We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is a dump. Stay away.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gelina Village Hotel & Resort
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Acharavi
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Where to start? So we arrived on a Saturday night at 1.30am to be told there was a problem with our booking and our room was not available til Tuesday. So we were sent down the road to the roda which was very nice and also a 5 star hotel. Do not believe the 5 star rating for the Gelina, I've stayed at much nicer 3 star resorts. When we came back we were given a room that hadn't been cleaned. Plates of half eaten food everywhere, filthy beds, towels etc and a balcony with an ashtray on it surrounded by 2 square feet of bird faeces. When I complained we were given another room which they cleaned while we had a very bland lunch, not up to 5 star standards. The second room we got had been cleaned but had a broken shower and broken door lock on a door that wouldn't even close. When I spoke to the hotel manager about these problems, these were some of his comments. Birds are everywhere and we cannot clean up all the mess they make. My expectations of accommodation as a westerner are too high and that I could not expect to get a bathroom door that closed or locked in Greece. He also said the 5 star rating was meaningless and was allocated by the Greek government. When I suggested some basic carpentry lessons for his maintenance staff I was told to shut up and stop telling him how to do his job. The hotel management only post stock photos on their Facebook page and delete any negative comments from guests so you need to post where they can't delete your review like on here. We only have a 4 day stay at Gelina before we get to leave, I'd hate to be here for 2 weeks.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mr_jason_smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana G, Public Relations Manager at Gelina Village Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Guest,

we regret you have not enjoyed your stay at Gelina Village Hotel. The management and stuff have as a mission to deliver to our guests the best and most memorable holiday vacations.

Rest assured that the hotel will address any issue to ensure that the next time you visit us you vacation will be the way you dreamt of.

As for posting foul and inappropriate language and comments in our Facebook page, our Social Media Policies do not tolerate rude/offensive/windows breaking behaviour online and Social Media Managers ban any visitor for doing so.

Your opinion matters,

wishing you a nice summer 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

My wife and I have just come back from Gelina Village. We arrived on the morning of the 17th of June (0200 hrs) only to be told that we had no room? We were taken to another hotel up the road and told we would be there for one night and would be able to return to Gelina Village at 10am. We were informed that owing to the 'Problem' we would be given the best room in the Hotel upon our return and that we could have breakfast at either hotel that morning.

The Hotel where we stayed overnight informed us we could not have breakfast at their location and by the time we returned to Gelina Village almost all the breakfast had gone?

The so called 5* 'Best Room' in the Hotel it was not ? The aircon did not work after two days, this was reported to the Management who sent a man down only after we had complained twice, only to be told 'This is working correctly'? The shower also had no bracket for the on the wall to hold the shower head, this made it difficult to shower. The entire bathroom was run down and shabby? The management did not seem interested at all in any of our complaints.

We met five British Couples who had all been moved from Hotel to Hotel because Gelina Village had no room? Some were last minute bookings although this should no make any difference, one couple had booked way back in February?

This Hotel caters for mainly Russian and Eastern Europeans with young families and it became apparent as the week went on that the 'British' are just not welcome there!

You will Queue for lengthy periods at all meal times only to be barged into by other Guests who have no manners what so ever. They take all the food and when you do eventually get your plate full there are no tables available.

The Reception Staff are rude and ignorant and are unwilling to help British People.

Why oh Why is this Hotel classed as a 5* Hotel, it should be no more than 2* at the most? Why do they take bookings when they have no rooms available, and why is this even advertised on a British Website when we are not even welcome there?

Room Tip: Don't even go there!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lordpeter2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana G, Public Relations Manager at Gelina Village Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Guest,

we are sorry you have not enjoyed your stay at Gelina Village Hotel and apologize for any inconvenience you might have had.

Thank you for the tips on how to become better, we will definitely take it into account.

Your opinion matters,

wishing you a nice summer 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Arrived at reception on the 16 th June to be told the hotel was fully booked and no rooms available :( the manager told us we would be taken to a nearby hotel for the night and would be picked up at 10:30 in the morning and brought back to the gelina. However after many phone call to the gelina reception they eventually picked us up @ 13:30 . Checked in room damp musty smell shower was broke and after a few days all our clothes smelt and the shower was still broken . Meal time was awful it was like feeding time at the zoo food was poor quality and repetitive and we ate out most nights. If you are Russian or polish you will enjoy the entertainment / kids club and the bar staff won't be rude. A guy at reception called victor was nice and friendly on a plus side. It's up to you but I wish I'd gone with the majority reviews and not booked this holiday . I could go on all
day about the stay but be warned this is the first time I've ever posted a review but I feel really strongly about our bad experience .Not 5 star max a poor 3 star .

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thunderace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana G, Public Relations Manager at Gelina Village Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Guest,

we are sorry you have not enjoyed your stay at Gelina Village Hotel and apologize for any inconvenience you might have had.

Thank you for the tips on how to become better, we will definitely take it into account.

Your opinion matters,

wishing you a nice summer 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We arrived at the hotel to find the room that we booked for myself partner and son was not available we had a double bed and a member of staff came up with a camp bed for my son
We complained again in the morning and was moved to another room still not the one we had paid for but was offerd a free safe key for the inconvenience
We had no choice as the rooms had been let out
Room was very damp and smelly ( our house keeper was very nice and friendly and did our room every day apart from Sunday she was the most friendliest staff member there
Food not a lot to mention not a lot of variety for young children and ice cream is not free, it was raining on the first evening and this seemed to cause chaos as there was no outside seating and not enough room for guests meaning we had to que for a good 40 minutes
Mealtimes are a bit of a mission never any clear tables clean glasses bowls or cutlery I think they need more staff to cater for there guests
This hotel is mainly full of Germans Polish and Russians so entertainment is very much geared up for them
But there was entertainment every night of some sort also entertainment in the pool which was good polo Zumba aerobics and the entertainers round the pool were always pleasent
We had a incident with a member of bar staff who said that because we were English we didn't give a sh it unfortunelty for him we heard and managent dealt with this quickly
Bar staff never smiled and were genuinly quite rude
Receptionists were the same appart from one very helpful man victor who actually spoke to us and asked us if we had a good holiday
The resort it's self is very nice water park pools are nice
Needs more staff and defenetly not a 5*
If you're going for a all inclusive be carefull the food is not that great repetitive slop not much variety we did eat out for the next few days, drinks are fine

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana G, Public Relations Manager at Gelina Village Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Guest,

we really appreciate your time spent on posting your review and giving us your feedback!
Thank you for kind words to house keeper lady, entertainers and Victor, Russian receptionist, we will pass your words along to them!

We are sorry we had to offer you another room and apologize for any misbehaviour of the bar staff that took place. We are working hard to eliminate all the weak spots and strive to become the best host to our guests.

thank you again for posting your experience at Tripadvisor,
wishing you a great summer 2014,
yours, truly,

Gelina Village Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We booked this hotel 4 days prior to going, and didn't pay a great amount so wasn't expecting much. It does state it is a 5 star and the reception was exactly that so were the pools and the staff. The rooms were tired though and in need of updating, but clean and again for what we paid for an all inclusive resort the facilities were OK although I would say a 2-3 star on the rooms. We didn't have children with us but it was ideal for families, and the little petting Zoo was lovely. We were delayed by Monarch having a problem with the plane so did not arrive until 12.30am in the morning, but we were greeted with a smile and told to leave our bags as they had saved us some food and to go and help ourselves which was really lovely. The staff were helpful and although we went at the begining of the the season, the place was in the middle of a mass gardening frenzy, and it was looking lovely.The only down side was that there were a lot of Russian people there who we found to be rude, even the French and German people thought the same. There were only 2 other English couples in the whole complex, so if you wanted entertainment do not expect anything in English. Also the pillows are like bricks but the beds are comfortable, and the showers do not have holders, and they do not have a maid service on a Sunday or a pool attendant, which we found odd being a hotel. A lovely place, lovely people and I would go back again, as for the price you cannot get a B & B in the UK or the sunshine guaranteed for a week for the money we paid. We have paid thousands for a Thomson Cruise in the past and the rooms and people and service were horrendous, so it goes to show sometimes you don't get what you pay for but its nice when you pay less and get more than you expected. Shame about Monarch airlines on the way there and back delays due to plane faults. It was cheap enough to eat out as well which we did on 3 out of the 7 nights, as that is more us, if you ate later then there was not such a rush but that suited us fine as we eat late at home anyway. The pumphouse was good value for money wonderful seafood meze. Good base if you want to go out and about.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana G, Public Relations Manager at Gelina Village Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Guest,

we love reading comments like yours! Thank you for all your kind words to the ladies and gentlemen of our hotel, we will pass along your nice comments!

We are glad that you have enjoyed your vacation! Recently our hotel went through the change of management and renovation and not all the strings are well set yet, therefore we really appreciate your review and tips on the room for improvement!

wishing you a great summer 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We have just returned from a week's stay here and I am struggling to find some positives to put in this review. However, after some thought I have the following:

- Very spacious room (115 in Calypso) to accomodate 3 children & 2 adults. Room had 2 bedrooms & an eating area. Also, 2 bathrooms which was a God send with all the bodies needing to get ready of an evening!

- A very special mention to Zuzana (with the lovely red hair) on reception who was very helpful when we needed info. Also, a special mention to the young blonde girl on the beach bar who was also helpful & accomodating when required.

- The animation team did a great job of entertaining the children although, it is very much geared up for the Russian & German guests so our children didn't really bother with it.

- The food was ok and and as expected for an AI resort - very repetitive. Lovely fresh bread & the pasta dishes were nice along with the pizza.

Now for the negatives:

- Room was very damp and with no air con or ventilation. We did not like to leave the windows open when not in the room so it was quite smelly when we returned. There were actually puddles of water under the bed and the floor throughout was always wet or moist! Room was in desperate need of refurbishing and modernising and the rendering was coming away from the walls. Curtain in main bedroom had unpleasant stains on it, wardrobe stank of damp and I didn't dare put my clothes in there! The child's bed for my 2 yr old was broke at the bottom end and a curtain was supplied as a blanket! My husband ended up sleeping on this as I daren't put my 2 yr old in it!

- We arrived at 2am & were not provided with any info about the resort meal times, what was included in AI etc. Got to the room & 11 year old uses bathroom & locks the door. She was still locked in 2 hours later due to the dodgy lock which was never fixed during our stay.

- Be warned that there was no maid service on Sundays so we had no clean towels & requested them from reception which finally arrived 2 hours later. We also did not have maid service on another occasion & again had to wait for towels. The bathroom was never cleaned during any maid service only the bins were emptied and a fresh bath mat put down. The bathroom was filthy anyway and I dread to think what was in the filth in the door frame and the seal around the bath. The overflow for the bath was actually in the bathroom so, when you showered the filthy water would come back up through this and soak the floor.

- Rude & unhelpful staff on reception (except Zuzana). I received attitude from a particularly unpleasant bald guy who was accompanied by an equally unpleasant tall slim blonde lady who failed to crack a smile the whole of our stay! He also spoke English when it suited him.

- Dinner time was a nightmare especially if you failed to turn up at 7pm as you could be queuing for quite a while to get a table. The staff tried their best but they really were struggling to cope.

- Water park is not very good & on a Tues & Thurs they offer all inclusive in the park but it is €24 per adult & €20 per child entry fee. However, as a guest you can get in for free every day & don 't have to do the AI. We only stayed an hour as it was very poor.

*water is not included and neither are ice creams. If you wanted an ice cream at the pool bar you had to pay and there were never any of the 1 euro ice creams available.

*A deposit is required for safe that requires a key and you have to pay 20 euros to use the safe.

*If you want to use their towels for the pools you have to put down a 10 euro deposit per towel. You have one free change and after that it is a euro per towel change!

*No free WiFi at all! Other hotels I have stayed in have always provided a limited time to use WiFi for free. You could buy cards from €5 when the hotel had them!

I have never felt so compelled to give a review before but, really needed to get this off my chest. I hope this will help other travellers when choosing to stay at this hotel. If you are on a very tight budget with a family then this hotel will be ok - you get what you pay for & you need to have very low expectations!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank VivB83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana G, Public Relations Manager at Gelina Village Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest,

we appreciate you sharing with Tripadvisor your experience at Gelina Village Resort! thank you for pointing out strong and weak points of our operations and we are sorry that you have not enjoyed your vacations.

The air condition system operates from 15 of June till 15 of September and we are sorry that you were not informed about it by your tour operator before buying the tour. Some details, like WiFi, deposits, change of laundry, are always a part of the deal and, unfortunately, not all the tour agents provide guests with detailed info. As for the rest of your unfortunate stay, such as bottlenecks in operations in the restaurant, 1 euro ice cream, ill attitude of the employee, - all of these will be fixed within the nearest future. Thank you very much for pointing that out - you help us to become better!

thank you for your kind words for Zuzana and animation team, we will pass along your compliments!

wishing you a nice summer 2014,

truly yours,

Gelina Village Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We have just returned from a lovely week in Corfu. We were based at Hotel Gelina on an all inclusive deal. The hotel is rated as a five star in comparison to other holidays it should be rated as a three star. The hotel is spotlessly clean however the fixtures are tired and dated. The hotel was full during our stay of families from mainly Italy, Germany and Poland with very few British people. This was not a problem as it was nice to see different cultures dealing with holidays with young children etc. The hotel site was flat and large and was nice to walk around during the evening. We enjoyed being able to watch the sunset on the seated decking on the sea shore and the vegetables being grown to provide for the hotels kitchen. There were a variety of animals on site in a small zoo, with donkeys, goats, chickens, geese, ducks and deer which were beautifully clean and appeared well cared for.

The hotels self service restaurant wasn't really big enough to accommodate all of the guests and we had to delay our evening meals to get a table without the mad rush however the food was plentiful, very well presented and varied. I can really praise the restaurant staff who worked very hard to keep tables cleared and provide all that people required, overseen by a diligent maître Dee who kept everything running smoothly.

The special fish restaurant on site which you can book for one night per week as part of the package was a real disappointment. The experience was no different than the main restaurant with everyone rushing to get their meals and the fish varieties options were poor.

The location of the Gelina as a base was great, it meant we could visit the north, east and west coasts easily and see the beautiful scenery. Overall a good family hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have a balcony or outside space, do check this when making your bookings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michaela h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana G, Public Relations Manager at Gelina Village Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you so much for sharing your experience in our hotel, we really appreciate it! Thank you for your detailed and objective review, we will surely pick up all the details from it to become a better hotel for our guests!
Thank you for your kind words to the ladies and gentlemen of our hotel, as well as to the maitre Dee, we will surely pass along your kind words!

We hope to see you again,
wishing you a nice summer 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acharavi
2.6 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,203 reviews
9.8 mi away
Blue Princess Beach Hotel & Suites
20.7 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hotel Magna Graecia
Hotel Magna Graecia
#5 of 15 in Dassia
282 reviews
15.9 mi away
Alexandros
Alexandros
#8 of 9 in Perama
584 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ionian Princess
Ionian Princess
#17 of 19 in Acharavi
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gelina Village Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gelina Village Hotel & Resort

Address: Acharavi, Acharavi 491 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Acharavi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Acharavi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Acharavi
Price Range: £52 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gelina Village Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and LoveHolidays so you can book your Gelina Village Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gelina Village Hotel And Resort
Gelina Village Hotel Acharavi
Gelina Village Hotel & Resort Corfu/Acharavi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing