We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of Villa Luketa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Luketa
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Podstrana
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This was my first visit to Croatia and I loved it. Except beautiful nature we had great hosts. Family at Vila Luketa was very helpful and nice. Apartment has a great view and is on very good spot: close to City of Split, but in quiet village Podstrana. We were exploring the area and had really good time. Most important for me is that apartment was very clean and luminous. I really felt as home there. I definitely recommend!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Tarja L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

We have just returned after a fantastic week at Villa Luketa. After reading mixed reviews, we decided to go with instinct and booked this for a base for seeing Croatia. The apartment was clean, hosts warm and welcoming and is very well equiped. Podstrana is not as developed as some other towns but we found everything we needed here and loved our stay. The views from balcony are gorgeous with sunsets and walking down to beach is easy. There was a great selection of places to eat along the coastline, if you walk left and just keep walking down to the marina and beyond. For a more local drinking hole there is a great little bar on beach which was a lovely evening spent with locals and watching sunset.
If you want a base for your holiday in this part of Croatia then you will not be disappointed by Villa Luketa. You can see that Podstrana is up and coming and has plenty to offer.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Allie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Stayed there in low season this September and I really liked the place! It was very clean and comfortable apartment. Beach is very close, just down the stairs. It's a pebble beach but I personally prefer pebble.
Podstrana is very small place so it is very quiet but larger towns are very close. Split is just few kilometres away, and there are bus lines to Split every half an hour or so...
From Split we went to one day trip to Trogir. On the other side is very nice small town Omis and river Cetina where we went rafting. So, actually, you can have nice quiet and peaceful vacation in Podstrana and when you get bored you can explore areas that are very close. So no chance that you can get bored.
And the weather was perfect, warm but not too hot.
Owners were very nice and very helpful. Specially Ivo who explained everything about history of the area and informed as abut life today.
The thing I enjoyed the most is watching sunsets from the beach or from the terrace. It was so beautiful and stunning.
I really recommend this place for vacation, I had such a good time there.

Viele liebe Grüsse aus Bern! :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Heike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed here early September and this place was perfect for our holiday. We had a phenonemal sea view from our balcony , and it's a short stroll down the steps to beautiful beaches. There's some great bars and restaurants around, and Split is very accessible by bus or car. We ate at the Hotel Split nearby which was lovely, for a couple of nights, as well as Fabio's pizzeria . I would call the first one romantic but Fabio's is more 'functional' with nice pizza and bit more buzzy. Would recommend using the beach as your means of walking around since the road is very busy without good pedestrian paths. Also, perhaps buy some beach walking shoes since it's all pebble beaches. Overall, such a stunning place to holiday and an amazing week. Would love to go back. The owners (Ivo , Damir and their sister) were very helpful and great .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeresaM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Villa Luketa is an apartment block situated on the main road into Split. The accommodation is a family business run by 2 brothers and a sister. We paid one of the owners Ivo 35 euro and he collected us from the airport which is very reasonable, and also great to have door to door service after traveling. On the journey to the apartment he gave us a history of the area which was extremely detailed and told us where we should visit. He was very informative and knowledgeable, better than some tour guides we have seen! He is also very proud of his country's heritage which is so nice.
The apartment we had had one bedroom with a separate bathroom and kitchen diner, it was very clean. We had a beautiful terrace on one side of the apartment overlooking the bay, and a smaller balcony on the bedroom side which also had a sea view. Walking down some steep steps and you arrived on the beach.
The beach is very quiet and pebbly, looks all man made and has some concrete platforms. It is not the most attractive beach, but it is surrounded by pine trees and has some nice shaded areas which are much needed in July and August temperatures. Walking left or right takes you to some nice cafe bars for a lunchtime drink.
Walking left takes you to the bay area of the Le Meridien Lav 5 star hotel, very beautiful with many millionaire yachts in the marina, but not for us as it was very busy at this time of year and we preferred the quiet of the beach on our doorstep.Still nice to see though.
As the apartment is on the main road, it is much easier to walk along the beach, and is much safer as the Croatian drivers will not give pedestrians any leeway and walking the road which has no footpath in parts can be quite hairy.
The advantage of the main road location though is that all public transport is on your doorstep, and you can take buses directly into Split to visit or make connections to places such as Trogir, or in the other direction to Makarska or Omis.
Podstrana is very small, but there are many restaurants and bars on the beach, just remember not to put on your best shoes!
There are several small supermarkets on the main road and bakeries and a greengrocer and takeaway.
We chose early on to take a taxi to the City Centre One Shopping Centre for 100 kuna where there is a huge Spar so we stocked up on most things we needed for two weeks and bought fresh locally.
There were some fab restaurants in Podstana,favourites of ours were Los Amigos and Fabios Pizzeria, but we also enjoyed walking around the road to the little bay of Stoborec where there were also more bars and eating places.
Ivo and his family were warm and friendly and gave us so much help and information. Damir, the other brother also sings in some of the local cafe bars, he is a really nice guy and he has an amazing voice. when we saw him, he was singing traditional Croatian songs so we did not understand but what we heard was lovely.
The only thing I was disappointed about with this apartment is that it was not cleaned in the 2 weeks we were there and we washed our own sheets. I thought this was most unusual, but not having visited Croatia before, I did not know what to expect. There is a sign on the washing machine saying it is out of order, but when we asked the owner to use another one, he told us it is fine to use so that was a little strange.
to be honest, we found washing our own towels and sheets little hardship considering the two week stay only cost 700 euro so we really did not mind, we just did not expect it. We were given fresh towels after one week though.
The highlight of our holiday has to be a trip to Krka Waterfalls which are just stunning. You can book this trip at the agent in Hotel Split a couple of doors down for 390 kuna per person. We did look into doing this on public transport, but it seemed really difficult as it was quite remote so we were happy to go on an organised tour. The trip lasted 12 hours which included approx 5 hours of travel, but really worth it to sit back and enjoy the stunning coastal views. Krka is one of the most beautiful National Parks I have ever seen. The trip includes a visit to Roski Slap another gorgeous waterfall and a short visit to the town of Sibenik so you do take a lot in. Split itself is also awesome and has a lovely atmosphere at night with live music on the promenade and lots of street entertainers. Trogir and Omis are also lovely quaint towns worth a visit.
Croatia is a beautiful place, the people are friendly and we found it to be much cheaper than other places in Europe, whether this will change as they have recently joined the Euro, I am not sure, but can see it is up ans coming.
I would definitely recommend Villa Luketa for couples.
A lovely chilled out place, thankyou to the family, your accommodation made a beautiful location for our first trip to Croatia.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank chickydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I really can not recommend this place highly enough. We arranged a transfer from the airport and Ivo the owner met us. On the way he told us all about the area and the history of Split, really informative. When we arrived at the apartment it was already quite dark but we could see the sea and the lights in the background. The apartment we had was very spacious, had everything you could need and more in it and the bed was huge (and comfortable). It also had a large terrace overlooking the sea towards Split and a smaller balcony on the other side. We ate in Fabio's on the first night as the supermarket was closed when we got there (due to a 2 hour flight delay). Food was really good, wine good quality and cheap and service excellent. The following morning we were blown away by the view from the terrace. Having breakfast overlooking the Adriatic with far reaching views towards Split and the islands beyond was an unforgettable experience. The area is well served with ATM's, restaurants and bars. We also bought provisions from the local supermarket and ate in as it meant we could enjoy the terrace more. The area is fabulous for walking with lots to see and a nice cooling sea breeze. It is well served by buses but as we like to walk we didn't use them. There is a nice coastal walk into Split, again with fab views but bear in mind it is a 16 mile round trip back to the apartment but there are some fab beaches that you wouldn't see from the bus so it's perhaps worth walking there and getting the bus back. All in all, I would say to anybody this area and especially the Villa Luketa is a must. Lovely local food and seafood, nice local wine, lovely friendly people, gorgeous beaches and the clearest sea I've ever seen. Ivo and his family are really lovely too, always a smile and a hello when you see them. Please give this a try, you will not be disappointed. PS: A must is a trip to Stara Podstrana. A lovely little village with lots of old ruins. Very picturesque and amazing views. A steep climb (sea level to over 1200 feet) if you're walking but there is a small bus which goes to the top.

Room Tip: We were in Room A6 and that had a terrace with sun all day and a balcony where you could get shade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JimandDavid_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We had read in quite a few places that rooms advertised as 'hotels' were in fact rooms in people's homes! We were a bit concerned that we'd not enjoy Villa Luketa, but it was fantastic!!
It wasn't 5 star, but considering the price, it was clean, had a great layout and all you needed was provided.
The balcony was amazing, we had a beautiful sunset right over the mountains and water every night. There was a bus stop 50yrds away, and supermarkets within walking distance.
The sea was 50m away and such clear blue. Not a sandy beach, but still beautiful. There was a beach bar, jet ski hire and pancakes there also.
We'd recommend it every time. The owners were around if there were problems, but not intrusive.
I can't recommend this place enough for location and service.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank BeccaAmbrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Podstrana hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Split
Hotel Split
#2 of 8 in Podstrana
267 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel San Antonio
Hotel San Antonio
#8 of 8 in Podstrana
106 reviews
2 mi away
Villa Jerkan
Villa Jerkan
#6 of 8 in Podstrana
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#3 of 8 in Podstrana
157 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Johnny
Villa Johnny
#5 of 8 in Podstrana
32 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Lav Split
Le Meridien Lav Split
#1 of 8 in Podstrana
1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Luketa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Luketa

Address: Strozanacka 48 | Dalmatia, Podstrana 21312, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Podstrana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Podstrana
Price Range: £37 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Luketa 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Villa Luketa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Luketa Croatia/Podstrana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing