We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is unique”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tavern 47

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tavern 47
Certificate of Excellence
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“It is unique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

I felt regret that i had only 1 night stay at Tavern 47 during my Shangri-La trip in May 2013. I mean i have to spend more days there!

This guest house is super lovely. It is run by a young couple. Christine, a Naxi & her husband is a Korean. You won't feel bored due to the couple is really full of fun & they have fascinating love story!

The bedroom looks great! Cozy, clean with Tibetan feel. Location is good too. Sifang Square is just around the corner. From here to the chicken temple is not too far. Don't miss out on chicken temple if you stayed at Tavern 47. Believe me, the view is superb! & the most important is......there's no entrance free.

I will definitely go back to Tavern 47 during my 2nd trip to Shangri-la!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Feifei80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    26
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
20
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jurong, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Owner and staff were funny, and helpful in offering advice on places to visit various parts of Shangrila.. The electrical blankets were helpful in the nights with negative temperatures. Baths can only be taken at selected times though and sleeping on level 2, you still can hear ppl conversing on level 1..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dynastyhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed at Tavern 47 for 3 nights at the end of October. The weather was good during our stay but the nights were cold, we definitely needed the electric blankets! The owner Kim and his wife were great and very helpful. Their daughters (the cooks) were hilarious, there was always loud singing coming from the kitchen whenever they were in there. We had an en suite twin room on the ground floor. Initially we were a bit concerned since it had thin walls and it was right next door to the kitchen but we did not find that the owner and his family got up particularly early in the morning. The room was very cosy, especially with the electric blankets on, and it was nicely decorated in the Tibetan style, certainly not bland! The bathroom and shower were modern and clean. Breakfast on our first morning was somewhat disappointing but we realized we had mistakenly ordered the watery Tibetan porridge instead of the western one. This was corrected the next day and it was a lot better. Overall the food here was very good. Our favorite places to eat in Shangrila were the Somewhere Else cafe just off the main square, Tara's Gallery Cafe and The Olive bistro, all were excellent. We also ate at the Tantra Bar which has wonderful Yak stew.
One piece of advice, although the tavern is only a short walk to the center of the old town, it is a bit tricky to find by car. Make sure that you have the address printed out in Chinese and the phone number so you can show it to the taxi driver or to locals as you try to find the tavern. Our taxi driver called ahead for directions and we found the owner's wife outside ready to help us with our bags when we arrived.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julianne24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tainan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Even thought is a low season because of the winter, has been a really nice place to spend Christmas holidays. The owner Jun and all the staff, his wife and daughter are really nice people, very friendly and funny. The hostel is always clean, and the food is really good, Yak burger and Korean BBQ recommended. Also good place to met travelers from around the world. Come here if you come to Shangri-La, and definitely come to Shangri-La.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Totar7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Really nice place to stay in Shangrila. The owner Jun is great for a information or a few beers, the food is nice and the electric blankets are a must in December. Very glad we stayed here for 2 nights. No problem!

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Joshua H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
170 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed 3 nights in a twin bedroom with shared bedroom

Pros
- Very friendly and funny korean host
- Our room was clean, quiet and confortable
- You can try Korean food. I recommend the Korean BBQ
- Good location in the north of the old town
- Electrical blanket, a must have in Shangri La in December

Cons
- I played Starcraft versus the host and i lost

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CyrilMaraboO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
163 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Tavern 47 hostel. We stayed 1 night in a double room with shared bath and 2 nights in a double room with attached bath. The shared bathrooms are clean. There are 2 toilets and 2 showers. The double room (shared) was outside by the balcony. It was a nice, basic room with electric blanket. We slept well. The only noise was people smoking on the balcony. The double room with bath was on the main floor. There is more noise with the common room, people walking by and those above. It's a lovely wooden building, but noise travels. The attached bath was good. There was nice, hot water.
The staff is great here. English speaking, friendly, helpful.
Food is reasonably priced and good. Yak burger is great. Noodle soup is a huge bowl and fresh. Korean food is good, too! The girls can cook!
Very pleased with our stay.
The chicken temple is close to the hostel, too. Just go left out of the hostel, take a left by the collectors view Inn and head up hill! Just 15 or so minutes uphill.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suttonase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shangri-La County hotels
0.7 mi away
Hylandia by Shangri-La
Hylandia by Shangri-La
#4 of 163 in Shangri-La County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
3.2 mi away
Songtsam Shangri-la (Lugu) Hotel
Songtsam Shangri-la (Lugu) Hotel
#1 of 163 in Shangri-La County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arro Khampa Shangrila By Zinc Journey
Arro Khampa Shangrila By Zinc Jo...
#5 of 163 in Shangri-La County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Songtsam Retreat at Shangri la - MGallery Collection
Songtsam Retreat at Shangri la -...
#3 of 163 in Shangri-La County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kevin's Trekker Inn
Kevin's Trekker Inn
#2 of 227 in Shangri-La County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tibet Guest House
Tibet Guest House
#4 of 227 in Shangri-La County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tavern 47? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tavern 47

Property: Tavern 47
Address: No.47 Bei men Street, Old town, Shangri-La County 674400, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Shangri-La County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 227 B&Bs / Inns in Shangri-La County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Tavern 47 Shangri-La County, China - Yunnan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing