We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location for visiting lakes ... kids loved...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Eko-klanac

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Rakovica, Plitvice Lakes National Park, Central Croatia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Dangerous...
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location for visiting lakes ... kids loved it”
Reviewed 2 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were very happy with the property and importantly it is as advertised.
Perhaps not for those who are used to 5-star access with all the amenities, but after time in the islands with all the trappings it was nice to head to mountains for peace and quiet.
Key pickup was simple as the pickup location is at the beginning of the road to the property and is clearly signed. Daniel (i think that was his name) took us to the property and was helpful throughout the process. Excellent job!
Location for Plitvice is excellent ... 15 min drive! (It will take you longer to line up for the bathroom at the Lakes than it will to drive from Eko-klanc to the Lakes car park.)
No wi-fi (as advertised) but my phone had intermittent 3G which was fine for sending one or two emails although reception is not reliable.
Kids had an absolute ball at the property, but i would note that the Lakes is pretty difficult with youngsters (mine 2 yo and 4yo) - very steep/narrow paths, slippery when wet and big lines for female toilet. We did the wall in Dubrovnik with the kids - the Lakes was significantly more difficult (in part due to weather).
It rained while we were there and was cold but there was plenty of fire wood provided to keep us warm. Loved the wood fire!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Happy children and a log fire!
Liked least: The property was as advertised, but note the kitchen is small
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5travel17
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful in the country location”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Eko-Klanac
Firstly to get access to the lodge you need to go to 106 Rakovica Rd, heading towards Jelov Klanac, where the owner lives to collect the keys. Google map will get you to her place but not iPhone maps!
The lodge was clean and tidy, and they provided a large bottle of water on arrival. They also had washing up liquid, sponges and soap in the bathroom.
You can't drink the tap water its stored rain water, the shower is hot if needed.
There is no internet which is a shock for the addicted kids but also nice to wean them off for a few days. Although all the restaurants and bars provide free wifi.
The cooking pans are not big enough for a family of 4 or 5 to cook with, so we had to cook pasta 2 servings at a time. TV provided is fine. There is no aircon, so during the day it's a bit warm. At night time it gets very cool and the design of the lodge keeps this cool air trapped during the morning.
It is located on a hilltop with 2 other lodges on an organic farm. The views are beautiful and it's very peaceful. There are some lovely walks you can do around the area and stables nearby for horse riding. They also provide a purpose built bbq cabin with wood to make a fire and large seating area. A lovely seated swing to watch the sunset on.
You do need a car for this lodge, the nearest restaurant and market is 3km away. Plitvice lakes are 20km away but easy to drive to. There are lots of activities to do in the area. Kayaking, quad biking, horse riding all easy access from this lodge.
The owner was lovely, spoke good English if you needed anything you can call her. It would however be useful to have some maps and brochures in the lodge to work out what there is to do especially when there is no internet access.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful views and peaceful location in the countryside
Liked least: Beacuse you are not near restaurants and food stores, cooking facilities were hard to cook for a family of 5, so we ate out alot but it's a drive to get to places.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DODEL123
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful cabin in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This was the perfect place to stay for a visit to Plitvice Lakes National Park. It is a very short distance to the park (about 10 minutes) and after travelling around the park amidst the crowds, it was great to return to the peacefulness of the cabin in its rural setting. The cabin itself is beautiful, with outstanding views in all directions. We made good use of the BBQ and the cook house, which was a really nice feature of the property. Ljubica was a fantastic host, and like all the Croatian people we met, she was incredibly welcoming. We even received a basket of fresh produce from her bio-farm which was very tasty. In terms of amenities nearby, there is a grocery store a few minutes away and a restaurant. There were five of us staying in the cabin, and there was plenty of space. The only thing that would be nice to have when it gets to 35 degrees Celsius is air conditioning in the upstairs bedroom – but you can open the windows and eventually it does cool off at night. Although there is no WiFi, there is a restaurant nearby which serves excellent coffee with free WiFi, so this was not an issue. As a family of runners, we really enjoyed our runs down the county road (albeit it was very hot). I should add that while the setting is rural, it is not isolated. It’s the perfect place to stay for a visit to the area!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and setting, the cabin itself is beautiful
Liked least: Lack of air conditioning, could use more utensils in kitchen
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibaoz
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Shocking experience”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had booked this self contained unit for our holiday in Croatia several months in advance directly via the website. Ljubica had been in touch via email and had been extremely helpful with road directions and instruction for the trip from Zagreb in a rental car. You can therefore imagine our shock and dismay when upon our arrival we were greeted by her teenage son with limited English who informed us that there had been an overbooking and that our appartment was taken! Instead we were told that we could stay in the family houses attic which upon inspection was a far cry from the advertised units. When we incredulously complained that that was not acceptable we were eventually offered the room for free for the first night. Because we had planned an early start to Plitvice NP the next morning, changing rooms the next day would not have worked for us. My repeated requests to speak to Ljubica herself were rebuffed by her sons who were conversing with her remotely on the phone. Ultimately we were stranded and spent the next few hours finding accommodation which in July is no easy feat. I would not recommend booking this unit.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2014
Dear Sir,
thank you for your reveiw about your holiday.
First of all, I wonder have you ever made any mistake?
If we offered to you our room which is as well three star, legal accommodation for free, why this was so big problem for you.
My opinion is we have not deserved this review,anyone can make mistake, even in the 5 star hotels all around the world.
We know it and we refuse to accept this review.
Enjoy your holidays wherever you go, wish you all the best without any troubles or mistakes in future.
Ljubica
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA USA
Reviewed 3 November 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Prodinger...
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2017 for a stay in September 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerstin W
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2017
Dear Kerstin,
thank you for your nice review.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay by our house.
Hope to see you again.
Best regards
Sabljak family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing