We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Happy, Sunny (& Funny) Days in the Heart of the...”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Caserma Carina

Wish you were here!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wish you were here!
Sunset over the pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
232 reviews
Wish you were here!
Sunset over the pool
Elegantly fenced pool for safety
Monte Conero
Dine under the gazebo
Romantic terrace view
Stunning views from our terraces
Ancient Abbey only 10 minutes away
Gardens in colour
Views from our gardens
Caserma Carina Country House
Lake Fiastra January 2009
Mogliano festival
Caserma Carina's views of the mountains
Wine tasting
Fun art holidays
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Mogliano, Province of Macerata, Marche

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 232 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Duncanoft...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Happy, Sunny (& Funny) Days in the Heart of the Italian Countryside”
Reviewed 19 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Quite how the region of Marche has slipped under the typical holiday radar is something of a mystery; rolling hills, friendly locals, traditional food and wine at non-tourst prices..... Well actually, those of us in the know should keep it a secret.....

However, what we must share is the welcome and hosipitality of our fantastic hosts at Caserma Carina, Lesley, Dean and daughter Grace, who made this a frankly unique experience! Fun, caring, helpful and incredibly generous with their time and advice yet at no time intrusive; an evening on the terrace with them and other guests will be remembered a long time once it all comes back to me!

Everything about the house, garden and pool exhibited the care and attention that is required to keep guests absolutely happy; of all our fellow travellers, we were the only newbies and I think that tells it's own tale, so do take your early morning flight to Ancona, and get poolside whilst the sun is still up in the sky, popping in to the honesty cellar en route to make the first sunbathe truly memorable.

Mogliano and its environs have their own attractions, including hilltop restaurants serving high quality home-cooked food; and Assisi is a little over an hour away - a highight for us. We will also want to be back during the opera festival at Macerata in late July.....and even the coast is less than an hour's drive away. But if lazy days are your thing, get in the lush garden of Caserna Carina, foat in the pool, slope off for an equally lazy lunch and then come back for more of the same, Avoid Dean's jokes (but do take his fabulous wine tour) and enjoy Grace's mysterious enjoyment at having strangers around her house all summer and beyond! And Lesley loves speedos!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCKEssex
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 18 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I always used to say I'd never go to the same place twice, but Caserma Carina did for that!!
This was our 8th visit and Caserma Carina just keeps getting better.
2 weeks of sunshine, great surroundings, great food and drink and great company make for an amazing holiday.
Dean & Lesley work so hard to keep everything "just right" for their guests and are the perfect hosts with amazing local knowledge and recommendations.
If you're looking for an Italian escape with all the charm of Tuscany but without the coach loads of tourists and the inflated prices you should definitely try Caserma Carina, you won't be disappointed.
There are plenty of local restaurants, we seem to discover a new one every year. A must for all guests is a trip to the local vineyard, Cantina Murola for Dean's wine tasting evening. Great fun and great wine.
Another amazing holiday, can't wait for the next one!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshinet...
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely place set in beautiful gardens”
Reviewed 14 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We had a lovely stay in Caserma Carina. The drive to the house was very picturesque and then the beautiful gardens and vibrant flowers that came into view surrounding the house was just a picture!

We enjoyed the very relaxed feel of the place and the quiet setting. Some days we had the pool and gardens to ourselves which was simply wonderful, especially with our 16 month old running around. The apartment we had had everything we needed plus lots of children's toys and games. The kitchen was fully kitted out and we really liked that Dean and Lesley had a mobile baby chair which we took with us to restaurants, perfect for our daughter. The apartment was spotless when we arrived and very comfortable with lots of room and storage for our things.

The town is a short walk from Caserma Carina where we enjoyed the food at Marina's and La Perla, as well as the pizza places and the gelato from Zanzibar.

Both Dean and Lesley were very welcoming indeed, lovely hosts who let you get on with it but are there if you need them and are very knowledgeable of the area. The great care and effort they have put into the house and gardens is amazing. The secluded patio at the end of the pool with views of the hills and sunflowers, perfect place for an evening meal and glass of wine or watching the sun set. The pool toys and sun beds. There are lovely touches here and there that made our stay with our toddler even better.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Caserma Carina and would recommend to others who are looking for a very chilled out, relaxed place to unwind. We didn't venture out very far for a few days because we liked the apartment, pool and gardens so much. We loved that it was very child friendly. Perfect place for some family time.

We loved Marley too!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcester...
worcestershire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 3 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We have returned to Caserma Carena after a break of a couple of years and it's just as perfect,
Very beautiful ,
Great hosts , lovely area , couldn't get any better .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodleadh...
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A perfect setting to recharge the batteries”
Reviewed 25 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Caserma Carina nestles in a wonderful location. This was our third visit and we were thrilled to be reunited with the spectacular view. There to meet us were Dean, Lesley and Grace. Their welcome was so warm and hospitable. They have done a marvellous and sensitive job in restoring their property and in providing lovely, comfortable accommodation. The garden and pool area are really attractive and tended to meticulously by Dean and Lesley. They are up early every morning to prepare the garden for their guests. Loungers are cleaned and cushions are installed on them, plants and lawns are watered, the pool is cleaned and checked and parasols are made available. Any question you may have is answered helpfully by Dean and Lesley and they are a mine of useful advice and information about the local area, visits that can be made and restaurants to be enjoyed. They will book tables for you and arrange taxis. The whole set up is beautifully organised in such a way that you can't help but relax and enjoy your holiday. Caserma Carina suits us perfectly.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dragons69
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A picturesque location, peaceful and relaxing with AMAZING hosts!”
Reviewed 24 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Such a beautiful place to stay, perfect views, relaxing and yet fun!
Dean and Lesley are the perfect hosts, they have a great sense of humour, provide everything you could need for a truly wonderful stay and can take you to an amazing local winery!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owen G
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Relaxing retreat”
Reviewed 24 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Lesley and Dean were wonderful hosts at this fabulously relaxing retreat. They simply couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable, helping with everything from advice on shops and day trips. Having lived in the area for so long, they were able to tailor their advice to our needs and got it spot on every time. Their skill as hosts is best demonstrated by the number of repeat guests who were staying at the same time as us. They have used great skill and hard work in transforming and maintaining the house and gardens, which made for a very comfortable stay. Many thanks for making us feel so welcome!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing