We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of my expectation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Longfengxiang Yage Hotel
Ranked #71 of 166 Hotels in Shangri-La County
Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Out of my expectation.”
Reviewed 24 May 2009

Prior to my trip, I have read reviews on Trip Advisor from other travellers that the rooms are dirty and smelled. Therefore my friends and I were preparing for the worst when we checked into the hotel. However, we were pleasantly surprised to find that the rooms were not as we expected. They were clean and cosy. We had a very pleasant stay. The hotel's location is also good, in the new town centre.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelWithFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    15
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
2
5
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2008

Three words - "don't stay here". We were booked to stay here on the last 2 nights of our Yunnan holiday and were assured by our agent in China that stories of dirty rooms were not correct. We had 2 rooms with our daughter staying across the hall from us. The stories are in fact true! The carpet was filthy in both and everything except the bathroom looked run down and tired. Of course the beds were super hard as expected but that was the least of our problems. There was a price list for the mini-bar but no mini bar except for 2 oxygen canisters, no fridge, the hallway smelled stale (probably mainly the dirty carpet) and breakfast was dreadful. We actually gave up on breakfast after trying to toast a couple of slices of bread and spread them with something ressembling butter - dirty, crowded tables, people smoking and food being spilled on the carpet was enough for us to see hunger as a better alternative. We decided to complain to our tour company on the basis that we had paid for four star accommodation and managed to get two or three at best. They were very willing to move us to another hotel and we spent our last pleasant night in Shangri-La staying at the more out-of-town but atmospheric Songtsam Hotel.

  • Liked — It's location
  • Disliked — It's dirtiness and drabness
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Lawson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shangri-La County hotels

Phoenix
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2008

We stayed at this hotel as part of a tour of Yunnan. All of the other hotels where we stayed were very nice, but this hotel was a real disappointment. We were told that this is a 4 star hotel, but there were several problems. We stayed on the 4th floor and were told that this was a non-smoking room. The problem is that smoke comes in through the ventilation system. The bed was considerably harder than others that we found on our trip to China, so it was very uncomfortable. The hotel appeared dark and also dirty. The carpet was very worn and the wallpaper was peeling from the walls. The breakfast was not very good. We got to breakfast around 8 AM and all of the tables were dirty at that time. They had not cleared the dishes from the earlier diners, so we were forced to eat at a dirty table. Also, the food was not good. The shower got warm but not hot. The lighting in the room was bad. But, the worst was that they have a disco type environment on the 6th floor and the music from the live band played until at least 2:30 AM on our second night - leaving us with very little sleep. On the plus side, they had a good functioning western toilet and the bathroom appeared to be clean. The room was very large. Location is good and we had a nice view from the window. I am not sure about the comparison to other hotels in Zhongdian. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — location and view
  • Disliked — noise from disco, beds, breakfast
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank budgettraveler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2007

The hotel had no record of our reservation and we were told there were no vacancies. However, we had a print-out saying a room had been reserved for us and after much arguing a room was found: ended up with a suite for one night and the standard room we had booked for two nights, all at the special rate we had been quoted originally. Yes, the carpet needed vacuuming (see previous post) and the beds were hard, which is normal in China, but everything else was fine. The staff friendly, after the first night, and spoke good English. The location good, not far from the Old Town. Would happily stay there again.

  • Liked — Large room & bathroom
  • Disliked — Carpet needed vacuuming
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Warrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2007

This is rated a 4 star hotel, but it felt more like a two star. When we got to our room it looked like the carpet hadn't been vacuumed for a month. The bed was a box spring, no mattress and hard as a rock (the Chinese like them this way, we were told). We were put on the 2nd floor, which was supposed to be non-smoking, but people smoked in the hallway and it drifted under the door. Water temperature in the shower fluxulated wildley from hot to cold. Lastly, they have a massage parlor in the hotel that was kind of iffy. What's a French massage, anyway? And they were embarrassed to explain what the Hong Kong massage entailed.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Gargoyle_A2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shangri-La County hotels
0.7 mi away
Arro Khampa Shangrila By Zinc Journey
Arro Khampa Shangrila By Zinc Jo...
#5 of 166 in Shangri-La County
74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hylandia by Shangri-La
Hylandia by Shangri-La
#4 of 166 in Shangri-La County
83 reviews
5.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Ringha
Banyan Tree Ringha
#1 of 166 in Shangri-La County
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Songtsam Shangri-la (Lugu) Hotel
Songtsam Shangri-la (Lugu) Hotel
#2 of 166 in Shangri-La County
342 reviews
3.0 mi away
Songtsam Retreat at Shangri la - MGallery Collection
Songtsam Retreat at Shangri la -...
#3 of 166 in Shangri-La County
314 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tibet Guest House
Tibet Guest House
#2 of 239 in Shangri-La County
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longfengxiang Yage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longfengxiang Yage Hotel

Property: Longfengxiang Yage Hotel
Address: No.15 Chici Main Street, Jiantang Town, Shangri-La County 674400, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Shangri-La County
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 166 Hotels in Shangri-La County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Longfengxiang Yage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Longfengxiang Yage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longfengxiang Yage Hotel Shangri-La County, China - Yunnan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing