We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Aparthotel Stipe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aparthotel Stipe
Kent
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place, good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We chose Stipe based on the value. Its a smart apartment, everything was clean and fairly modern. The balcony was large with 2 chairs, a table and a sofa, the view was nice over the ocean. The bed was comfy, but the blanket was rather small. Satellite TV was in the room, but all the channels were German (didn't matter much as we wasn't there to watch TV, but just a note for others).

The bathroom was clean and well stocked, but again the towels were on the small side. The kitchen was a 2 ring electric stove, large fridge (with small ice box), kettle, sink and some utensils. There was no sugar (loads of salt) and the coffee was ground (no way to filter it).

The location is okay, not too busy, not too quiet, with some good places to eat and a good bus network to Split. A car would be useful, but not necessary. The staff were helpful and the breakfast, although basic, was nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tgsm7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    13
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We spent 8 days here in August 2013.
There are no any sign of hotel when you enter Podstrana from Split so follow "Apartments Johnny" sign.
Parking is good but partially situated on the slope so be prepared for it and check you brakes. If you came late it can be busy.
We had appartment with sea viea and terrace. I would highly recommend to take sea view because sunsets are excellent.
Rooms are not big but it was enough for us. There was small kitchenette, with table and chairs on terrace (or, well, inside). There was safe box inside the room.
There were towels but extremely small and not so white as they could be.
There is very busy road nearby but we have not heard it in the room. There was only difficulty to cross this road when you go to the beach. Beach is in 5 minutes. Don't forget special shoes as stones are sharp there (as in many Croatia's beaches).
There are some small supermarkets near and big supermarket in Split (5 minutes drive).
Breakfast is not various but enough for the start of the day. Staff is nice and polite.
Restaurants nearby are a little bit busy and food is not so good there... so I could not recommend them. Anyway, there are not so many activities in Podstrana at all. It's just for quiet holiday.

Room Tip: Take rooms with terraces and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deniska336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Other than the difficulty finding it, even with a navigation guide in the car, I enjoyed my one night here. The room was clean, with a nice view. I wish there was better beach access, but I wasn't there for that anyway. The ladies there were very friendly, and helped get me settled. The room was plenty spacious. The refrigerator had a loud hum so I unplugged that for my night, but the air conditioner worked, and I enjoyed my time there.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unit312J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, CI
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

This was my first time in Croatia and we were looking for a nice small hotel for me, my partner and my friend. This hotel proved to be perfect, apart from the lack of privacy in the room.

Location
The hotel is a nightmare to find. It is not signposted from the road and we spent an hour talking to various locals and family in the UK with maps before chancing upon it.
It is close to the busy coast road, but it is high above the road and traffic noise was not a problem. That also made it convenient for getting around. It is just 10 minutes drive south of central Split, but it would be too far to walk.
There is a beach nearby, but we could never find a way down to it. Instead we drove five minutes up the road to Stobrec, a lovely stony beach with free parking and nice swimming.

The Room
We ideally wanted two rooms - one for my partner and myself and one for my friend - but the cost was too high. Instead we got one large room, which would sleep four. That meant we had a double bed and two single beds, split by an archway, but there was no door between them. There was very little privacy.
The room was very clean, with spare towels and duvets. It had two balconies with views over the mountains. It also had rails for drying swimming clothes and outside chairs and tables to sit on.
The bathroom was small, but suitable for our needs, with a good shower.
There was a small kitchen area in the room, with a fridge, sink, electric hob and kettle and also all the tools needed for a basic meal (cutlery, plates, saucepan and sieve).
The room also had a safe for the valuables and an air conditioning unit
The room was very quiet at night. We never heard anything from other rooms or from neighbouring properties and we all slept well.

The Service
The service was amazing. Due to a delayed flight and getting lost we did not arrive until 11pm and we feared we would be sleeping in our car. But the hotel manageress answered the intercom and said the room was unlocked and we could check in the next morning.
She was very helpful, giving us advice about where to visit and checking the times and costs of ferries for us. Her English was also perfect, which really helped
The room was cleaned in the mornings, but it seemed the cleaner came around very early (9am). As we were on holiday we were rarely out of the room that early, so only had it cleaned once, but it was done to a good standard. If we were still in the room, the cleaner would leave a new toilet roll and towels outside the room for us.

Parking
All parking was at the front of the hotel, with beautiful views over the sea. However the spaces are small and maneuvering was tricky (and we only had a very small car). There were always spaces, but they were not always easy to reach. Actually getting out of the car park onto the main road was also tricky, due to the busy road, the blind corner and the steep slope.

Breakfast
No food was included in the room price. Breakfast was served between 8am and 10am in the hotel garden (which was very nice) and cost 39 kuna - about £4.50. It consisted of cereal, juice, tea, coffee, yogurts, fruit, ham, cheese and bread and was very filling.

The Bottom Line
This was a lovely little apartment complex, with great service and lovely rooms. The price was very reasonable and it is in a lovely location. I would happily go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guernseygirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

Highly recommended - we stayed here twice as we liked it so much. Rooms were spotlessly clean, staff helpful and friendly and it's just a 5 minute walk to the beach, with restaurants, cafes and a few shops nearby. Thoughtful extra touches like coffee provided in the rooms were much appreciated!

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are well worth the extra £5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nradmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012 via mobile

Just returned after a week in this hotel/apartments. Really good value for money - rooms are big and modern with lots of storage space. Good sized fridge and nice bathroom. I would have liked a sea view from our room but we knew we wouldn't get that as we didn't pay extra for it. We self catered so didn't have the breakfast there. Only things were that the neighbours dog was a pain and that breakfast prep could be quite loud in the mornings as the reception was just outside our room.
Other than that, very nice, clean, quiet and you can be yourself.
Although, Podstrana is sort of in the middle of nowhere so wouldn't recommend staying here without a car!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebbar1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

Staid here for 2 nights in a room with a mountain view. The apartment was big, it include beds for 4 people. It has a kitchen and bathroom is quite big and comfortable. Also it has a terrace, but it was not a terrace bud a part of yard. The mountains view was on the reception and breakfast terrace. As we slept with open window in the mornings quite early was noise from breakfast service.

The quality of sleep was average. Second night mosquitoes were disturbing us. And unfortunately there wasn't thing what deter mosquitoes.

The beach is nice and close but you need to cross main street.
Possible what sea view room is better.

The breakfast was simple. Include bread, sausages and cheese, jam and yogurt. And the juice was disgusting. But it was included in the price.

Next time I'll chose something different.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ingulinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Podstrana
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#3 of 8 in Podstrana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Split
Hotel Split
#2 of 8 in Podstrana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Antonio
Hotel San Antonio
#8 of 8 in Podstrana
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Split
0.8 mi away
Pansion Zanic
Pansion Zanic
#2 of 84 in Podstrana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#1 of 84 in Podstrana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Stipe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Stipe

Property: Aparthotel Stipe
Address: Grljevachka 3b, Podstrana 21311, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Podstrana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Podstrana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aparthotel Stipe 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, elegantly furnished villa hotel located in Split-Podstrana only few kilometers from the ancient Diocletian palace offers its guests during the whole year an excellent accommodation in spacious and comfortable apartments with a large terrace and a sea-view. It is an ideal place for tourists as well as business people due to proximity of the city of Split and excellent traffic connections with Dalmatia and Dalmatian Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aparthotel Stipe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Stipe Croatia/Podstrana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing