We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely Hotel”
Review of Hotel Degenija

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Degenija
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rakovica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2013

What a great little homely hotel, the rooms are spacious clean and comfortable.
The staff are great and very helpful especially when trying to sort transport out.
Right next door to the hotel is a lovely little restaurant which serves a variety of food.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

341 - 347 of 612 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

Hotel Degenija is on the outskirts of the Plitvice Lakes National Park. The pictures don't do the hotel justice, as they make it look like a typical building built in the Soviet era, which it is not. The hotel is quite nice, very clean, comfortable, and the desk help welcomed us with shots of slivovitce (spelling?), the local plum brandy. We had a delicious dinner at the restaurant which is nearby (I am unsure if it is actually connected to the hotel), but the food was authentic and tasty. Breakfast at the hotel was very good, with eggs made to order and plenty of other offerings. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tarheel1733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

What a great place! Everything was lovely from the room to the staff and breakfast. The best was one front desk staff in particular who was so friendly and kind. He arranged for a lovely rose petal decoration on our bed and champagne sent to our room as we were on our honeymoon. He also assisted us to find the best route to leave the area to reach Dubrovnik as there were several roads closed due to a storm. He really made our experience at this hotel amazing and deserves recognition!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenniferWosmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This hotel exceeded my expectations. It is very convenient to Plitvice Lakes NP and thus, fairly remote. However, the rooms are clean, spacious and modern. The bathroom in my room was quite large and absolutely spotless. The only negative was the soundproofing between the bathrooms could have been better, but it was fine in the rest of the room. I also felt that the hotel was a very good value for the money.

The only negative was the breakfast, which was included in the price of the room. It was nothing special. While I usually do not have particularly high expectations for this type of breakfast, this one was a bit more disappointing because the quality of the food. My biggest complaint was with the bacon, which was very gristly. It wasn't just an errant strip of bacon, as all three strips had the same problem.

Breakfast aside, this hotel is a very nice place to stay when on a trip to the Plitvice Lakes area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cayman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

About 5 mins drive from the entry to the Park this is a good place to stay, other hotels we saw did not look too great.
Comfortable rooms - looked as though they had been recently refurbished with wooden floors & nice bathroom.
Dining room not huge - so can get a bit busy a times but breakfast buffet was nice

There is a very pleasant open walled bar/lounge for lazing in.

Restaurant next door serves good reasonably priced food - pizzas very nice, but gets very busy - lots of folk staying locally come in to eat - so a reservation essential. Due to being very busy service can get put under pressure - but doesn't seem to be any local competition!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clanc00per
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Room was on the top floor and was very spacious with a separate living area and a lovely view of the countryside (room 31) .Being a corner location it was very quiet - It had a desk and fast internet connection. Reception staff very welcoming, friendly and helpful.
Restaurant is very popular, we ate early at 6 and by the time we left, people were queuing to get a table. Good food at a reasonable price. Breakfast was included and had a great range and quality of food, including fresh fruit salad, eggs, bacon, ham, toast pancakes etc.
It was a 10 minute drive to the No 1 entrance to the Lakes.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoopersville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The best decision you can make is to stay at the Hotel Degenija. The rooms are spacious ,very clean and tastefully decorated.The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is varied and rich. In the hotel's restaurant you have a wide selection of menus. Highly recommended are the Pizza which are huge. I will definitely come back next year!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank khotso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rakovica
4.5 mi away
Plitvice Hotel
Plitvice Hotel
#2 of 9 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
584 reviews
5 mi away
Villa Mukinja
Villa Mukinja
#5 of 9 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
137 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Jezero
Hotel Jezero
#4 of 9 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Turist Grabovac
Turist Grabovac
#1 of 3 in Grabovac
343 reviews
5.4 mi away
Tourist Centar Marko
Tourist Centar Marko
#6 of 9 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
76 reviews
0.4 mi away
House Jelena
House Jelena
#1 of 2 in Dreznik Grad
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Degenija? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Degenija

Address: Seliste Dreznicko bb, Rakovica, Plitvice Lakes National Park 47245, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Plitvice Lakes National Park > Rakovica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rakovica
Price Range: £52 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Degenija 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the village of Seliste Dreznicko, Hotel Degenija offers rooms with free Wi-Fi and a flat-screen TV. The entrance of the Plitvice Lakes National Park is just 4 km away.The rooms at Degenija Hotel feature a modern interior with dark wooden furniture and parquet floors. All rooms have a work desk, a minibar, and an en suite bathroom with a tub.Degenija’s restaurant offers traditional Croatian dishes as well as international cuisine. The restaurant’s speciality is freshly caught trout.For those who want to explore the hotel and the beauty of its natural surroundings, Hotel Degenija offers rental bicycles. Children can have fun at the playground. Free private parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Degenija reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Degenija Plitvice Lakes National Park, Croatia - Rakovica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing