We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a four-star hotel but still very good”
Review of Century Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Century Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We spent a week with the family at Century Resort. The three-room apartment was large but the standard did not match the four-star rating. More like a plain three-star tourist hotel. The beds and pillows were in our tastes a bit hard and the breakfast buffet not very exciting. But the garden and the pool area just next to our appartment were fantastic. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The AC worked fine which we appreciated in the hot and sunny weather. So, in summary, we would be happy to return to the Century Resort and can recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SwedenSkibum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2012

We arrived quite late and had a few issues initially with Century Resort.
Firstly the guy on reception could have done better, he sent us up the hill to find our apartment with only the apartment number and a poor map of the resort.
It was very dark but if the street lighting has been on it would have been easier to find.
We found it quite easily however and started to unpack and get the aircon going.
Unfortunately we couldnt get the aircon to work, after trying for what seemed like ages we realised that the doors and windows must be closed and locked in order for it to work. The maid had left the bedroom patio door slightly ajar.
Anyway we got cool, unpacked and went to bed.
Unfortunately we woke in the morning with no water and after informing reception 3 times we eventually got a shower mid afternoon. A pump problem apparently.
Thats the bad now for the good.
We booked and paid for a Studio but ended up in a very quiet, clean and spacious 1 bed apartment with fantastic views over to Roda. The bed was comfy too. We couldn't have asked for a better location.
The grounds were really nice and picturesque and the pool was excellent.
Plenty of space and sunbeds and the parasols were essential, (38 degrees) the pool bar was a nice touch too.
We stayed bed and breakfast and the food was excellent, eating it every morning on the terrace was fantastic.
The staff were very helpful and couldn't do enough for you.
We would not hesitate to recommend Century Resort and would definitely stay there again.
If you want good views and peace and quiet try and get the 500 block but if you dont want to walk up the hill go for something near to the main pool/restaurant/reception area.
Akaravi itself has got everything you need, good bars n excellent Tavernas and a very nice bakery/coffee shop.
The beach is ok and is around 15 mins walk away from Century Resort.

Room Tip: Block 500 at the top of the hill if you want peace and quiet and a good view over towards Roda
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darrell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Clean, well kept gardens, friendly staff, lovely swimming pool but....

Due to the extensive gardens the mosquitos were out day and night and I went through 6 can of mozzi spray!

We stayed as Bed and Breakfast guests and the apartments are lovely, some are very big but the best ones are on a very steep incline to reach - so as retired pensioners, we had to ask to be relocated further down the hill nearer to reception.

The breakfasts were odd, and after two weeks boring, the same 3 choices of cereal, the same two choices of yoghurt, the same two choices of weak fruit juice. just a repetition of food that is catering for the German guests.

The television, as usual can only get one british channel which was Sky News.

Acharavi is a lovely resort, long beach which is part sand part shingle, plenty of places to eat, We favoured the Acharavi Park.

Free WiFi available all over the village.

Room Tip: the 0 - 200 blocks are nearer reception and from block 300 - 600 up a very steep incline
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HazelHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

I just returned from Corfu. We (a friend and I, both 22 year old students) stayed in the century resort for one week. We booked a single room appartment, when we arrived we were suprised about the size of this appartment. There was a nice little kitchen, togehther with a living room (so kitchen, one table with 4 chairs, 2 sofa's and a little tv. There also was a very clean bathroom with a bath and a sleeping room, with 2 seperate beds. One double bed and one single bed. In the kitchen/livingroom and in the sleepingroom were both seperate airconditionings, but we only used them the first days. Afterwards whe closed the blinds and let the windows open during the night.

So no real complaints about the room, except for a leak under the sink in the bathroom (but i suppose this will be fixed soon). It are good and clean rooms, but a rather sober (which is normal for a 3.5-4 star hotel).

The rest of the hotel (restaurant, swimmingpool, reception) were also clean. Also the poolbar was very nice this year, because of the always smiling girl in it. She served very nice cocktails :) But the garden around the hotel and pool was not realy tidy (some mud around the pool, the lawn was rather long, ...) . Maybe this was just cause it was the and of the summer season, but who knows.

The worst problem was the kitchen. Every day there was something differt to eat, for example there were every day patato's but one day they were served cooked, the other day like french fries or ... . So no problem there. But after a few day staying in the hotel, half-board (so breakfast and dinner), I heared a lot of the geust became sick. After a half week I also became sick. Just like all the others I threw up once at night, had a bit fever for one day, rested the entire day and was healthy again after one day.
Afterwards we just stayed eating in the hotel, but didn't get sick again. But others did, so probably there was still something wrong in the kitchen.

An other problem they have over there are the mosquietoes. Even if they burn special candles and you use anti-mosquito-products, they still bite you A LOT! I have more than 20 bites in one foot and more than 10 in one leg. So be warned about the mosquietoes.

Would I go back? To this hotel, no cause I never go back to the same hotel. Would I recommend it to some one? Yes, but I would tell them to be carefull with the food. So it's a realy nice play to stay with very kind people, but the musquietoes are part of the deal.

Ooh yeah, for party animals, don't book this hotel, cause it's in a nice village, but almost no nightlife. For families with children, couples of all ages or people who love visiting things by scooter, motorbike, car or bus this is ideal. (by the way: corfu = cheap rentals)

So enjoy !!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jens1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We arived on Aug 19 and departed on Aug 26 having witnessed one cloud through a week of unforgiving heat-even the local population commented on it.Everything in our studio worked effectively,the view was good,breakfasts efficient and staff pleasant and competant.Uphill walk was a dragbut we knew in advance of this.
The Thomson rep (Natasha or Natalie-I am sorry I forget) was the most genuine rep I have ever come across and if the unfortunate family who had such trouble a couple of days earlier had only used the emergency number that should have been provided on boarding their transfer coach I am sure she would have been able to assist them.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steveLiverpoolUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Arrived at the resort at 4.30am only to be told that they were fully booked even though we had booked a yr in advance with Thomson & they had not informed Thomson. Guy on reception was not at all sympathetic, wanted me & my 12yr old son to go in his pick-up truck to another hotel & then come back for my husband,(no chance) had to then wait until 7.15am until receptionist came on duty, she then packed us of to non thomson hotel & hadn't informed them. By chance Thomson rang the hotel on a different matter & only then did they inform Thomson. We were eventually moved to a different hotel at 5pm. Would definately not recommend going here, only poster on info board were all in german.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 3mitchell3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marios T, Owner at Century Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

I was very sorry to read this review. I investigated personally what happened and took all corrective measures so that this insident would not occur again. As you did not experience the hospitality of the hotel due to overbooking situation, we hope that you will allow us to render our services to you in the future, offering the most upgraded room the complex has to offer.
Again my sincere apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

This apartment complex is quiet, nicely laid out & well presented.
On arrival, we were upgraded to an apartment from a studio, & found it clean, smart & roomy. There was a bath as well as a shower, & TVs in both rooms, plus a large balcony. The bed was a little hard, but did not stop us sleeping well.
It was the best accomodation we have ever had in Greece.
I understand that this has previously been an exclusively German tourist complex, which accounted for the strange breakfast fare eg sausage rolls & chips. However, there was other food available, & all staff were friendly & helpful.
It is easy to walk into Acharavi, but the beach is further than 600m described, & there are nicer beaches on the island.
Overall, we had a great holiday & I would recommend the Century Resort.

Room Tip: Get a balcony rather than a terrace - more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yorkshirewifey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acharavi
14.7 mi away
Ariti Grand Hotel
Ariti Grand Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kanoni
510 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,235 reviews
0.5 mi away
Acharavi Beach Hotel
Acharavi Beach Hotel
#4 of 19 in Acharavi
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,476 reviews
10.1 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Lena Mare Boutique Hotel
Lena Mare Boutique Hotel
#2 of 19 in Acharavi
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Resort

Address: Alexias Triviza & Odos Anais, Acharavi 491 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Acharavi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Acharavi
Price Range: £37 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Century Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Run Property All Hotel Rooms very specious, Great Swimming pool. Lime PoolBar & Grill with a large selection of meals. A la carte "Kumquat restaurant". Departure and arrival transfers at extra cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Century Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Century Resort Villas Hotel Acharavi
Century Resort Corfu/Acharavi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing