We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right spot, good service, bit outdated but climbing up.”
Review of Hotel Jagdhof

Hotel Jagdhof
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Jagdhof
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Riezlern
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Right spot, good service, bit outdated but climbing up.”
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Hotel on a gr8 location, busstop in front of the door and running every 10 minutes, skilift 50 meters walk which takes you to to the Kanzelwand Bahn. Gr8 service, the chef picks you up from the station and fries eggs to your liking in the morning. Overall friendly staff. Food is how we know it in Austria, just OK en kitchen tries to reach gourmet level with an extra touch. Breakfast buffert is much OK, lunch buffet and afternoon tea and cakes make it a well treat addded with the salad buffet and 3 option menu for diner. Dont miss the kaiserschamrrn. We had the 2 room suites in the 2nd building which connects underground. rooms were clean and complete, a bit outdated but it all funtions well and has the Austrain look. The wellness (sauna area) really need a reconstruction and is planned for the end of this year. The ski room is to small in high season. The lady of the reception makes her own hats from wool, which appear trendy and exclusive..yould get one. Sure we know better hotels, also in Austria but overall for us this hotel scores high because of the location, good services and good food, and the fact that it is not the most modern hotel we take as it is. If you look for more exclusive, modern and organic than check out the naturhotel in Hirschegg.

Room Tip: The rooms in the second building seem to be more modern The jagdhof suite is worth the price with o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nielsik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    18
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one week with two small children.

The hotel seats on a great spot: in front of the bus station, 25 m from the first slopes, 50m from the only supermarket in town - without being on the main road.

We had a great room with lots of space.

Breakfast was delightful: fresh bread, croissants, lots of different jams, salty buffet with some cheese and local hams and even eggs baked by the hotel Director!! Decent tea and coffee.

Lunch bar buffet was available from 13-14: usually a warm soup and meat dish. They are sharp on time so dont go at 14:02 because the lunch buffet will be gone.

Coffee, tea and pastries are available at the bar buffet until 17:00. We did not taste the pastries.

Dinner is served as from 18:30. One chooses in the morning from three suggestions. No room for specials.

Children menu varies from fried chicken nuggets to fried fish nuggets, pizza,
spaghetti bolognese or fried schnitzel and french fries. No veggies AT ALL.

Portions are poor and small - after one day of skiing one can eat some more!!- kind of 'nouvelle cuisine' but without the charm or taste.

Everything swims in cream. Meat was always overcooked. Even fish was overcooked.

Salad buffet was quite boring and vegetables were soaked in a kind of vinegar watery liquid.

Cheese plateau presents old pieces of cheese placed one on top of each other with no care for taste differences nor indication of names.

Deserts? We ve never made it to desert....

The pool is nice and opens on the outside.
Children love to step out and throw snow in the warm pool. Pity that it faces the blue side wall of a public covered parking.

Children room was obviously never cleaned nor organized. Broken toys were lying everywhere and dust covers the less used toys.

The hotel is reasonably clean but dust nets hang from corridor lamps or wall corners.

Same in our room although the room is made everyday. The bath linen are changed.
We had to move the children beds to get a piece of Lego and regretted to see what was under the bed.... Furniture could be moved once a year for some proper cleaning i guess!!

Staff was clearly divided in two leagues: the old Austrian team and the new Yugoslavian (Croatian?) team. It was painful to witness their fights and exchanges of (bad) words.
Clearly a heavy atmosphere where staff members seemed to suffer from an unpleasant and frustrating situation.

Restaurant staff was effective but unfriendly and sometimes rude (throwing plates on table or clearly annoyed by requests such as "may we have some bread please?"!)

The hotel Director was always present. He helped and accommodated every and each request. In the most effective and smile deprived way. Like the rest of the staff.

Can one complain if nobody smiles but all do their job?!

Conclusion: effective but unpleasant service, poor dinner meals, great breakfasts, great location, nice spacious bedrooms, good sized pool.




  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitesurffamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I come here every year with my family and in-laws to ski and celebrate the New Year. This year we had a chance to compare our skiing holiday with another nice 4* hotel in another part of Austria. All I can say is, we missed Riezlern and Hotel Jagdhof so much we wished we were there instead! So this weekend my hubby took me and our two kids back there for a quick skiing break, and with fresh eyes we saw that nothing can beat the Jagdhof when it comes to personal touch, good food, cozy friendly atmosphere and value for money! Loved that our kids cost nothing, that for 132 euros per person we got ourselves a huge 2-room apt with excellent breakfast buffet until noon, lunch, tea and cakes and delicious 6-course dinner; that the ski lift, bus stop, supermarket, ski rental, post office and pharmacy is less than 5 minutes walk away; that the whole hotel is child-friendly; that parking for our huge mobile home was free, accessible in snowy weather and in front of the door (almost).. So many good things about this hotel that I took for granted before and only noticed after comparing it directly with another, supposedly better and more expensive, hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ZadaZainal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2008

I've stayed at the Jagdhof 6 times in the last 6 years, always for skiing and to celebrate the New Year. It's a quaint family hotel, very child-friendly, lovely rooms, excellent food (expansive buffet breakfast, delicious gourmet dinners serving austrian and european food) and wonderful staff who will bend over backwards to make your stay special. What I like most is that there's a ski lift right next door so you don't have to lug your skis far to enjoy the Kanselwand mountain, and the hotel is also located right on the main street if you feel like shopping or taking the bus to other areas of the valley. The swimming pool and spa are fabulous too.
It's worth to check the rooms first before checking in- they have different layouts and some might be more suitable for you than others.

Negatives- they don't refill the breakfast bar after 10am, there are no tea-making facilities in the room, some rooms have the toilet far away from the bathroom (plus for some?), the spa treatments offered are a bit pricey, and the restaurant does not do ala carte but has a 3-course set menu with different choices every night. English is also not widely spoken- having a German speaker in your group is a must! A gripe that I have with most European hotels- it's always 2 single mattresses pushed together to make a double bed and the pillows are always too soft and floppy. Bring your own pillows!

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank ZadaZainal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riezlern
1.1 mi away
Travel Charme Ifen Hotel
Travel Charme Ifen Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hirschegg
388 reviews
0.7 mi away
Genuss- & Aktivhotel Sonnenburg
0.5 mi away
Boutique Hotel Herzhof
Boutique Hotel Herzhof
#3 of 14 in Riezlern
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riezler Hof
Riezler Hof
#4 of 14 in Riezlern
71 reviews
0.1 mi away
Haller's PostHotel
Haller's PostHotel
#13 of 14 in Riezlern
24 reviews
2.6 mi away
IFA Alpenrose Hotel
IFA Alpenrose Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mittelberg
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jagdhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jagdhof

Property: Hotel Jagdhof
Address: Walserstrasse 27, Riezlern 6991, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Kleinwalsertal > Riezlern
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Riezlern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jagdhof 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Jagdhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing