We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Property”
Review of Century Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Century Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Great Property , All Suites ! Food excellent, Bar people: Very Friendly, Great Pool, kind too quite , I would like it a bit more live , Very spacious rooms, ( Suites) Nice little Village, with nice bars, at the Beach and Main Street .

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EU_Travel_Expert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2013

Great Hotel, Food was Great, Location very good, near Restaurants and Bars, Near Roda and Kassiopi, only half an hour from Corfu Town-Great Hotel, Food was Great, Location very good, near Restaurants and Bars, Near Roda and Kassiopi, only half an hour from Corfu Town

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greek-Hotels G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We arrived on friday afternoon. We had heard that any room above number 300 was hard going to get to so as we were given room 308 we thought the trek wouldn't be too bad but after two slopes the second of which was a killer, there were three flights of stairs, oh well, look on the bright side, we would be fitter by the time we went home! Sadly I was unwell on the Saturday night and this left me feeling poorly for the entire holiday, the stairs and slopes made me feel like a prisoner and the apartment was so dreary and depressing. On the Tuesday we moved to another apartment, it's bright and airy and modern, so much better than the cave that we had spent the start of our holiday in, the cave high in the mountains that is! 
We visited Acharavi Park taverna as the reviews on Trip Advisor had been so good, we realised that we probably had already walked passed it on Saturday during our first foray into 'town' and like most of the tavernas it had looked nondescript during the hours of daylight, however it had transformed into a welcoming eatery with traditional Greek music, well traditional to us anyway, probably passé to the staff (probably similar to us running a pie'n'mash shop for tourists and playing all the old London tunes!) anyway we enjoyed our starters of dolmades and a delicious chicken soup, followed by baked, stuffed aubergine with feta and stuffed cabbage, we went back 2 or 3 times.
Went for dinner at The Pumphouse, we were disappointed that they had no whitebait as we both fancied that so we had to settle for the 'Poseidon's Platter' to share. And it was delicious, my favourite was the marinated octopus but there was also calamari, baby octopus, prawns, proper taramasalata, shrimp cocktail, mussels, anchovies and sardines, what a treat. I struggled with my main of mousakka. 
Made a visit to the museum, it was lovely, although I think they could do with some better advertising outside as even though it's a large building it isn't apparent that it is a museum unless you look very closely, and with a €3 entrance fee they are never going to be rich, but I don't think that's their aim in life. The museum depicts real life in Acharavi with displays depicting farming, school, home life etc. well worth a visit. 
We found 'Castaway Travel' and Sue! She's got a great business here, she arranged a car for us within minutes, fantastico! We collected the car on Saturday morning and we drove westwards through Roda and kept as close to the coast as possible. I'm very happy that we didn't book to stay in Sidari, it's a bit too touristy for our taste. Continued onto Peroulades and Avliotes. Stopped of at The Panorama restaurant, what a beautiful location, and a lovely spot for an evening drink just watching the sun go down. Onto Agios Stefanos and the little port, not so good on the nose as there are huge piles of seaweed on the side of the port, drying in the sun, but it is a working port so you have to expect anything. Our final stop off was at Agios Georgios (north). A lovely sandy beach.
On Sunday we ventured out in an easterly direction, towards Kassiopi, its lovely, we had a short walk around the headland but had to turn back as we weren't sure if there were any cut-throughs and the sun was getting stronger. Travelled on down the coast, passed through Kouloura and Kalami and found 'The White House' once occupied by the Durrell family. Onto Ipsos where we stopped again, it's quite a busy touristy place but nicer than Sidari. We parked at the port, found a shady bench and watched the world go by for a while. Drove back through the mountains on the windy roads, fantastic views of Ipsos and the surrounding area. Headed back to Acharavi for some lunch, couldn't decide on where to go so went with a Trip Advisor review and went to Zyphos taverna in Almiros. Scrummy. 
Went to see the 'ghost village' of Paleo Perithia. Mostly good roads on the approach but the car park left a lot to be desired, we were worried that the car's underside could be damaged. The village is worth a visit but there is no real historic or social interest, there are in fact new tavernas around the village square. It was quite easy to imagine what it must have been like prior to 1997 when the population left, they settled in a village nearer to the coast 'new Perithia'. Had coffee and home-made walnut cake in the Capricorn taverna and put the world to rights with our hostess. Drove into Roda, not as bad as I thought it would be although they cater for the English far more than Acharavi does. So now we know where to go for a pint of John Smith's and a full English complete with black pudding! No thank you! However, we did find a small beach further along to the West of Roda, just one taverna, 'Golden Sand' where we had milkshakes. Very nice. 
We managed to book a trip to Corfu Town for Tuesday evening, just €10 each, a better deal than doing it through Thomsons who were charging €22 each.
On the Wednesday we Went to Paleokastritsa, a long and winding road but worth the drive. It's a beautiful part of the island with several bays. We parked up and took a stroll along the main road taking in the wonderful views, we were hungry and as it was lunch o'clock we decided to find a taverna, there were several but we found one overlooking the harbour where we had whitebait for €6 each and a dish of homemade chips, lovely lunch.
Up at 6am in Friday going home today, mixed feelings as although I wanted to be home because I didn't feel well I also would have liked a bit longer here but in better health so that we could enjoy this lovely island. We had a 2 hour transfer but it was very scenic and soon passed.

Room Tip: Avoid anything above Room 300 if you're not fit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PollyChelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We came as a family (older children, 15-27) and had 2 rooms here. We were very impressed with the rooms, very clean and well furnished. Pillows were very hard though! We were staying right at the back, room 523 and 4 (I think) it was a really horrible walk up the hill everyday to get back to the room, I would not recommend getting a room there at all, it didn't get any easier as the week went on, the only silver lining is that you get a very good view of the sea and that it is quiet up there but the walk really is very horrible and we were not warned about it when we first arrived! Staff are soooo friendly, really nice. The breakfast is ok but more aimed at Europeans, you won't find egg and bacon there! We were only 1 of 2 or 3 UK families staying here, you will get a lot of Germans, Dutch, Swedish. Not a problem for us but we didn't really make any friends which would have been nice. Best restaurants are just at the bottom of the hill by the hotel, not on the main strip. I would recommend to stay here definitely. Would suit older couples or young families really as a nice quiet area, 15 min walk to beach.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bethanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Recently stayed at this resort for one week. It was set high up in the town about 2km from the beach, i don't mind walking so it was not a major problem. The hotel was clean and i would say clinical in decor not much going on in the hotel reception itself. The bungalows were surrounding the hotel main area itself and gardens and pool were close to the hotel main reception however the bungalows at the back are quite a distance from the main hotel entrance and you have to walk a steep hill and then climb steps to get to them so if you are any way unfit or feeble then this is just the thing for you to get those legs fitter. The area itself was nice and quiet we took a trip to sidari and roda a short distance away and they had a much livelier atmosphere and a lot of british tourists compared to german in our resort. The weather was beautiful the days we had sun as we were unfortunate to have arrived in the rainy period so it rained and there were thunderstorms also however it was still very warm and pleasant and the rain didn't last long. The apartments themselves were well kept but a i don't think they would be classed as four star not by irish standards anyway more three. There was nothing luxurious about it just basic stuff yet it was comfy and clean and adequate space for two. I would recommend bringing own hair drier if you prefer to get your hair dry quickly as they only have the pull out hose driers. The major down side was lack of wifi only having access in the hotel reception so if your used to accessing your music or keeping up to date with news a home then you will be disappointed however a lot of the cafes and bars have access so it was not a major problem. There are a lot of restaurants to choose from and they all have a variety of food so you wont be stuck and i have to say i am fussy when it comes to my coffee and lattes and i must say they were almost better than i would get at home and much cheaper averaging at around 2-2,50 depending on places i have to say thines or beachside restaurant on the beach were my favorites. The greeks were very welcoming every where we went i have to say they were very friendly in shops and in bars although we did run into some difficulty getting our transfer back to the airport the bus journey should have taken 85 minutes but instead took 2hrs 35 so i wouldnt recommend it unless you want a trip down memory lane in a bus dating back to the 1970's with no booth and no air conditioning which you could have to get out an push up the hills.

Room Tip: get an apartment close to main hotel area otherwise you will be trekking up hills and steps in the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katemull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Not sure why this hotel appears under the 'speciality lodgings' rather than normal hotels. Anyway, very nice and spacious rooms, reasonable breakfast, very friendly bar and reception staff, nice swimming pool.
The hotel is not appropriate for older people or disabled people though unless if the rooms are very close to the reception.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank theoCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Nice place, friendly staff, nice park-like area, steep from the reception to the apartments, Maybe not 4 stars but 3 stjerner.Området suffer from a bit much mosquitoes, use protection. It is 3-400 hundred meters down to the city and a little farther to the beach. ATMs in the area but they tend to run out at the weekend. tried several taverns and was pleasantly surprised by the standard of food. In all a good place

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grebubbnubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acharavi
14.7 mi away
Ariti Grand Hotel
Ariti Grand Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kanoni
510 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,235 reviews
0.5 mi away
Acharavi Beach Hotel
Acharavi Beach Hotel
#4 of 19 in Acharavi
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,476 reviews
10.1 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Lena Mare Boutique Hotel
Lena Mare Boutique Hotel
#2 of 19 in Acharavi
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Resort

Address: Alexias Triviza & Odos Anais, Acharavi 491 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Acharavi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Acharavi
Price Range: £38 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Century Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Run Property All Hotel Rooms very specious, Great Swimming pool. Lime PoolBar & Grill with a large selection of meals. A la carte "Kumquat restaurant". Departure and arrival transfers at extra cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Century Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Century Resort Villas Hotel Acharavi
Century Resort Corfu/Acharavi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing