We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Host is Incredible!”
Review of House Zupan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
House Zupan
Ranked #1 of 34 Rakovica B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sammamish, Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Host is Incredible!”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Marijana was responsive and helpful immediately once we started communicating with her via email so we booked with her.

We don't have a rental car and are traveling by bus so we had arranged to have her pick us up from the bus stop once we arrived. We didn't even have the chance to get the phone from our pocket before her kind son arrived to pick us up. He was an absolutely gentleman helped with our bags and then made sure we had everything we needed during our stay before he excused himself to make us coffee and tea.

There is a grocery store that accepts international credit cards with no minimum purchase just a 5 minute walk down the driveway. There is a viewpoint walk that is less than half a kilometer up the driveway.

The place is clean, spacious and comfortable. The room is excellent, with an ensuite bathroom and towels included. The kitchen has a gas burner, kettle, huge refrigerator and the host is willing to bring you anything you need.

We arrived a few hours later after walking around and the host greeted us at the door and asked what we needed. She was beyond helpful and ended up bring us wine and cooking ingredients we had requested. She is an absolute sweetheart and you feel right at home and very comfortable here.

The place is peaceful and beautiful and comfortable.

The son of the host was incredibly helpful and drove us to the park entrance the second day we were there, and then picked us up as soon as we asked to return home.

I would definitely recommend this place to stay on your way to visiting the Plitvice Lakes!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tmingi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    26
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
118
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The Plitvice Lakes are a nearby major attraction. We (two couples) stayed at Marijana's B & B for two nights. It's an attractive and comfortable house with good accommodations, a small kitchen, nearby Konzum groceries, patios and a very, very cheerful, welcoming, helpful and friendly atmosphere....we arranged for breakfasts by Marijana's sister, which were excellent. handsome dogs, what more could you ask?

Marijana sent us off with a gift flagon of slivovitiz...this is what travel should be like!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Marijana the owner is a kind and generous person she helped us a lot with all our needs like recommendation for good restaurants visiting Plitvitze etc... Room was clean Balcony has a view of the garden with great plum & apples trees with tasty fruits Breakfast was great Marijana prepared for each of us a different plate WiFi was good Supermarket is nearby We definite recommend House Zupan as a place to feel like at home

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giora53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed here for our visit to the Plitvice lakes, which are a short drive from here. House Zupan is in a gorgeous spot with stunning views and has a very peaceful feel to it. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable, and the house has a communal area with kitchen and sofa. We were given a very warm welcome by Marijana, who was wonderful, she really couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast was fantastic, well worth the 7 euros.

This was the best accommodation we stayed in during our time in Croatia, and great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keylock100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

From the moment Marijana warmly greeted us upon our arrival with smiles and a hot drink, we felt at home. To then find ourselves staying in what was to be the best room we had during our 8 night stay in Croatia was a bonus. The room had a cosy, alpine feel to it and was a good size, had a super comfortable bed, piping hot shower, and a private veranda with lovely views of the countryside. We didnt take the breakfast, but instead made use of the excellent cooking facilites/ dining room to prepare our own.

The guesthouse is a couple of minutes walk from a supermarket, and only a few kms drive from Plitvice Lakes and nearby restaurants. Marijana gave us some useful tips to help us make the most of the two days we had in the area, and we were glad we listened to her wise words! She also generously gave me a couple of jars of her homemade marmalade which I had seen her and her family preparing in their smoking room!

Marijana, her husband, children and pet dogs were nothing but welcoming, we only wish we could have stayed longer than two nights.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The house and the surroundings are very attractive, and the rooms are comfortable and very clean, with large balconies. Marijana is a very welcoming and helpful hostess and gave us good advice on a nearby restaurant for dinner. The breakfast at House Zupan is well worth taking for the extra 7 euros per person--it includes eggs, cereal, pastries, juice, coffee, etc. There is a good chance Marijana will also provide you with a special beverage. We highly recommend House Zupan.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pointski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We booked this because Trip Advisor's reviews were so impressive and we were not disappointed. The house, Marijana and her sister-in-law (who does the breakfasts) were all wonderful. We were told to pick as much fruit from the garden as we liked and so we left with apples, pears and plums which lasted us for over a week. Marijana noticed from my passport that I had a birthday while we were staying with her. She gave me kind birthday wishes and a drink of slivovitz! (Plum brandy made by her father.) She also recommended three very good restaurants which we visited and enjoyed. All in all it was a thoroughly enjoyable, memorable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanBurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rakovica
1.5 mi away
Turist Grabovac
Turist Grabovac
#1 of 3 in Grabovac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Degenija
Hotel Degenija
#1 of 1 in Rakovica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
8.0 mi away
Plitvice Hotel
Plitvice Hotel
#2 of 9 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
House Tina
House Tina
#1 of 14 in Grabovac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
8.8 mi away
Plitvice Miric Inn
Plitvice Miric Inn
#1 of 99 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
11.7 mi away
House Izvor
House Izvor
#9 of 99 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House Zupan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House Zupan

Property: House Zupan
Address: Rakovica 35, Rakovica, Plitvice Lakes National Park 47245, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Plitvice Lakes National Park > Rakovica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Rakovica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — House Zupan 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your House Zupan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Zupan Plitvice Lakes National Park, Croatia - Rakovica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing