We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful base for exploring Split, but you need a car”
Review of Aparthotel Stipe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aparthotel Stipe
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This was my first time in Croatia and we were looking for a nice small hotel for me, my partner and my friend. This hotel proved to be perfect, apart from the lack of privacy in the room.

Location
The hotel is a nightmare to find. It is not signposted from the road and we spent an hour talking to various locals and family in the UK with maps before chancing upon it.
It is close to the busy coast road, but it is high above the road and traffic noise was not a problem. That also made it convenient for getting around. It is just 10 minutes drive south of central Split, but it would be too far to walk.
There is a beach nearby, but we could never find a way down to it. Instead we drove five minutes up the road to Stobrec, a lovely stony beach with free parking and nice swimming.

The Room
We ideally wanted two rooms - one for my partner and myself and one for my friend - but the cost was too high. Instead we got one large room, which would sleep four. That meant we had a double bed and two single beds, split by an archway, but there was no door between them. There was very little privacy.
The room was very clean, with spare towels and duvets. It had two balconies with views over the mountains. It also had rails for drying swimming clothes and outside chairs and tables to sit on.
The bathroom was small, but suitable for our needs, with a good shower.
There was a small kitchen area in the room, with a fridge, sink, electric hob and kettle and also all the tools needed for a basic meal (cutlery, plates, saucepan and sieve).
The room also had a safe for the valuables and an air conditioning unit
The room was very quiet at night. We never heard anything from other rooms or from neighbouring properties and we all slept well.

The Service
The service was amazing. Due to a delayed flight and getting lost we did not arrive until 11pm and we feared we would be sleeping in our car. But the hotel manageress answered the intercom and said the room was unlocked and we could check in the next morning.
She was very helpful, giving us advice about where to visit and checking the times and costs of ferries for us. Her English was also perfect, which really helped
The room was cleaned in the mornings, but it seemed the cleaner came around very early (9am). As we were on holiday we were rarely out of the room that early, so only had it cleaned once, but it was done to a good standard. If we were still in the room, the cleaner would leave a new toilet roll and towels outside the room for us.

Parking
All parking was at the front of the hotel, with beautiful views over the sea. However the spaces are small and maneuvering was tricky (and we only had a very small car). There were always spaces, but they were not always easy to reach. Actually getting out of the car park onto the main road was also tricky, due to the busy road, the blind corner and the steep slope.

Breakfast
No food was included in the room price. Breakfast was served between 8am and 10am in the hotel garden (which was very nice) and cost 39 kuna - about £4.50. It consisted of cereal, juice, tea, coffee, yogurts, fruit, ham, cheese and bread and was very filling.

The Bottom Line
This was a lovely little apartment complex, with great service and lovely rooms. The price was very reasonable and it is in a lovely location. I would happily go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guernseygirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2012

Highly recommended - we stayed here twice as we liked it so much. Rooms were spotlessly clean, staff helpful and friendly and it's just a 5 minute walk to the beach, with restaurants, cafes and a few shops nearby. Thoughtful extra touches like coffee provided in the rooms were much appreciated!

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are well worth the extra £5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nradmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012 via mobile

Just returned after a week in this hotel/apartments. Really good value for money - rooms are big and modern with lots of storage space. Good sized fridge and nice bathroom. I would have liked a sea view from our room but we knew we wouldn't get that as we didn't pay extra for it. We self catered so didn't have the breakfast there. Only things were that the neighbours dog was a pain and that breakfast prep could be quite loud in the mornings as the reception was just outside our room.
Other than that, very nice, clean, quiet and you can be yourself.
Although, Podstrana is sort of in the middle of nowhere so wouldn't recommend staying here without a car!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebbar1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Staid here for 2 nights in a room with a mountain view. The apartment was big, it include beds for 4 people. It has a kitchen and bathroom is quite big and comfortable. Also it has a terrace, but it was not a terrace bud a part of yard. The mountains view was on the reception and breakfast terrace. As we slept with open window in the mornings quite early was noise from breakfast service.

The quality of sleep was average. Second night mosquitoes were disturbing us. And unfortunately there wasn't thing what deter mosquitoes.

The beach is nice and close but you need to cross main street.
Possible what sea view room is better.

The breakfast was simple. Include bread, sausages and cheese, jam and yogurt. And the juice was disgusting. But it was included in the price.

Next time I'll chose something different.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ingulinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Stayed one night here before travelling on to our villa. It was spotlessly clean, well equipped, welcoming and just what we needed. Breakfast was generous and good, and the staff we dealt with were friendly and helpful. Don't think I'd want to spend too much time in Podstrana itself - bit of a semi-constructed concrete jungle - but great base for exploring. Plenty of restaurant options there, and a couple of shops, so an easy place to be.

Room Tip: Balcony sea view rooms are slightly smaller than those without balcony. Rooms without sea view proba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

The room is clean and tidy. Since it is sort of apartment for families, it includes a little open kitchen in the room. The room is spacious and comfortable. The most important is the price is very reasonable. The staff is very nice and friendly. The only shortcomings is difficult to find. We arrived in dark. It's difficult for us to see the road directions for the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SiuGut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Clean hotel with very good service! Perfect location. Breakfast is good. BUT the neighbours dog kept us awake two nights (out of seven)!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DKMette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Podstrana hotels
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Lav Split
Le Meridien Lav Split
#1 of 8 in Podstrana
1,784 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Johnny
Villa Johnny
#5 of 8 in Podstrana
32 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Jerkan
Villa Jerkan
#6 of 8 in Podstrana
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Split
Hotel Split
#2 of 8 in Podstrana
267 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pansion Zanic
Pansion Zanic
#1 of 87 in Podstrana
72 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Pinocchio
Villa Pinocchio
#1 of 33 in Podstrana
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Stipe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Stipe

Address: Grljevachka 3b, Podstrana 21311, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Podstrana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 87 Speciality Lodging in Podstrana
Price Range: £42 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aparthotel Stipe 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, elegantly furnished villa hotel located in Split-Podstrana only few kilometers from the ancient Diocletian palace offers its guests during the whole year an excellent accommodation in spacious and comfortable apartments with a large terrace and a sea-view. It is an ideal place for tourists as well as business people due to proximity of the city of Split and excellent traffic connections with Dalmatia and Dalmatian Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aparthotel Stipe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Stipe Croatia/Podstrana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing