We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kersang's Relay Station

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kersang's Relay Station
Ranked #11 of 224 Shangri-La County B&B and Inns
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed three nights at an upper floor room. Basic accomodation, as we expected, but very friendly staff (father and son). The son picked us up from the bus station after receiving only refusals from the taxi drivers. Both were very helpful with finding a cheap ride back to Lijiang stopping at Tiger Leaping Gorge.

From the terrace you have a great view on the temple. Too sad most of the town burned down in January. In front of Kersangs Relay station pipes are being laid, so the road is one big hole. Luckily the building was saved from the flames, it is very authentic and charming. The main square lays in 5 minutes walking distance through the intact old town.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    7
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
4
17
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Aiea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

News Flash stayed June 17,18..old town burnt down in Jan 2014. Fire came up to Kersang's front door. Old town is now a dirt lot with underground utilities being installed. This is a youth hostel type of accomodation not hotel. The caretaker is owners father. Nice guy. He works hard and long hours to keep things going. No english but a lot of love. Yes water and electricity was on and off, yes it was not the Hyatt, but it has flair of it's own. Basic. We spent one evening on the terrace overlooking the dirt lot and city enjoying reviewing our travels with fellow adventurers, dancing a group dance at the village square five minutes away, and enjoying restaurants in surrounding area. Inexpensive small rooms with shower, sink and toilet. Shangri la is not Shanghai and I enjoyed my stay. Value experiential accomodations sums up the relay station....you get what you pay for.....

Room Tip: Enjoy the terrace at night with fellow traveler, dancing in the open square five minutes away, good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mochiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

We had an amazing stay at Kersan's Relay Station!
The welcoming was super friendly, the rooms are beautifully decorated...
Surely take time to have an aperitif on the rooftop terras and enjoy the amazing view!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
192 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

Did you ever see a place with a lot of very positive reviews, but perhaps as many negative ones? We usually tend to give a hotel the benefit of the doubt and discount the negative reviews as the result of a guest's bad luck or the product of habitual whining. We did that in this case and learned, to our dismay, that the negative press was spot on.

It's true that the hotel has a great view of the Golden Temple. Beyond that, by every other standard, it's absolutely disappointing.

1. The rooms are filthy. We're talking mold, clumps of hair, stains and dirt on every surface, a toilet desperately in need of scrubbing, etc.
2. We noticed that the sheets were dirty and obviously had been used by someone else. The management insisted that the sheets were clean and advised us they had no other sheets when we pressed the point. Not a good sign....
3. The walls are paper-thin. This is handy if you enjoy listening to events in adjacent rooms, but otherwise it may detract from whatever small pleasure you find in your stay.
4. There is no heat. The owners attribute this to the fact that the premises are in the old town, but there are in fact numerous well-equipped accommodations with heat.
5. We had two rooms--and were offered one electric heater for our comfort. We later saw a couple of heaters in the reception area and simply comandeered them (though they were filthy too). We slept in our coats to try to stay warm.
6. The staff is singularly unhelpful.
7. There was no water in the morning. Oh, and the place doesn't provide any bottled water either. Of course you have the option of drinking the boiled water the hotel will supply--if you aren't troubled by the unsanitary-looking thermos it's delivered in.

As our other reviews indicate, we aren't inveterate complainers. We're simply "calling a spade a spade."

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aBoater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moshav near Netanya
Level Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

The location is very nice and quiet (which can be an issue in Shangrila), but the rest is rather basic. The previous night we spent at a high end hotel in Diqin, so we didn't feel "dirty enough" to shower... the breakfast room was very nice, with a great view. But overall rating for this guesthouse remains average.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingMoshavnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

We arrived late one winter evening and the Tibetan Uncle picked me up from the main square in Shangri-la. I was really hppy that I could find a place like that on the internet, for most Guesthouses are closed in Shangri-la during the off aeson time in winter. My room was on the second floor and really spacious, heated blakets and a soft (!) matress. After arrived we stayed until late in the nice upstairs Cafe with a traditional fire place, which made us almost sweat - a welcoming change to freezing Shangri-la. We just loved the interious of both, the cafe and the rooms. Later we got to know the German manager and his Tibetan wife, who really care to make the place nice and cozy. They invited us for glas a homeade Tibetan whiskey and we enjoyed chatting. We can really recommend this friendly family place!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfgardgrube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

Well, I got to know this place through a leaflet provided to me by a staff in the Chalet where I stayed in Lijiang. I had no idea this place was under "B&B" and not "Hotels" in Tripadvisor. Since I had no idea where to stay and only arranged the trip to Shangr-la last minute, I trusted the reviews.
Although the beds are comfortable and the view is not bad, I was shocked to find there was no TV in the room. Though this is not very important, but to find the shower cubicle full of molds and dirt was the most disgusting ever in my travels. I am not the B&B nor back packer type of traveller, so I do not expect to experience this kind of accommodation although I understand unless you opt for the 5-star hotels, you could not expect much. There were no glasses nor cups so you don't even know how to brush your teeth!! The shower cubicle and the dirty bathroom + the hot water boiler as mentioned by other reviewers were more than enough to put me off staying here. We tried to hunt around for other hotels but it was already very late so we had no choice but to put up with it. I ended up taking the quickest shower in my life without even applying any shampoo nor shower gel!! No shave in the morning either. The curtain between the room and the bathroom is so small that you could see your partner using the toilet. No kettle. Water boiler and cups/glasses mean you cannot even enjoy a coffee when you wake up in the morning.
We had enough that we could not even be bothered to go and hunt for another hotel so my friends and I had to cut short the trip and returned to Lijiang the next day to take a heavenly shower. Depends on what type of traveller you are, but I certainly could not accept this type of "accommodation" although in a place like Lijiang, I only expected to have a clean room and a nice hot shower, but this place certainly failed to provide this very basic. I certainly do not recommend this place. The dirt in the shower cubicle makes one sick!!! Having said all these, the room is warm enough with electric blanket and a rotating heater, and the bed is comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor are not bad. Saw a few rooms and they all have one double and single so it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JimmyinChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shangri-La County hotels
0.2 mi away
Arro Khampa Shangrila By Zinc Journey
Arro Khampa Shangrila By Zinc Jo...
#5 of 159 in Shangri-La County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hylandia by Shangri-La
Hylandia by Shangri-La
#4 of 159 in Shangri-La County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.8 mi away
Banyan Tree Ringha
Banyan Tree Ringha
#2 of 159 in Shangri-La County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Shangri-La Timeless Inn
Shangri-La Timeless Inn
#5 of 224 in Shangri-La County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kevin's Trekker Inn
Kevin's Trekker Inn
#3 of 224 in Shangri-La County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.2 mi away
House of Waking Sunlight
House of Waking Sunlight
#10 of 224 in Shangri-La County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kersang's Relay Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kersang's Relay Station

Property: Kersang's Relay Station
Address: No.1 Yamenlang Jinlong Street, Old Town, Shangri-La County 674400, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Shangri-La County
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 224 B&Bs / Inns in Shangri-La County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Kersang's Relay Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kersang's Relay Station Shangri-La County, China - Yunnan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing