We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Majestic, Enchanting, Gorgeous”
Review of Banyan Tree Ringha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banyan Tree Ringha
Ranked #1 of 171 Hotels in Shangri-La County
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I've stayed at 5 star hotels all over the world and this ranks at the very top. Each room is a two-story converted traditional Tibetan house. WOW Factor: check.
The interior is GORGEOUSLY decorated with Tibetan artifacts, a wooden tub, and beautifully ornate Tibetan furniture. Stunning Interior: check.
The staff was incredibly helpful and kind, attending to our every need: Fabulous Service: check.

Truly a beautiful place that I would LOVE to go back to.

The only thing I wasn't impressed by was the breakfast buffet -- I found the range and options somewhat lacking for a 5-star hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RueMoreau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tashiyangzom, Manager at Banyan Tree Ringha, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Banyan Tree Ringha!
On behlaf of associates and management would like to thank you for taking time to write feedback on us. Glad to know that you enjoyed the stay except the breakfast which made you uncomfortable in our service. Here we have made the changes in our breakfast menu and hope that will let us meet the guest expectation.
Therefore I shall appreciate it if you could kindly give us a time to extend our warm service in near future. We will be looking forward to having you in Ringha or any of our Banyan Tree properties.

Thank you again and warm regards

Tashi Yangzom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

We took a traditional Tibetan family lodge for two nights in December. The weather is freezing cold, probably not the best time to visit Shangri La. But this resort has the most exotic architecture, both externally and internally. The lodge is large with a huge bathroom and wooden bathtub, the rooms look very traditional but are equipped with modern amenities. The lodge is built in the style of a local farmhouse and the resort is situated amidst a farming village close to a renowned temple. A little away from the city though and you will need to drive about 20 minutes along a narrow road and dirt track to get there. Service is attentive, we had a great chat with Troy (waiter) and Mary (guest relations) who were most helpful in providing tips on where to go and when is the best time to visit the attractions in the area. Our only complaint is that the rooms are very clean - we found hair on the pillows, torn duvet covers and stains on the mirror. Also, on our first day, they made the mistake of arranging for us 5 single beds, instead of a double and 3 singles. One of the single bed that was set up for our kid was missing a a bed warmer. Otherwise, the resort is great.

Room Tip: Go for a lodge with a view of the farmland and facing the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarolT_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tashiyangzom, Manager at Banyan Tree Ringha, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Carol,
Greetings from Banyan Tree Ringha!
Here I would like to thank you for taking time to write an feedback for us. I would like to apologise about the room service and I am considering this to take immediate action to improve our service and guest satisfaction. Also to inform you that our associates Troy and May would like to thank you for recommending your thoughts on them.
I shall appreciate it if you could kindly let us know your next visit and will be happy to assist you with our best service.
Thanks again for considering our apology and also looking forward to having you in near future.
Warm regards
Tashi Yangzom
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

This property is a piece of art. We stayed in a Spa Suite and stunned by Tibetan traditional decoration from the working area to fire place to a couple more living areas. The bed is also very comfortable. The bathroom is amazing with spacious wooden bathtub. The villa is so huge and well maintained. It tells how much attention has been put in.

We arrived at the beginning of winter and one could feel a bit isolated and cold. The surrounding scenery isn't stunning but the tranquillity is second to none. Front office staff, Mary, has been wonderfully helpful and make our stay and day trips much more enjoyable.

The restaurant is good and I must recommend anyone to try Tibetan Hot Pot. It is probably the best hot pot I ever tried. The soup is sophisticated and tasty with herb. The sauce made of garlic, ginger and chilli is very well suited with variety of meats and vegetable. One really amazing dish.

Staff may be a bit limited in term of English communication but they are very helpful and friendly.

We stayed here three nights and have enjoyed a sense of wonder of Shangri la has to offer.

This is really a place to enjoy nature, serenity and wonderfully rich culture of local people.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Petch51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tashiyangzom, Manager at Banyan Tree Ringha, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Mr Petch and Family,
Greetings from Banyan Tree Ringha!
Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination with your family and also taking your precious time to write on us with you good times in Banyan Tree Ringha including hotpot dinner.
We will consider to improve our service and the language skill for our assoicates in near future.
I shall appreciate it if your could kindly let us know for any further assistance.We gave your compliments to Mary for her helpful serive during your stay.

We all are looking forward to having you in near future.
Wish you and your family a good health and successuly year 2014.
Warm regards
Tashi Yangzom
Hotel Managerl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We took a Spa suite and were overwhelmed by the size of our traditional Tibetan lodge. If a room and bathroom could ever be too big, then this was close to being such a situation. However, it was wonderfully furnished and a really different experience. The setting is extremely tranquil and very rural, worth the 20 minute drive from the main town.
Staff a bit inconsistent in part due to language problems. One of our heaters packed up and they tried their best but failed to fix it (temperatures dropping to -10 degrees at night meant we needed our heated blankets!
A really great experience for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IncaWalnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tashiyangzom, Manager at Banyan Tree Ringha, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Sir,
Greetings from Banyan Tree Ringha!
Here I would like to thank you for taking time to write your valued feedback and also apologise for the inconvenient night that you had due to heater problem. We consider your feedback to improve our service in future.
Kindly let us know for any assistance in near future. We are looking forward to having you with us one of these days and also let us assist you with the best service.

We the team here would like to wish you a very successful year 2014.
Warm regards
Tashi Yangzom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed at the Banyan Tree for 3 nights in early November and there were perhaps 10 guests?
The place is special. The architecture, the room layout, the restaurant. It is all quite consistent and gives a good idea of Tibetan culture.
Access is a bit of a problem (please arrange for the hotel to pick you up - you'll have trouble finding and getting there without a 4W drive!).

The staff was reduce for the winter season (understandably) and not always aware about their tasks and customer needs. It would be better to close the place during the winter. Is probably spectacular during the summer.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruno K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

What to say ? the place is just amazing. The room, well the house is wonderful with great furniture. The food, we had hotpot and BBQ was very very good. Staff is great, friendly and very helpful. We only stayed a couple of night on the Highland Romance package and had a Tibetan Spa Villa. Amazing...!! We loved everything: the room and its furnishing, the thick carpets allover the place, the soft relaxing music provided , the bed which was heated at night, the big tibetan wood bath, the good tea selection, the private Spa room, the incense burners.....all was just so nice.
I had informed them that I would be celebrating my birthday and on arrival there was a nice chocolate cake and a bottle of red wine.
I would definitely come back maybe at a different season to experience Ringha with flowers and green grass.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
Thank Sasha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Absolutely loved that our "villa" was an actual Tibetan home. Unfortunately, there is only one bathroom; the master bedroom is upstairs and a guest room is downstairs... A couple of things did not work - humidifier, fireplace, refrigerator - and the staff tried to get them to work but failed. The rooms had a daily essential oil and incense described in a card; as best as I could tell, it was the same each day - did not match the daily "card". The spa experience was the best ever! We did the foot/head massage twice and the hot stones massage once - loved, loved, loved them! The food was good; however, it seemed the staff were a bit stressed when the resort got busier than 2 villas. The tours offered were great; our tour guide awesome. The region is gorgeous! The stairs got very slick overnight and I fell the 2nd morning; the staff made sure that they cleaned the stairs of ice before we left our villa every morning after that. I do hope that they install some safety measure on theirs stairs so that no others fall! The trip from the road to the resort was an adventure; others detailed it accurately. The staff are very helpful...

Room Tip: Nothing handicap accessible that I could see. Must be able to climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shangri-La County hotels
7.8 mi away
Songtsam Shangri-la (Lugu) Hotel
Songtsam Shangri-la (Lugu) Hotel
#2 of 171 in Shangri-La County
347 reviews
5.0 mi away
Arro Khampa Shangrila By Zinc Journey
Arro Khampa Shangrila By Zinc Jo...
#4 of 171 in Shangri-La County
80 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hylandia by Shangri-La
Hylandia by Shangri-La
#5 of 171 in Shangri-La County
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Songtsam Retreat at Shangri la - MGallery Collection
Songtsam Retreat at Shangri la -...
#3 of 171 in Shangri-La County
321 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Shangri-La
Hilton Garden Inn Shangri-La
#6 of 171 in Shangri-La County
6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Huajinzhao Boutique Guest House
Huajinzhao Boutique Guest House
#7 of 171 in Shangri-La County
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Ringha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Ringha

Address: Hong Po Village, Jian Yang Town, Shangri-La County, Shangri-La County 674400, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Yunnan > Shangri-La County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 171 Hotels in Shangri-La County
Price Range: £141 - £440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Ringha 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most secluded hideaways in the world, Shangrila is a remote paradise hidden in a Tibetan valley. Surrounded by snow capped mountains, Banyan Tree Ringha is nestled within this fabled valley, offering awe-inspiring views and experiences within a tranquil retreat. Leave the modern world behind and step into a land of great beauty and peacefulness. At the Banyan Tree Ringha, the feeling of exotic isolation converges with all the comforts of a pampering resort stay. Discover all that Ringha has to offer with the "Spirit of Shangrila" program. Designed as an all-inclusive package, the program covers the best tours and treks in the area. With transport, meals and accommodation taken care of, as well as a local guide to show you around, all you have to do is to relax, enjoy, and take in the beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banyan Tree Ringha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Ringha Hotel Shangri-La County
Banyan Tree Ringha Shangri-La County, China - Yunnan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing