We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay with a few niggles”
Review of Sun Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sun Village
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good place to stay with a few niggles”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

A lovely place to stay in Acharavi.

The resort itself has a lovely pool area with a great bar and friendly staff. There is also wifi in this area. The pool was always spotlessly clean and the grounds well maintained.

The room or apartment we had was clean and tidy and was serviced on a regular basis.

The niggles were that the mattress we had, had seen better days with what seemed like a hole half way down it and the pillows and bedding was a bit tired.

It is a bit of a walk into town but I would say five minutes.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    48
    18
    11
    4
See reviews for
44
54
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Room for family was big and well equipped. Staff very friendly and helpful, location was fine in relation to beach and bars/restaurants. There was no much to do for children. If there would be a dining room (so That You can have All inclusive), then it would be perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilze K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Be aware that these apartments are a ten minute walk from main street and part of the walk is a steep incline , followed by three sets of stairs , to the apartment I stayed in. Fine if mobile but not if elderly. Room was basic ,but then I didnt pay too much. Bathroom was small and shower was a nightmare as it flooded the floor. Staff very helpful, cleaned every two days , towels every two days and sheets once in the week. Wouldnt go back as town was small and could be explored in one day. Best to have a car to go on trips .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Also known as Sun Village. Attractive apartment blocks but all the balcony's overlooked each other so no privacy. The rooms were clean and staff were very helpful. The pool area was clean and the pool was lovely and there were plenty of sun-beds. Not much in the way of food available but it was only a nice 10 min walk into the town. It was a good 20 min walk to beach though which we liked but it would have been a struggle with a young family. We liked Acharavi and the beach was lovely. Lots of nice walks in the day and clear skies at night for stargazing.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank acoldbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

We were happy with Sun Village for our end of season break. Our apartment was neat and clean, staff very friendly and helpful, location was fine in relation to beach and bars/restaurants. We were the last 4 guests of the year but everything remained open and working.

Main downside was not specific to this accomm - the swarms of hungry mosquitoes! Take some jungle formula with you ...

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank hktelfords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We travelled with a very active 4 yr old and so picked a car up at the airport for the full 2 weeks that we were there. Getting to the apartment was a 1.5 - 2 hr drive from the airport. The road signs are very poor so we got lost and were never confident that we were on the right road. Anyway, it was a pretty drive and it was possible to do the same drive in just over 1 hour once you learn the route.
The apartments are a 15 min walk to the beach, but a part of the beach which is mostly stoney. To get to the sandy beach is another 5 mins and, when thinking about the stuff a 4 yr old needs on the beach, the car was pretty useful and allowed us to go every day in the soaring heat. Without the car it would have been more effortful. Also, there are no paths along the roads to the beach so walking (with our 4 yr old) would have been interesting.
We would not have been able to spend the day around the apartments for many reasons: the room is very small when a 3rd bed is in it; the weather was very hot but the pool was very cold and not a suitable temperature for such a youngster; there was a swing and a small shute but nothing else for a 4yr old to do. The apartments are also on a hill. The neighbouring hotel (which there is a short-cut path to) has a much better play area with 5-6 playpark items which were better.
As with other reviews, the apartments are pretty dirty. We coped ok as the bedding was clean, but the dish cloth (which we avoided touching) seemed to contain life form. The floor was also dirty and, even if it was washed, then the process only moved the dirt around. It meant that sitting/playing on the floor was not possible.
The bathroom was very difficult with a child. There was only a shower which has the force of a typhoon but the mouldy shower curtain could only contain 5% of the water. Hence, the bathroom got flooded, moving the dirt in waves around the bathroom and apartment. We quickly learned to wet, wash and then rinse on a trickle to avoid wet footprints across the apartment. Tricky with a 4yr old. Always hot water though!
We saw the photos on the Sun Apartment website that showed a room with a folding curtain separating a child's bed from the main living apartment. I suppose this exists but we did not have anything as convenient.
The village of Achavari is fine for the 4 yr old. There was a water park (£20 per adult All Inclusive per day, and under 5s free) which was good. The All inclusive was surprisingly very good with plenty of food on a buffet. The 4 yr old was able to go on some of the big slides (with Dad) which was good. There was also a very small playpark at the end of Achavari. The shop staff were great with the 4 yr old.
There is a bar with a soft play area and bouncy castle in Roda (5 mins drive) but nothing like this in the Achavari. Irritatingly, there were no toilets on the beach, but there are bars and hotels that the 4 yr old could use.
If we travelled as a couple, we'd not have needed the car and functioning in the apartment would be much easier. There are several restaurants in Achavari itself but for two weeks we found it was useful to have the car to go into Roda or Sidari (20 mins drive west of Achavari) and Kassioppi (east of Achavari). Achavari has two bakeries and two largish supermarkets which provide sufficient choice for groceries. We found the privately owned supermarket had wider choice for most groceries than the supermarket chain.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RegularTraveller31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

this hotel is perfect for relaxing and getting away from it all, within walking distance of some great restaurants (the pump-house was our favourite) and bars but with no noise. The staff are friendly but discreet, the rooms and grounds are kept clean. We would recommend these apartments to anyone who likes peace and quite but with easy access to shops and restaurants ,it's nothing posh but if you would rather be outside than in the basic rooms then it's perfect. We will be visiting again.

Room Tip: opt for a high room the views are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VickiHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acharavi
0.2 mi away
Corifo Village Hotel
Corifo Village Hotel
#5 of 20 in Acharavi
108 reviews
32.8 mi away
Mediterranean Blue Resort
0.4 mi away
Filorian Hotel Apartments
Filorian Hotel Apartments
#7 of 20 in Acharavi
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lena Mare Boutique Hotel
Lena Mare Boutique Hotel
#2 of 20 in Acharavi
71 reviews
20.4 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,299 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Village

Property: Sun Village
Address: | Near Acharavi Center, Acharavi 49100, Greece (Formerly Sun Apartments)
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Acharavi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Acharavi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sun Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by 18000 sq. m. of wonderful green garden landscape with palm trees, olive trees and colourful bougainvilleas, the attractive Sun Village Aparthotel is ideally situated in the old village in Acharavi at the north part of Corfu. Just 150m away from the centre and only 600m away from the seemingly endless sandy beach of Acharavi, having in the vicinity numerous shops, cafes, bars, traditional tavernas, supermarkets, is the perfect destination for Guests who wish to relax but also have everything needed just by the corner. The famous Waterland is within walking distance. Sun Village offers modern, excellent value for money accommodation, a delightful pool landscape with a big pool, a kids’ pool and a modern jacuzzi, a snack – bar, a tennis court, and the ultimate relaxation under the sun in the nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sun Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Apartments Hotel Acharavi
Sun Village Corfu/Acharavi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing