We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience and cost effective”
Review of MariRena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MariRena Hotel
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Amoudara
Reviewed 22 May 2014

First off, the "Marilena" is a different hotel. This review is for the "Marirena." I am an American and travel frequently for business. The Marirena was a clean, quiet, very welcoming and convenient hotel. The owner, George, was extremely helpful and communicated with a taxi service to figure out where in the suburbs my meeting was the next day. All the staff I interacted with were extremely friendly, multilingual, and welcoming. There is a frequent bus across the street that goes into Heraklion center every 20 minutes for €1.50 (and, if you stay out drinking in Heraklion and miss the last bus back at 10:30 pm, the taxis are convenient and about €6.)

The dinners at the hotel restaurant were delicious and had vegetable and meat options nightly (and wine-smile). Breakfast was 'European,' but more than adequate every morning: coffee, tea, juice, fresh bread, cold cuts, cheese, tomatoes, yogurt, honey, etc. There is beach access very close to the hotel and the staff there were also extremely friendly and multi-lingual. The room was a nice size and comfortable, the bathroom was small but sufficient and clean, and the common areas were clean and comfortable. This is not a Hilton, but for the price it cannot be beat! I am absolutely recommending the Marirena to family and friends traveling to Crete and will stay here again if I return myself. This is not a resort, it is like staying with family friends when traveling abroad. If you're cool with that, you will love the Marirena.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank VAkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

Me and my girlfriend spent 2 weeks in hotel Marirena. The hotel is placed in Amoudara, very close to a long beach and only half an hour away from the city center. Everything at the hotel was great. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were cleaned every day, and the food was delicious. The area around the pool was extremely relaxing; drinking beers under the sun with chill out music playing on the speakers. The only negative thing was that the breakfast was served at 8 o clock in the morning and only for an hour. Mr George, the manager, had been very helpful by organizing our day trips around the island and he was always smiling and willing to help. We enjoyed our holidays and we will definitely come back next year!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DinaTsakalos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We're going back next year.
The view was spectacular. Stavros Mountain.
George, the owner, and his staff were pleasant and good hearted.
The rooms and the rest of the hotel were spotlessly clean.
And less than 100m to the beach.
Highley recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Owner tried to save money on everything..didn want to serve us drinks, food only limited amount in small glasses and portions. We end up asking our delegate to be moved to different hotel. Worst experience ever. Dont go there..

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
13  Thank Alica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irini S, Owner at MariRena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Alica B.,

Thank you very much for your feedback in regards to your stay in our hotel. We are very concerned to read your comments a year later than your stay. We would like to find out more information, please do not hesitate to e-mail us so that we can investigate your comments further.

Were you on an all-inclusive basis? Drinks are free and can be refilled as many times one wishes. Was it booked on a bed-and-breakfast basis? We can see no reason why one is denied something since it will be paid as normal. Did you share your concerns with us during your stay? Were you unhappy the way we handled the situation?

Nevertheless, please accept our apologies for the inconvenience. We do hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
The Marirena Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

When i bought the last minute to the Marirena hotel, i didn't expect anything. I know what it means 3 star hotel in Greece, but. . .the fact was really terrible. Dirt was everywhere in the room, especially in in the bathroom. Where it was also a lot of ants. The rooms were very noisy, you could hear everything from all sides (showers, banging, snoring. . .etc.). Moreover, next to the hotel was a sort of openair theater, where concerts were held long into the night. Hot water ran only once in a week.
I paid half board,i travel a lot, but. . .this poor breakfast and dinner i haven't seen. The breakfast bufet was only brad, butter, jam, one kind of cheese and one kind of salami. Breakfast was officially untill 9:30, but already at 9:20 staff began cleaning up. Dinner should be buffet, but the staff checked if you don't take too much. Moreover the food was often cold. To eat i didn't recieved tap water. I had to buy bottled. . .
And best of all. When you come to the beach, you can see right next to you a few tall chimneys of local electrical power station. . .
NEVER MORE Marirena !!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank 123kaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This quiant little hotel first of all smells like sewer. We stayed here for 8 days and 7 nights. I am so happy to be back home to civilization.
So the hotel owner, George, offered us to upgrade a room for an additional charge which we agreed to. He said pack right now. So we did. As we were done packing out whole room, george called and said it was a mistake. we cannot have an upgraded room because someone just offered him more money for that.
At supper time, do not expect to receive water with your meal. also, do not expect any water or any complimentary coffee. do not come back for seconds either. its stricktly frowned upon. The tour guide (jana) did not show up at all except for one time to sell people trips...like for example a trip to knossoss for 100 euro. we decided to go on our own in a nice climatized city bus for 1.5 euro per person with an extremely easy transfer directly to knossos. it was great. for the money we saved on not paying for overpriced services we bought awesome shoes and leather goods in heraclion.
as per marirena hotel =it caters mostly to russians, who are obnoxious, fight over cheese and ham and crowd every corner. nothing agains russians, but you can smell them a mile away.
one thing i liked in ammoudara was the beach. the breeze cools it right down and you can get a great tan. the shopping on the ammoudara strip is overpriced and stupid. go shopping to heraclion instead.
on our last day, we had to check out at noon and then kill time untill 9pm when the airport bus picked us up. on that day, no supper was provided. also, the staff frowns upon you bringing own water food and beverages by the pool ad into the reception. so you sit there like an idiot for half a day doing nothing and hiding your water bottle. degrading.
i will definitly not come back ever.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank goodcitizen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Nothing good at this hotel!! bad food: breakfast was poor and so was Dinner!!
very dirty rooms! they even didn't change the towels for the all week!!
The air condition also did not work all the time,we had to call Gorge and he .

The manager did not care at all and did not took care of any of our complains.

Look for other hotels in Crete. they are many other good hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank yogo2646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amoudara
0.5 mi away
Marilena Hotel
Marilena Hotel
#26 of 32 in Amoudara
415 reviews
26.3 mi away
Oasis Hotel
Oasis Hotel
#5 of 8 in Skaleta
116 reviews
22.2 mi away
Hotel Panormo Beach
Hotel Panormo Beach
#7 of 13 in Panormos
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Peninsula Resort & Spa
Peninsula Resort & Spa
#6 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
1,049 reviews
19.1 mi away
Sunshine Village
Sunshine Village
#56 of 172 in Hersonissos
357 reviews
65.0 mi away
Hotel Eleftheria
Hotel Eleftheria
#13 of 31 in Agia Marina
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MariRena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MariRena Hotel

Address: Andrea Papandreou 120 & Naxou 8 | Gazi-Ammoudara, Amoudara, Crete 714 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Amoudara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Amoudara
Price Range: £25 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MariRena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your MariRena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marirena Hotel Amoudara
MariRena Hotel Crete/Amoudara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing