We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just came back :)”
Review of Hotel Stork

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Stork
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Amoudara
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Had great time there. Friendly atmosphere - despite fact I was there for the first time was feeling like home. Rooms are fine, owner - Maria and the rest of the staff is very helpful.
Best place to visit!

Room Tip: Get the room from other side - not the side of the sea. Personally I think that view on mountains an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Marcin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

I'm a bit conflicted about this place, actually.
Here is the good stuff: The staff are very friendly. Always smiling, kind of sweet.
There are enough places to lie down by the pool for the size of the hotel. The pool is clean, though the water a bit cold, but that could just be me. It's also a good size and depth. Great place to relax during the middle of the day, when it's too hot to do anything else.
The breakfast wasn't huge, but always had a good selection and the food was replenished fast.
The room was a good size, and had a TV and a fridge. The view from the room is great. There is a big built-in wardrobe. Also air-con, which is a must. Though a strange smell came from it when we turned it on. It could be some sort of a cleaning solution.
The towels were replaced often.
The room was quiet. The balcony door insulated well, and kept the crickets and the noise out. For some reason, all the hotels think that it's a good idea to have party music on by the pool. If I don't hear party music for months, then it'll be too soon.
It's in a good location. There are shops close by, and you can walk to the beach in 10 minutes.
Not so good:
No lift and the stairs are very high. For a healthy person it's not a problem.
The room could be a lot cleaner. Partly I think the place could use a vacuum cleaner. When we got to the room, there was hair everywhere. Long black hair around the edge of the wall, trash by the fridge, hair in the drawers, on the surfaces. The surfaces hadn't been cleaned in a while, as there was also a thick layer of dust on them. In the wardrobe there were still remnants of the painting of the walls. We cleaned it when we got there. Also, once they didn't empty the bathroom trash for 3 days. It was starting to smell.
I didn't like the mattress. Frankly, mum loved it, but it was just too hard for me. I sleep on a pretty hard mattress at home, but this was a bit too much.
The shower is tiny, and no curtain. Though that is a problem all over Greece. I don't know what they have against shower curtains, but I never saw any in all my trips.

Overall, for the price it was a good place to stay. What I would do is do random and thorough room checks to keep an eye on the cleaning people, and get a vacuum cleaner. That would solve the majority of the problems.

Room Tip: I think if you have a problem with stairs, maybe if you let them know ahead of time, they can get yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zelda_of_Arel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Hotel is located few kilometers from Heraklion, capitol of Crete. In Ammoudara you will find only restaurants, bars and souvenir's shops. If somebody wants to totaly relax on the swimming pool or beach it is very good place.
For people who want to visit another interesting places it is needed to rent a car. Then it is comfortable to see places on the east and west cost, as well on the south.
Hotel is nice, rooms are "normal", not decorated to much, but very clean and serviced every day. Hotel staff is helpfull and nice too, especially Mr. Pandelis :) who will service you from breakfast till late evening.
In the Hotel you can use computer conected to the Internet, there was tv set as well, but we have not used that (everything in the hotel lobby). The swimming pool outside is great over 2m deep, next to that it is a bar where you can drink drinks, beer, coffee,etc in the good price:)
to summ up it is probably one of the best 2-star hotels :) we had a very nice, comfortable stay, we can propose it for people who do not have to many expectations, to relax and as well who want to visit more places in another parts of Island.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank lukaszbled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

Stork hotel is located in Amoudara, about 600 meter from the coast, 12km from the airport. Stork is rather small, pleasant, family hotel. There is a reception, a restaurant (breakfast are served here), a bar and TV room in the hotel. Outside we can find small pool with a bar and pretty garden.
All rooms painted white in a typical greece stype, include a toilet, a balcony, an air conditioning and paid safe.
Stork is a nice, cosy place for people who like silence.
Nearby we can rent a car or motorbike and travel around the island.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank kerad85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kamiliano86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tege01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank Dariusz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amoudara
1.5 mi away
Georgia Hotel
Georgia Hotel
#7 of 32 in Amoudara
236 reviews
16.4 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#9 of 173 in Hersonissos
770 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castro Hotel
Castro Hotel
#15 of 32 in Amoudara
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel LiLi
Hotel LiLi
#19 of 58 in Heraklion
100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aptera Beach
Aptera Beach
#8 of 32 in Amoudara
83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Violetta
Hotel Violetta
#22 of 32 in Amoudara
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stork

Address: Spirou Loui 1, Amoudara, Crete 714 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Amoudara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amoudara
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Amoudara
Price Range: £29 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Stork 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Stork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Stork Crete/Amoudara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing