We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most fantastic and relaxing holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Creta Beach Hotel & Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Creta Beach Hotel & Bungalows
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Amoudara
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The most fantastic and relaxing holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I have just returned from a fabulous week at the Creta Beach with my partner. The quality of the service and friendliness of the staff was evident straight away. We arrived around 10:30 pm not expecting any supper to find that this had been prepared for us. We were taken to our bungalow which was in the gardens, it was beautifully furnished and very spacious. Reception phoned immediately to make sure that toiletries and water in the fridge were waiting. We were pleased with the indication of service and found throughout our stay that all of the staff were friendly and helpful and made us feel that nothing was too much. The other guests were predominantly French and German and as a result, the entertainment was geared towards them, we wanted a relaxing break and being located on the beach we were able to do so. The food was plentiful and there was a varied selection, having eaten in the restaurant and the snack bar for all but one meal I can honestly say that we were not disappointed. The Maître D and his staff always tried to seat us with a sea view whenever we ate in the restaurant, the level of service, friendliness and genuine warmth we experienced at the Hotel was outstanding. The Manager, George is constantly checking that the guests are happy and that the facilities and service are to a high standard. He greeted us most days and made us feel very welcome. We will definitely return and would have no hesitation in recommending it!

Room Tip: Garden rooms closer to the Reception are quieter at night (nighttime entertainment)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbacosi1, Διευθυντής at Creta Beach Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel Creta Beach!!!

We would like to thank you for your comments regarding our hotel and our staff.

Thank you once more for selecting Creta Beach Hotel

Kind Regards

G.Perakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    144
    40
    19
    9
See reviews for
133
165
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herk-de-Stad, Belgium
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Nice and clean hotel, but unfortunately the food is not so good. Breakfast is not too bad. Lunch and dinner are not good. Lacks consistency and seasoning. Often the same food. Many elderly French groups. The French guests take in the beach chairs with their towels. Also they reserve the chairs on the small terrace of the bar in the evening. As a result, other guests can not sit here and you are compulsory to go elsewhere for a drink. Beautiful beach, but there are several dogs (dogs attack the beach vendors). If you book this hotel, book it without all inclusive. Only breakfast or half board. Many nice and good tavernas around for a good price!

Room Tip: When you book a standard room you have the chance to be at the reception. The rooms are a little old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nico P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbacosi1, Διευθυντής at Creta Beach Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for the positive comments of your review.

We regret that despite all the efforts of our kitchen, which offers a wide variety of quality food according to reviews of many guests, you have not found the expected satisfaction. We have noted your additional comments, which will be taken seriously in consideration in order to offer the best possible holiday experience to our guests.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you again in Creta Beach to have the opportunity to fully satisfy you, as the satisfaction of our guests is our first priority.

Kind Regards,

G.Perakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novi Sad, Serbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Pro: Very helpful staff. Good location near Heraklion airport. Nice garden. Free WiFi. Very child friendly policy of the staff.
Contra: Food a bit boring after a couple fo days. Relatively small beach. Poor WiFi reception near the sea.
Note: Maybe more suitable for the elderly who made up the majority of the guests during May.

Room Tip: Rooms near the sea have poor (or no) WiFi signal. Some rooms (53x?) should be avoided because they f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank d4th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbacosi1, Διευθυντής at Creta Beach Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for the positive comments of your review. We have also noted your remarks concerning areas of improvement, which will be taken seriously in consideration in order to offer the best possible holiday experience to our guests.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you again in Creta Beach Hotel!

Kind Regards,

G.Perakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

This was the least satisfactory of the 6 hotels we stayed at during our recent trip to Greece. French package tours stop here--which is great if you like loud French disco music until midnight. Otherwise, ask for a room as far from the pool/restaurant as possible.
The water in the rooms is non-potable and the management does not provide bottled water; you have to buy it from a nearby convenience store. They try to nickle and dime you, e.g., there's a safe in the room, but you have to rent the key for 3 Euros/day. The coffee served at breakfast is execrable, and the hot water for tea is too cool to be useful. We were on a half-board plan, which included breakfast and dinner. The breakfast was a typical Euro hotel breakfast, but the dinner was forgetable. You'd be better off eating dinner at any local taverna.

Room Tip: If you like quiet at night, ask for a bungalow as far as possible from the bar/pool/amphitheater.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DBDoty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbacosi1, Διευθυντής at Creta Beach Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest

First of all let us thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay.

We deeply regret not beeing able to fulfill your expectations during your stay with us.

Regarding the noise created from the animation team, you are correct as it was during the week that they were preparing till late for a new show they would present.
The safe box inside the rooms is with charge as mentioned to all of our terms and brochures and in the room there is a mini fridge, not a mini bar.

Regarding your remarks for the food quality we could have assisted you if during your stay you would have expressed any of your complains either to the reception, the manager or the maitre. Up to this date we did not have anything but most of positiv feed back from our customers regarding this matter.

Our goal is to have satisfied customers. The most important in order for us to suceed this is for the customer to immediately express any form of dissatisfaction or claim during the stay. In this case I personnally and our staff will seeck for the best possible solution in order to solve any issue with immediate effect.

Hopefully you will provide us with the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel.

With Best Regards

G. Perakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Sadly we picked the week that saw Crete have its worst weather in years... However the staff and the general ambience were hard to beat. My only criticisms would be , to be aware that this a French destination. ALL entertainment is in French as are activities... The standard rooms really are standard! Not a picture or anything homely, however it was scrupulously clean. I would definitely go again! It felt incredibly friendly and the staff are a credit to the hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbie gilmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

nice place, literally on the beach. We visited in October on the last day before it closed down for the winter, it was fine. Comfy beds, clean rooms, pleasant staff. Very good breakfast selection, reasonable prices.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Koula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Very nice hotel. I stood there in July '13.
Location is very good - directly on the beach (first line). Road to Heraklion is close to hotel's gates. 15-20 minutes by bus to Heraklion. District name is Amoudara, it's full of shops, cafes, taverns. Not boring absolutely.
Own beach, very comfortable. Enough beach-beds and umbrellas including those which are around swimming pool. Another pool - for children. Clean, brilliant and comfortable.
Entertainments - mini-golf, archery, football, table- and and lawn-tennis.
Rooms: we took bungalow and appreciate it - enough living space and very cozy terrace to have a cigar and/or glass of wine in the evening. I think that room in double-deck building were also nice but did not allow such free feeling. But it's only guess.
Cleaning - every day, thoroughly and with visible care.
Bathroom equipment - clean, shiny and good-working.
Sleeping quality - excellent. Bed - normally tough, silent.
Restaurant - over than enough choice, high food quality, quick replenishment of expired dishes.
Staff - absolutely helpful, attentive, empathic and very friendly. I saw that management of this hotel really know their job. We were amazed with gardener - It seems that he never sleeps...


By quality/price ratio this hotel is of optimal choice, I can recommend it to everybody who wants relaxation on the beach together with possibility to take a short trip to Heraklion and far for country travel.

Room Tip: Use bungalow but do not ask for first line (on the coast) - people on the beach will pass by you day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ralex65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amoudara
0.3 mi away
Agapi Beach Hotel
Agapi Beach Hotel
#8 of 57 in Heraklion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dessole Dolphin Bay
Dessole Dolphin Bay
#4 of 32 in Amoudara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
14.6 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites
17.4 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
15.4 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#6 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creta Beach Hotel & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creta Beach Hotel & Bungalows

Property: Creta Beach Hotel & Bungalows
Address: 74, Andrea Papandreou Str., Amoudara, Crete 714 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Amoudara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Amoudara
#2 Family Hotel in Amoudara
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amoudara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Creta Beach Hotel & Bungalows 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to CRETA BEACH HOTEL & BUNGALOWS. Our hotel complex is located in one of Crete's most attractive locations, the coastal area of Ammoudara, just 5 kilometers from the city of Heraklion. In an environment of exquisite natural beauty, our hotel's 150 renovated and refurbished rooms and stone built bungalows will become the ideal base for your adventurous days around the island, the ideal refuge for rest and relaxation after a day full of activities and fun. The family atmosphere, the traditional Cretan hospitality, the unlimited possibilities for fun, the athletic activities, the sea sports, the high standards, but at the same time friendly and personalized service from our experienced staff, will offer you a unique vacation experience. CRETA BEACH is located in an environment of unique natural beauty, surrounded by blossoming gardens and sky rocketing palm trees, in the 9 kilometer sandy beach of Ammoudara. Ammoudara is located 5 kilometers west of the city of Heraklion and 12 kilometers from the international airport "Nikos Kazantzakis," The greater area is throbbing with life, full of shops, restaurants, taverns, cafeterias and bars, offering endless possibilities for shopping and fun. There are regular bus schedules to and from the city of Heraklion and there is a bus stop right in font of CRETA BEACH. The stone built bungalows, surrounded by colorful gardens and proudly rising palm trees, architecturally designed to merge harmoniously into the natural environment, exude a sense of calm and serenity. Some of the bungalows have a view to the gardens and some others a view towards the sea. The bungalows have: bathroom, WC, refrigerator, safe and veranda. Our hotel's rooms, with either one or two spaces, are ideal for families and can accommodate up to 4 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Lastminute, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Creta Beach Hotel & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creta Beach Hotel And Bungalows
Creta Beach Hotel & Bungalows Crete/Amoudara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing