We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tina's Youth Hostel
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We arrived by bus from Lijiang late morning. We did not stay here but it is a convenient place (a store room with no lock) to leave our backpack (no charge) for 2 days here. We had noodles before taking the trail down to middle gorge from the point after the bridge, it is Yuan10. You can take the sky ladder (bat 50 rungs, 30m long) on the way up.

After hiking down from tiger leaping gorge 2 days later, picked up our backpack and had lunch here. A must try is kao rou or roasted sliced pork fried with sliced garlic & ginger, dry chillies and pepper seeds. We voted it as the best dish throughout our 10 day Yunnan trip. The three of us had 2 plates for lunch and another plate 2 hours later with coffee and apple pie (quite good too) before boarding the 3.30pm bus to Shangrila. Only Yuan30 a plate.

There are buses or vans, booked on the same day from Tina's GH to Lijiang or Shangri La, leaving at 3.30pm.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank kokngai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 45 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed here for one night following a two day trek of the high trail of Tiger Leaping Gorge. Whilst everyone arrived here and rushed down to the stone and back in order to make it for the bus back to Lijiang we strolled down at leisure. We milled around at the bottom for a few hours playing on the stones and taking it all in. Plus we also wanted to give Tina's some trade as we had heard that they help loads of people with free luggage storage, information and buses etc. yet get little in return. As soon as we got there we sat in the restaurant/reception area and looked out at the epic mountain view. This room wasn't as nice as it could be, at least by comparison to hostels on the way but it did have a lovey big table stove which, had the windows and doors been kept closed, would have taken the chill out of the room on a cold day/night. We ate some food which was filling and reasonably priced. I had a Naxi chicken sandwich twice (lunch & dinner) because it was very yummy indeed. This hostel is part of the Youth Hostel China and International Hostelling Associations so 10% discount is on offer should you join. There is an office onsite if you're interested. We got a twin ensuite room and it was very clean, well furnished and cost us 70 Yuan which is the equivalent of getting a dorm bed each. We also had a TV in our room. The only reason it didn't get an excellent score in my opinion is because the bathroom appeared to leak water from somewhere and the place lacked a bit of character. Other than that its well worth a stay here and the staff are really really nice.

Room Tip: You can pay at bit more and get an upstairs twin room - we stayed downstairs as we were on a very ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mitchiemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

We stayed in the nice hostel 3 days and we are very satisfied with it.
We had a clean double room with the lowest price category. Still we can see the mountains directly in front of our door. Just imagine that you wake up and see the great mountains!
In the restaurant they offered very good food for almost the whole day, The price is reasonable for China but very delicious.
They also offer schuttel bus to Lijiang and Shangrila.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littel Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We had to stay at Tina's because of a landslide - we couldnt go back to Qiaotou that day.
After 3 hours from Tea Horse GH (slow pace, taking pictures, spending time appreciating the creation), we adventured to go to Middle TLG. That was exhausting, but worthed!

Room: 30rmb per bed in a clean and simple room for 6 people.
Shower: not that convenient, cold water, broken door.
Service: Tina was not the nicest hostess, some information about landslide were not that helpful, and arrangement for transportation were super-over-priced.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FernandaLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The hostel is located close to the scramble down to Middle Tiger Leaping Gorge (spectacular, but only attempt if you are reasonably fit), Tina's hostel is perfectly adequate for what it offers. The rooms are clean, the restaurant food is cheap and reasonably good, and the views from the balcony above the reastaurant are spectacular. It is both a hostel and guesthouse, so pay the extra money and get a private room. The staff are good (if occasionally a little sullen), with a good level of English spoken, and can organise buses to Shang-Ri La or Lijiang. Just make sure you are ready to leave an hour before the advertised time so that you needn't take a taxi.

Room Tip: Get a private room. It is not expensive, and will make your stay more pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhMWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We enjoyed staying here for 3 nights as we trekked about the area. The business card for the hotel names it as Tina's Guest House but also on the card is the Hostelling logo, so I assume that it is one and the same. I only saw one Tina's and it's balanced rather precariously next to the creek and deep narrow gorge that plunges down to Tiger Leaping Gorge. You can easily walk down to the gorge from here and climb back up! We stayed in the hotel room section and found it to be clean and comfortable. The bathroom was western style and everything worked well including hot water.

The room is a typical budget style with tile floor and a hard bed but also has a chest of drawers and wardrobe and tv and a chair on the balcony ovelooking the gorge. We ate at the restaurant and thought the food was very good. You can watch it being prepared and its cooked on a very hot fire and made from fresh ingredients. They have a lovely sitting area next to the dining area where you can have a cold beer and gaze in awe at the gorge. I can't think what else one could need, plus it was very cheap and the owners and staff friendly.

For a good day walk, we strolled to Walnut garden, had some morning tea then headed up the hill behind Sean's guesthouse and walked ever higher back over the ridge and then down to Tina's. We only saw a herder with his cow and the rest of the time was spent in forest and clearings with magnificent views all around; there is a general trail you can follow and you can keep the river in view or hear it at least.

The owner also drove us to Zhongdian after our stay, for a very reasonable price as he had to do some shopping there.

Would certainly stay here again

Room Tip: Hotel room are very good, try and get the higher level ones on the top balcony (on left of building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I actually doubt if this Tina's Guest House is the same as other reviews (Tina's hostel), since we had hotelroom with twin bed, TV and separate bothroom with shower, toilet and toilet-table. Anyway... it is Tina's G.H just near the bridge crossing mountain waterstream "Shen Chuan Bridge". (see picture)

We booked this "HOSTEL" for one night, coming from lijiang by car and taking tiger leaping gorge on the way (lijiang side); then next morning drive White watter terraces close to habe. We did the trip with driver+guide.... they stayed in "old wing-side".

From the hostel you can take a hike down to the mid-section of george and hike up, to arrive just at other side of bridge (total takes about 3hr+)
.
Our room was in "new wing side" no.204..2e-floor. stay-sleep-room enough space; bathroom spacy with also toothbrushes etc; shower enough and warm water. Did not try the TV, but from our guide I understood they have at least one english chanal.
Internet (Wifi or Lan) not available (not in whole region: heared they are working on it).

Diner and breakfast you can order from menue-card and is wide assorted enough to suit any taste (I tried the pancake with walnuthonney for breakfst). For drinks, no fresh juices available. only standard drinks (cold or hot).

Good stop on the way in between Lijiang and Shangrila.
Wouls stay here next time again

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globetravelerNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shangri-La County hotels
1.1 mi away
Tea Horse Guesthouse
Tea Horse Guesthouse
#10 of 275 in Shangri-La County
114 reviews
49.6 mi away
Arro Khampa Shangrila By Zinc Journey
Arro Khampa Shangrila By Zinc Jo...
#4 of 179 in Shangri-La County
86 reviews
52.7 mi away
Songtsam Shangri-la (Lugu) Hotel
Songtsam Shangri-la (Lugu) Hotel
#2 of 179 in Shangri-La County
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.9 mi away
Banyan Tree Ringha
Banyan Tree Ringha
#1 of 179 in Shangri-La County
424 reviews
50.4 mi away
Shangri-La Resort, Shangri-La
Shangri-La Resort, Shangri-La
#5 of 179 in Shangri-La County
89 reviews
6.3 mi away
Tibet Guest House
Tibet Guest House
#2 of 275 in Shangri-La County
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tina's Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tina's Youth Hostel

Address: Middle Tiger Leaping Gorge, Yongsheng Village, Hutiaoxia Town, Shangri-La County 674402, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Shangri-La County
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Shangri-La County
Price Range: £10 - £13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Tina's Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tina's Youth Hostel Shangri-La County, China - Yunnan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing