We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food great view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sean's Spring Guesthouse
Ranked #34 of 231 Shangri-La County B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food great view”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Feels like you surrounded by the most beautiful nature. The menu is extensive and I loved the vegetable noodle soup. Really a special place and enjoy the soun of nature. The staff have been there a long time and know the area well. I was on my way to Haba village and used the guest house as a pit stop.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rynoboet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    26
    13
    8
    14
See reviews for
10
31
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

If you can make the walk past Tina's and some of the other places you hit right as you descend from the gorge, you will not be disappointed at Sean's. It is about a 2km walk from Tina's when you come out of the gorge.

Great views. Clean rooms. More comfortable beds than the other guesthouses we stayed in around the gorge. Good food. Nice family. Sean is also very helpful when you can track him down, is a wealth of information for things to do around the gorge.

This place is run by one family, and they do their best to take care of you. Little surprised by reviewers that come to a place like this, run by a hard-working family and then complain about not being waited on hand and foot. They take care of you. Sometimes you have to ask, but they were always willing to help us out.

Paid 120 RMB for a room with two twin beds, TV, AC, and hot water. Can't beat that.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at Sean's for one night at the end of May 2014. It was a great place to stop on our trek through the gorge. We did the trek in one day, stopping at the halfway house for lunch (left from the ticket office at 7:30am and lunch took about an hour) and arrived at Sean's at 4:30pm. We had a great meal of pork curry and steamed veggies and two cold beers.

Sean and Lily were great help giving us help and info of how to get to Shangri-la and the room was comfortable and clean. Would definitely recommend staying at Sean's!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed in seans after completing the hike. Sean and his hostess were very polite an friendly. The room was lovely with a private bathroom and the view was breathtaking! We sat outside eating and drinking for the evening with other guests...the food was amazing! We had the 'fried rice wih everything' and 'fried rice with beef' for dinner and rice porridge for breakfast. It was my favourite meals in china so far! We found the room a little pricey but food was very good value. Easy to get down to the middle leaping gorge and Tina's from seans.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cludge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
420 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

If you can muster the energy it's a really good idea to keep walking past Tina's along the road (Easy!) for just half an hour to Sean's. He's been in the gorge with his smart and spacious guesthouse for 34 years! He knows everything, and is a real character, but times aren't good because of all the very average modern hotels that have opened up along the route. Sean's is much more peaceful, with a great outdoor social space under flowers and trees and a much better view than at Tina's, halfway etc. Only had coffee in the morning and that was good, but didn't want to ask for food as I was the only one there and didn't want to bother the team who were busy elsewhere! I really recommend walking on to Sean's. He also offers free-pick-ups from Tina's.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgp1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Sean's guest house has some really good things going for it: it's got a big outdoor terrace where you can sit in the sun and view the gorge; a massive Western/Chinese menu which would cater well for fussy eaters and children; and Sean speaks English so it's fairly easy to organise different things for upcoming trips or transportation. The downside is this is not a guesthouse, or if it is it doesn't really feel like one. It's a business and Sean seems to run the place with money in mind. That's fair enough, but if you're after a guesthouse feel and somewhere relaxing with staff on hand to get drinks/food and a desire to feel a part of the place, this might not be the accommodation for you. On arrival there's no real greeting – your reservation needs to be quoted and you're shown to your room. There was no information given about breakfast/hikes/the area and in the morning no one was to be found to sort any of those things so we did our own walk around the gorge and ate upon return at 11am. The rooms themselves are clean and there was hot water. But nothing is provided in quantity – you get one tiny cheap roll of toilet paper and a tiny soap and it's not easy finding extras. But the rooms are comfortable enough, although they are not cheap (we were in a deluxe room). The outdoor terrace is lacking love – there's plastic buckets and brooms and bottles and things lying around which detracts from the beautiful garden that lines the terrace. A few hours of care and the place would be really beautiful. We organised transport through the guest house to Lijiang which was sorted but at a significant cost, some 200+ yuan more we realised later than most charge. The food was pretty good in terms of quality, nothing particularly exceptional, but that's to be expected when the menu is so large. Everything is a bit more pricey here than the other options on the middle gorge strip. The portions were really large though for the food ordered. Overall I think this is a good place if you have the cash and want an English speaking place to stay, or a family who need space and a big menu but if you want a more authentic guest house or lots of local information or someone on hand for your stay, have a look at what other places are on offer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xdaisyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N/A
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Good, simple accommodation (we went for the cheap room with shared bathroom). Hot showers, amazing food and Lily the hostess is really lovely. Not often do we have hotel staff helping with bags. She even called us up to check we were ok as we hadn't arrived by sunset. Try the banana pancakes!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shangri-La County
23.2 mi away
Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)
52.7 mi away
Songtsam Shangri-la (Lugu) Hotel
Songtsam Shangri-la (Lugu) Hotel
#2 of 164 in Shangri-La County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
50.4 mi away
Hylandia by Shangri-La
Hylandia by Shangri-La
#4 of 164 in Shangri-La County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
49.6 mi away
Arro Khampa Shangrila By Zinc Journey
Arro Khampa Shangrila By Zinc Jo...
#5 of 164 in Shangri-La County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tibet Guest House
Tibet Guest House
#3 of 231 in Shangri-La County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tina's Youth Hostel
Tina's Youth Hostel
#14 of 19 in Shangri-La County
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sean's Spring Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sean's Spring Guesthouse

Property: Sean's Spring Guesthouse
Address: Tiger Leaping Gorge | Walnut Garden, Shangri-La County 674402, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Shangri-La County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Shangri-La County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sean's Spring Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First oreginal Guesthouse;warmest place and comfortable place in this area, great food with out M.S.G ! we carefully plan trip for every type of defferent condition person to join tour with us here ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Sean's Spring Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sean's Spring Guesthouse Shangri-La County, China - Yunnan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing