We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
32
7
4
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
7
4
1
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed for 2 nights, we got a room on the 1st floor, window facing the lounge, it was so noisy, the Chinese guest were talking loud until midnight. We complain, they just apologise and it happen again the following night, went to receiption and the guy manning the front desk does not understand english. I just raised my voice at them saying shhhhhh and it was quite for a while then noisy again, I wonder how they won the best hostel for 2012.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep therem do not take the rooms facing the lounge.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilysnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lihua Q, Manager at Lamtin Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

I. I am really sorry ,it is true that no english-speaker in the mid-night --after around 22:00. The whole day time is available.

2. Right now ,it is the busy travle season,many guests in the hostel, so it would be a little noisy.But the guy should control down the voice from the noisy Chinese people. We will pay attention to this.


Best Regards.

lamtin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Unfortunately we  ended up staying here because tavern 47 was full. The common areas of the hostel are nice and staff helpful and friendly. On the downside, it's expensive for what you get. The dorms are very small, a double room cramped with three bunks and a locker. The toilets were cleaned once a day despite heavy usage meaning the bins were constantly overflowing and smelly. There is dusty carpet throughout the building as they don't use a vacuum cleaner. Also for 40¥ a night you would expect toilet paper in the communal toilets and clean sheets on a made bed  (they didnt change the quilt covers when they swapped the sheets ). After seeing this, we were happy to go to another hostel and left wondering how many people had shared our quilt....

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alicefire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lihua Q, Manager at Lamtin Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Thanks for review.

1. we clean the shared toilet twice everyday. it looked uncleaned may because there are too many travelers as July was a busy season. Anyway we will pay attention to this ,and clean more times.

2. We require our guset take down the used quilt cover, sheet &pillowcase when check out . Meanwhile we help change the quilt cover , made it ,and leave clean sheet & pillowcase on bed to our guest to make by themself ---which is very easy to fix,as somebody also sit /put bag on other's bed . -----It seems some misunderstanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I stayed her in a private room with a private bathroom. It's in a great location right off the main courtyard of the town. The staff is pretty friendly and helpful with information. The common area is cozy with a fireplace and comfy chairs to hang out in. One night the power did go out, not their fault, and it was a bit chilly but they gave us all candles and warm blankets to help. I'd recommend this place as a decent place to stay while in Shangri-La.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

The hostel itself is just that what the docter orderd, nothing fancy and just fine. The rooms and that big. But with a pvt bathroom and heating good enough.
Roomprices are excl. breakfast, but breakfast is available. The lounge area is nice and relaxing.

Besides of this all, the location is perfect. Just 50 meters away from a marketsquare the hotel seems to be centred in the middle of the old town. The main busstation is about 2 km away, but the local public transport takes you about anywhere for Y 1 per person.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dutch1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

It's nestled right in the middle of the old town with easy access to food, shopping and nightly dance in the square.
It's quite quiet except if your room is situated right on 1st floor of the open area. We spent 2N there and heard guests talking late into the night. Anyway, it provides free hot and cold water at the reception as well as free internet access which is great for long away guest.
Checking out is quite strict at 12 though we don't expect much from it. Overall, we are happy.
p.s be ready to walk some 300m to the hostel with your luggage as car can't access to it under gravel stone road.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank i55ac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews