here as part of a trip through Croatia and it was a very welcome and relaxing stop. The ladies at the concierge we lovely and very helpful. We needed information about the next part of our trip and they got us everything we needed. The pool is very nice but a little cold. We ate at two of the on-site restaurants and they were both very good but a little on the pricy side. It is a little ways out of town but we had a car so it was not a problem. Our room was excellent! Very clean, spacious and a great view. Would definitely come back here!

Room Tip: We were on the top floor in a corner room overlooking the pool and ocean coast. It was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MVSmvs94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirjana S, Manager at Le Meridien Lav Split, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear MVSmvs94,

You have described our hotel just how we would like to present it, "...a welcome and relaxing.." hotel on your journey of coastal discovery.
It is lovely to read how much you enjoyed it with us and that our staff exceeded your expectations with their service.
We sincerely hope you will visit us again very soon!

Best regards,

Mirjana Simunic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This has been the second time I came to Split for work reasons, and both times I have been lodged at LeMeridien hotel. The rooms were clean and met the standards I would expect from a holiday resort, and the meeting rooms were always very well handled by the helpful staff. The facilities are absolutely brilliant and the cocktail bar, superb for a relax time after the day. Food? Great variety in the buffets, and at breakfast time, Meri, the nicest and more helpful waitress in the whole city made the mornings a charm. Definitely, I would recommend a stay at the hotel, no matter if for work or for pleasure.

Room Tip: If possible, choose the marina-oriented rooms, beautiful sunsets if you are in the room, and an over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ant_0036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirjana S, Manager at Le Meridien Lav Split, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Ant_0036,

It si really wonderful to read about your experience with us! Thank you very much for all your kind compliments and words of praise, especially for our Meri. She is outstanding in every way and we are very proud of her.
We sincerely hope you will visit us again very soon, this time for pleasure and explore our hotel and our destination even more.

Warmest regards,

Mirjana Simunic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We selected this hotel because we wanted a quiet hotel. We had read hotels in the city can be noisy at night due nightlife in the city. We stayed three nights. Our room over looked the marina. The first night there was a loose cable hanging from the mast of a sailboat outside our room. The wind banged the cable against the aluminum mast all night making it difficult to sleep. I brought it to the attention of reception. We did not hear anything the remaining nights. The next morning a person at the reception desk inquired if the problem had been resolved. That is what I call great service.

The only negative was the shuttle service schedule into Split. No complaints about the service itself (40 kuna round trip) we used it each day for travel into Split. The shuttle runs into town on the hour and returns from Split to the hotel on the half hour. The schedule to Split is 9:00, 10:00,11:00 a.m., 3:00, 6:00 and 9:00 p.m. We found the afternoon and evening times inconvenient. We would take a taxi back from Split (120 - 140 kuna).

We found the hotel restaurant prices to be very expensive. Fish dinner (first class whatever that means) was 470 kuna (second class was approximately 350 kuna). We had several excellent fish dinners in town for 125 kuna. We could take the shuttle in, have dinner, take a taxi back and still spend less than dining at the hotel.

Over all an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirjana S, Manager at Le Meridien Lav Split, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear D B,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for taking time to write your lovely review!
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found our service to meet the 5 star hotel standards and our staff to be attentive. We follow closely all our guests requests and wishes are met and our each guest feels special and valued with us. We very much appreciate your constructive comments and will consider them in order to grow as a property.

We hope you will visit us again very soon.

Kind regards,

Mirjana Simunic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

I went to Le Meridien Lav in Split with a friend for my 30th Birthday. The hotel was fantastic. All staff seemed friendly and eager to help. Although we didn't have a sea view room we could still see the sea and mountains in a nice quiet room at the side of the hotel. In fact this was probably nicer than at the front which I can imagine might get noisy. When we got back to the room on the evening of my birthday I discovered an amazing birthday cake had been left in the room for me, courtesy of the manager and with a letter. I've never experienced a hotel doing this so I was truly touched. Another example of the excellent customer service was when my friend and I got up a little late and couldn't find any free sunloungers. A really helpful staff member by the beach approached us without us prompting and not only helped us find a spot, moved some loungers together and also fetched an umbrella for some shade!

My only very very small con is in relation to housekeeping. We only had 1 bottle of water between us and on some days none at all. Also a few other small inconsistencies with the housekeeping like coffee cups not replaced and no new tea/coffee, but nothing too bad.

Overall I would recommend this hotel as the first choice for anyone visiting Split or Croatia as a whole. Superb experience all round, and thank you for the cake! :)

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sythe20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirjana S, Manager at Le Meridien Lav Split, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear sythe20,

It is wonderful to read how much you enjoyed our hospitality. Thank you for sharing your lovely review!
It is certainly our greatest reward to have such a satisfied guest and we love the fact we managed to make your special day a memorable one. Your constructive comments will help us in our never ending effort to grow and evolve.
We hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards,

Mirjana Simunic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Podstrana
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Split
0.4 mi away
Hotel Split
Hotel Split
#2 of 8 in Podstrana
243 reviews
22.8 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel Park
Hotel Park
#20 of 55 in Split
184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#3 of 8 in Podstrana
141 reviews
16.9 mi away
Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Lav Split? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Lav Split

Property: Le Meridien Lav Split
Address: Grljevacka 2A, Podstrana 21311, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Podstrana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Podstrana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Lav Split 5*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embark on a journey of coastal discovery. Found on a pristine part of the coast and featuring emerald clear waters a stone’s throw away from Split, the Le Méridien Lav’s unique location invites guests to easily explore the imposing Dalmatian coast stopping every few kilometers to admire scenic towns and villages including those of Trogir, Omiš, Solin (Salona) and Makarska as well as the nature parks of Biokovo (St Juraj) and Krka – all within an hour’s drive from the hotel.MOVE! A resort like no other in the region, Le Méridien Lav Split offers unparalleled facilities for those looking for action-packed travel. Energize your mind and body with an early morning jog along the beach or play away in some of the resort's numerous sport facilities (tennis courts, tennis, beach volley, boules, free climbing wall, archery, diving, water sports, yachting, cycling, wellness club ) Large superior and deluxe rooms and family suites are perfectly sized to accommodate two adults and up to two children. The Penguin Club offers a safe, educational and entertaining experience for the kids. Club's fully qualified nursing staff will keep busy their inquisitive mind! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Priceline, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Lav Split reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Lav Split Hotel Podstrana
Le Meridien Podstrana
Podstrana Le Meridien
Le Meridien Lav Split Croatia/Podstrana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing