We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Shangri La by Gary and Tamara, California”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shangri-La Timeless Inn
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We first met Rose, the owner of the brand new "Timeless Inn" Lodge at her outstanding cafe, "Rose's Cafe", in Shangri La. We told her that the food was some of the best we ate in southwest China. We continued our conversation and she told us that her lodge would soon be open. We were looking to change from a very cold room at another traveler's hotel. We asked if a heater was possible in her new lodge. Not only did she provide a heater, but she went out of her way to make sure that we were happy with the room. Well, the room was fantastic. It was spacious, super clean, with towels, toothpaste, heater, hot water, modern shower, soap, plenty of space to hang clothes, a beautiful glass enclosed bathroom, western flush toilet, an outdoor clothes line, and super comfortable huge beds After seven weeks of backpacking around southwest China, This "Timeless Inn" was our Shangri La, or our heavenly experience. Rose is an amazing person who also helped us plan out out our travels around Shangri La. We were going to stay here for 3 or 4 days, but ended up staying for 11 days. Not only is her lodge a traveler's delight, but Rose adds so much to just hanging out in this magical village. If ten stars were best, we give her and the 'Timeless Inn" eleven stars. Once at her lodge, you will want to stay for a longer time, maybe that is why she calls it the "Timeless Inn".

Room Tip: All rooms are very spacious, have heaters, and super clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellenfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

I went to Shangri-La in December and found this place in a small alley next to the old town. The original hotel we wanted to stay at did not have any water so we had to move to timeless inn a couple of houses down from our original hotel. The owner is very helpful and speaks very good English. She was very helpful in providing directions and tips to nearby tourist attractions and restaurants. Also, she woke-up very early to prepare breakfast on checkout day so that we could make the bus to the tiger leaping gorge. The rooms are pretty big and the bathroom has hot water which is very helpful in the winter! I highly recommend staying here if you want to be in Oldtown but away from some of the noise around the square.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RockySh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This is a little gem in the old town of Shangri-La. It is located in a quiet alley leading to the main square. The guest house is renovated in Tibetan style. The owners paid lots of attention to details making it a special and warm place: the way the lock of the rooms is made, the curtains in front of the window and corridors, the ribbons in the room, the wooden 'haystack structure', the wooden fence with grass on top of the poles, the little garden, the staircase to the rooms... it all adds up to the special feeling. The room and bathroom was spacious, the room even very spacious with sitting area, well maintained and clean. The room has a heater and humidifier. The bathroom has a hairdryer, soap, 'warm' lamps, Western toilet, etc. Believe there were also electric blankets though did not pay attention to this. Both Western and Chinese breakfast are possible and there is a stove in the breakfast room. The owners can arrange tours around Shangri-La and adjacent regions.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belgian_traveller118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank edelweiss5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose W, 总经理 at Shangri-La Timeless Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank daisuque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
Thank Katia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Vraag naar een kamer met de zachtere matrassen (als je dit wil).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank muhrein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shangri-La County hotels
0.2 mi away
Arro Khampa Shangrila By Zinc Journey
Arro Khampa Shangrila By Zinc Jo...
#4 of 179 in Shangri-La County
86 reviews
3.2 mi away
Songtsam Shangri-la (Lvgu) Lodge
Songtsam Shangri-la (Lvgu) Lodge
#2 of 179 in Shangri-La County
353 reviews
0.1 mi away
E-outftting Boutique Hotel Shangri-La
E-outftting Boutique Hotel Shang...
#10 of 275 in Shangri-La County
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.4 mi away
Tibet Guest House
Tibet Guest House
#1 of 275 in Shangri-La County
81 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shangri-La Resort, Shangri-La
Shangri-La Resort, Shangri-La
#5 of 179 in Shangri-La County
89 reviews
5.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Ringha
Banyan Tree Ringha
#1 of 179 in Shangri-La County
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Timeless Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Timeless Inn

Address: No.38 Cuolang, Dukezong Old Town, Shangri-La County 674499, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Yunnan > Shangri-La County
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 275 B&Bs / Inns in Shangri-La County
Price Range: £35 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Shangri-La Timeless Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Timeless Inn Shangri-La County, China - Yunnan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing