We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need Yaks?”

Napa Lake Grasslands
Book In Advance
More Info
US$95.00*
and up
Private Day Trip of Shangri-La with Monastery Visit
Paw Paw, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Need Yaks?”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I wanted to take some pix of Yaks and our guide steered us to the Grasslands lake area. Saw some ethnic herders in action and roamed a field with some friendly Yak. Warning to potential horseback riders: Saw a tourist hot dogging through the water only to be dumped by his ride. We clapped.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank snoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fenny Compton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The land of Lost Horizons”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

If you ever get the chance to travel to this area of China take it. I was with a group looking at the flora of the region, the diversity and richness set in a stunning landscape was breathtaking. So many delights to be discovered - just along the roadside we found allium, delphinium, geranium and orchids to name but a few. The grasslands are a vast open plain, studded with yak and horses all held within a bowl of mountains often tipped with torn apart cloud. Being there is like being in a huge living geography book. I'm still reeling form the experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CSLfenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“An Alternate To Napa Lake”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

My Hubby and I intend to visit Napa Lake but end up we travel a stone throw away to Shi Ka Snow Mountain. At Napa Lake nothing to see just grassland and paid to ride horse. We make the right decision to go to Shi Ka Snow Mountain. The cable car got 2 stop. You have the option to take cable car to station 1 or both.The 1st station RMB100 took us to a beautiful grassland with flower and a tourist shop which sell local herbs and eco car RMB90 to a lake.
The 2nd station RMB120 took us to the top where we can view whole town of Shangrila and all around us Snow Mountains. The view was spectacular and worth the trip here. There were rental of jacket and oxygen. Be prepare because it can be cold here because it's 4500M.
There's not many tourist except their local people. I wonder why there's not much info about this place. This place was so much better than Napa Lake as its too commercial.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful time with Tibetan family”
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Went out with two guides - Jing and A Xue - both lovely girls, who took us to a Tibetan family in a village in Napa lake grasslands.
Visiting the house was wonderful, and we sat with the family and tried some Tibetan snacks, and also admired the fine woodwork of the building. The light around the grasslands is perfect for photos, and we enjoyed looking out to the mountains.
Try the yak butter tea, not as bad as people make it out to be.
We found a flier in our guesthouse and contacted the girls - they met us one night and next day took us out there.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Napa Lake Grasslands also viewed

Shangri-La County, Yunnan
Shangri-La County, Yunnan
 
Shangri-La County, Yunnan
Shangri-La County, Yunnan
 

Been to Napa Lake Grasslands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing