We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From Rico with love!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gelina Village Hotel & Resort
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Acharavi
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Many thanks to all lovely guests who went through paradise in Gelina Village Hotel Corfu and especially for all the nice comments,Animated special team wishes you a pleasant time with the hope that we will find ourselves back in the same paradise.For other early comments about the condition of the hotel and the animation team can just write here.With love! Hakuna Matata!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RicoMico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (566)
There are newer reviews for Gelina Village Hotel & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 566 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We booked the hotel through "OnTheBeach", then checked trip advisor comments/reviews, which in the main we're TERRIBLE! To our surprise, the hotel was spotlessly clean, the bedrooms good ( stayed in Basilia block). The restaurants were excellent, with a wide variety of dishes, local and internationally themed, and there was always plenty to choose from. this included the Beach Bar where lunch was served. There was always plenty of refreshments to choose with Lager/wine/soft drinks & water on tap to help yourself- fantastic. We found the staff I the main very pleasant helpful and could see the animation team were making a great effort with the kids. the water park had opened although we didn't get a chance to use it, as we had hired bikes for 5 days, from S-Bikes (1/2 mile away from hotel) and the rental company were also excellent. Maid service was daily, changed towels if you wanted them and were mannerly. We were not only pleasantly surprised that it wasn't as bad as the reviews we had read, however even if we hadn't read the reviews- it was better than we expected. No it's not the same standard as hotels in the Caribbean,Mexico etc- but it is of a very good standard and you are only paying less than half the price you would over there. All in all a great hotel we would definitely recommend and consider going back to.

Room Tip: We stayed I the Basilia block next to the church at reception, and they had all new mattresses deliv...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bigbriandocherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana G, Public Relations Manager at Gelina Village Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you so much for sharing your experience in Tripadvisor! We are very pleased with your kind words and will surely pass it along to chef and ladies and gentlemen of the hotel!

During the winter of 2013-2014 the hotel went through the change of management and full renovation and we are very happy to pleasantly surprise our guests with great service, new equipment and renovated rooms.

We are looking forward to see you again here, at Gelina Village Resort & Spa,
wishing you a nice summer 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We paid £350 last minute deal for a week all inclusive at Gelina village, based on the price our holiday was fantastic value. Parts of the resort (waterpark,a couple of pools etc) were closed as we visited in low season but there were still plenty of facitlies open and we definetely benefited from having fewer people around as we never queued for anything.
The resort setting is stunning with beautiful views of the sea and mountains, the staff are incredibly helpful and friendly (some of the other guests are not so much!), if you do decide to venture out of the resort I would highly recommend the Lemon Garden (lovely food) and Fuego Bar (great sunset views).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Finn104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana G, Public Relations Manager at Gelina Village Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your experience in Gelina Village Resort & Spa! we appreciate your kind words and will surely pass it along to the ladies and gentlemen of the hotel.


Hope to see you again enjoying sunset views at our hotel,

wishing you a great summer 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Delightfully located hotel, with beautiful pools and own beach. Service very friendly and obliging, the food very good and there is plenty of choice. Every day animation for children and adults. Rooms neat and clean. I would recommend to anyone who likes to have almost everything in one place.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Leszek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana G, Public Relations Manager at Gelina Village Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest,

how lovely! We love reading reviews like this! Thank you for your kind words, we will pass it along to the chef and the rest of the team!

We hope to see you again here, at Gelina Village Resort & Spa,

wishing you a nice summer 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The hotel is right beside the sea in a quiet and relaxing location. The club is very clean and nicely done with its various small cottages. Always clean and well maintained, at our travel time were many couples with small children, but that was no problem for us. From the nationalities everything was there, didn't bother me but less so one drives also in the vacation! Animation program - really good, specially evenings - belly dane show, comedy show, cabaret show, hit parade etc. - all this in one week :-) We're coming back - 100%!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sophie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana G, Public Relations Manager at Gelina Village Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest!

how wonderful! we really like reading comments like yours! We are glad you have enjoyed and serenity and the fun part at the same time! Our passion is to create great memories for our guests and we really love when the guest comes back for a refill!

looking forward to see you soon,
sincerely yours,

Gelina Village Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

To be fair......I'm guessing that in it's history, at some point this place may have been worthy of 4 or maybe 5 stars. The multiple villa style blocks of rooms were built to a high standard and in a well kept condition would look be impressive. Unfortunately times have moved on. Yes the water park was closed...we were well informed prior to the booking. I'm basing these notes on the data provided by "On the Beach" holiday web site.

Overview
The Gelina Village lies directly at the edge of Acharavi which is on the northern coast of Corfu and is not too far from Sidari. True Enough

The village is situated in vast grounds ....very true expect to do a large amount of walking.

which lead on to the long sandy/shingle beach of Acharavi which has been awarded the European blue flag in 2000. Beautiful beach you can explore for miles..Wonderful !!

The resort is flat...True Enough

And has many bars,.....True but they were not open often enough. Actually we only found two. The second bar was located by the beach front swimming pool and only opened from 10am to 6pm

The beach front pool is worth a mention. It had no water in it all week from april 26th to May 3rd.
When we complained some effrot was made to commence the process of filling it....it is huge and is likely to take a week to fill. During the process various cracks and issues were discoved and i doubt if this pool will open before June.

Many restaurants and shops...Not really bit of a mis-use of the word many we found the two shops located in the basement next to the Spa. These shops had standard Greek opening hours so 10:00 to 14:30 the 17:00 to 21:00 perhaps.


and the hydropolis waterpark is located next door to the hotel.- Yep but make sure it is actually open for the period of your stay.

Distance from Airport
The hotel is located 37km from the airport - sounds about right

Rooms
All apartments have balconies or direct access to the gardens, a fully equipped kitchen with fridge, TV, direct dial telephone and safe deposit box (extra charge applies). The en suite bathroom includes a hairdryer. Internet access and tea and coffee making facilities are provided, and all the rooms are air-conditioned.

Actually the rooms scored well ....except the hair dryer is very very low power, the beds are like something out of the flintstones the cushions are either very very new or very dense memory foam but either way very uncomfortable


Sports & Entertainment
Three floodlit tennis courts, - True but we only ever saw one court in use and the other two were overgrown with weeds, and grass and looked totally derelict. We never ever saw the floodlights on

a basketball court, - True but over grown with weeds and looking totally derelict

a table tennis table - Not seen found or proven
football pitch (60 x 40) - not seen or found or proven defintely not openly available,
pool/snooker, darts and archery. - not seen or found or proven

The hotel has an outdoor swimming pool and a poolside snack bar. True and the poolside lunch facility was more than adequate.

The hotel offers Greek nights with folklore dances; - We experienced the frist entertainment evening of the season and the Greek dance show did go well. It was delivered to a very small area of the restaurant dinin g floor and the entie thing felt dangerously compact but cosy and compact so developing a warm atmosphere - Strange experience.

fish and barbeque beach parties are organised - Definitely not in the last week of april

and the professional entertainment team offers daily activities for adults and children. - The professional entertainment team - both of them - turned up on the 4th day of our holiday with their first efforts made on the 5th day.

There is also a spa with a heated indoor pool, hydromassage, steam bath, sauna, algae/mud therapy, hot tub, relaxation area, beauty salon, body treatments and gym, all for an extra fee.
All true enough but The only item above open in the last week of April was the indorr heated swimming pool.

Got to be fair - the entire pool spa are provides further evidence of the sentiment above. This resort was built and conceived with the highest standards in mind. Some where along the way things went badly wrong the place probably went bust in the recent finance crisis and fell into a state of total disrepair

This includes broken damaged sewage to many of the blocks of rooms but particularly to the main block outside the front of the restaurant. But these repairs seem to be in progress.

The resort is vast and the walks between buildings are longer than usual. This is worsened b y the fact that many of the street lamps have failed and are not yet repaired.

Many of the features / facilites are in poor state, damaged and/or broken. The worst item might be the seweage drainage adjacent to the poolside restaurant - with raw sewage over flowing from the drain cover - When I complained reception stated the engineers were due two days ago. When asked when the problem would be fixed the receptionist replied "how would I know - I am only a receptionist".

Whilst on this subject we asked why the grounds were totally overgrown with grass 6 feet high and broken bushes and trees lying everywhere. A very similar reponse followed by "Do you not realise that Greece is in crisis" .

Possibly a fair point but it seems the crisis does not affect the nearby Mare Blue resort in Agios Spyridon.


The map of the resort details a zoo. There is a zoo and the entire area is apparently a nature reserve. So be ready for fresh country air nearby the car parks and many fascinating sounds and noises throughout your stay.

The combination of dis repair, dereliction, under funding, poor morale and lack of maintenance make this place a total no go zone. Wait until its been brought back into good order - could be good if every penny earned is re-invested and original sentiments are restored.

We can only explain this place with a theory - it went bust in the finance crisis - went derelict over the past year or three and somebody has decided that the hotel should open - and to hell with the consequences. We have been travelling together for twenty years and nothing was ever so badly mis-sold to us before.

We tried contacting our booking agent with no joy. When the receptionist (mentioned above) actually got a signal- there was never an answer. We asked what happened in an emergency?
He to informed us that two weeks ago somebody on ste was injured - the ambulance took 90 minutes to arrive because it had to pick up three other casualties along the way .

pretty unsafe too then !

All in all look at other options until this place has had time to complete its adhoc - on the fly renovation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank PKL100200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We went to Gelina Vilage at the end of April and it was absolutely terrible. We've been told its still out of season and there was nothing open. The water park was still close, there was no water in any outdoor pools, there was no activities or evening entertainment . The Wi-Fi didn't work and the only access to Internet was in a caffee in town. The only thing to do for children was indoor pool. Really disappointed .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sylwia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acharavi
2.6 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,165 reviews
20.7 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,378 reviews
9.8 mi away
Blue Princess Beach Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ionian Princess
Ionian Princess
#18 of 20 in Acharavi
226 reviews
15.9 mi away
Alexandros
Alexandros
#8 of 9 in Perama
559 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Magna Graecia
Hotel Magna Graecia
#6 of 15 in Dassia
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gelina Village Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gelina Village Hotel & Resort

Address: Acharavi, Acharavi 491 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Acharavi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Acharavi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Acharavi
Price Range: £52 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gelina Village Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LoveHolidays, Cancelon and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Gelina Village Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gelina Village Hotel Acharavi
Gelina Village Hotel And Resort
Gelina Village Hotel & Resort Corfu/Acharavi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing