We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tina's Youth Hostel
Nearby Hotels
Banyan Tree Ringha(Shangri-La County)
US$329
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$264
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Songtsam Linka Shangri-la(Shangri-La County)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Hotel(Shangri-La County)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Wonderland(Shangri-La County)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Shangri-La(Shangri-La County)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shangri-la Old Town Hotel(Shangri-La County)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Zhaxidele Hotel(Shangri-La County)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
4
21
22
14
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
21
22
14
12
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We didn't stay at this hostel, but we did have lunch here after exploring Tiger Leaping Gorge. I wouldn't recommend the food, but it's the only place that's really available for lunch for foreigners. The garlic nazi bread (which was delicious at Halfway Guesthouse!) was actually just naan with a dollop of garlic and a puddle of melted butter in the middle. We could tell it had been microwaved as the bread was soggy and some of the butter was still solid form.

The minibus service back to Lijiang that they operate is good though (although we were dropped at a random place in town at dusk, so had a lot of trouble getting back to the hostel.

Overall, average place with room for improvement.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cadenovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We used Tina's for our ride from Lijiang to Qiaotou and then stayed at Tina's for 1 night after walking the high trail. The bus ride is good and drops you right at the base of the trail in Qiaotou. They take your bag and store it at the hostel (not locked up).
We got a second floor room for 120Y. The room was okay. It had two beds and an attached bathroom. The room could use an overall cleaning. The tea cups still had tea left in them and there was water damage on one of the walls by the bed. It is definitely okay enough to stay in, but it's not top quality. It seemed similar to those on the high trail.
The food was just okay, but reasonably priced. The noodle dishes were bland. The corn was fresh and had flavor. The egg tomatoes noodle soup is good. The Naxi bread is fluffy and good. Eggs are cooked well. The Naxi sandwich was fresh with greens, egg, tomato, cucumber. We ate 3 meals here. Nothing to write home about, but decent price.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We arrived by bus from Lijiang late morning. We did not stay here but it is a convenient place (a store room with no lock) to leave our backpack (no charge) for 2 days here. We had noodles before taking the trail down to middle gorge from the point after the bridge, it is Yuan10. You can take the sky ladder (bat 50 rungs, 30m long) on the way up.

After hiking down from tiger leaping gorge 2 days later, picked up our backpack and had lunch here. A must try is kao rou or roasted sliced pork fried with sliced garlic & ginger, dry chillies and pepper seeds. We voted it as the best dish throughout our 10 day Yunnan trip. The three of us had 2 plates for lunch and another plate 2 hours later with coffee and apple pie (quite good too) before boarding the 3.30pm bus to Shangrila. Only Yuan30 a plate.

There are buses or vans, booked on the same day from Tina's GH to Lijiang or Shangri La, leaving at 3.30pm.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank kokngai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed here for one night following a two day trek of the high trail of Tiger Leaping Gorge. Whilst everyone arrived here and rushed down to the stone and back in order to make it for the bus back to Lijiang we strolled down at leisure. We milled around at the bottom for a few hours playing on the stones and taking it all in. Plus we also wanted to give Tina's some trade as we had heard that they help loads of people with free luggage storage, information and buses etc. yet get little in return. As soon as we got there we sat in the restaurant/reception area and looked out at the epic mountain view. This room wasn't as nice as it could be, at least by comparison to hostels on the way but it did have a lovey big table stove which, had the windows and doors been kept closed, would have taken the chill out of the room on a cold day/night. We ate some food which was filling and reasonably priced. I had a Naxi chicken sandwich twice (lunch & dinner) because it was very yummy indeed. This hostel is part of the Youth Hostel China and International Hostelling Associations so 10% discount is on offer should you join. There is an office onsite if you're interested. We got a twin ensuite room and it was very clean, well furnished and cost us 70 Yuan which is the equivalent of getting a dorm bed each. We also had a TV in our room. The only reason it didn't get an excellent score in my opinion is because the bathroom appeared to leak water from somewhere and the place lacked a bit of character. Other than that its well worth a stay here and the staff are really really nice.

Room Tip: You can pay at bit more and get an upstairs twin room - we stayed downstairs as we were on a very tight budget. The difference is you get a bit of a mountain view from the balcony area and your window is not directly onto a road, rather above it instead. I also think you may get sunshine in your room too being higher up.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mitchiemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

We stayed in the nice hostel 3 days and we are very satisfied with it.
We had a clean double room with the lowest price category. Still we can see the mountains directly in front of our door. Just imagine that you wake up and see the great mountains!
In the restaurant they offered very good food for almost the whole day, The price is reasonable for China but very delicious.
They also offer schuttel bus to Lijiang and Shangrila.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littel Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews