We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“精致的酒店,精致的服务!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Songtsam Shangri-la (Lugu) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 163 Hotels in Shangri-La County
Certificate of Excellence
Kunming, China
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“精致的酒店,精致的服务!”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The location is very good, open the window you can see the Songzanlin monastery. Service fine, warm environment is the feeling of home, the staff as a family! Decoration is fantastic, and inside the hotel to display a variety of antiques, very comfortable, very seductive!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wei j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    41
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
82
116
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
78 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Songtsam Lugu was our final stop so we decided to spend more time here. Other than the usual visits to Napahai (saw black necked cranes), Pudacuo National Park (Shudu Lake, Militang Pasture & Bitahai), Songzanlin Monastery & Dukezhong Old Town, we visited Shika Snow Mountain and went hiking at Tian Bao Snow Mountain. 2 way ropeway at Shika Mountain took about 40 minutes. There is nothing much at the first stop (pasture). We spent 2 hours on the boardwalk at the peak (4500m). It was extremely cold & windy so be prepared. The hike up Tian Bao Snow Mountain took us about two & a half hours. We climbed from 3600m to 4100m. Lots of walking uphill & it was extremely windy. Snow at certain parts was knee deep. There was a section where we could not see any path to walk on as the snow has covered the loose rocks. All we can see is a steep slope which we have to cross horizontally. We used the heels of our shoes to dig into the snow to create some footing before crossing hand in hand. We saw some water & thought it was the lake which we are hiking to but it wasn’t. Our driver pushes us to continue as we are very close. We had lunch next to the lake but could not stay for too long as it was extremely windy & cold. Fortunately the sun appeared & warmed all of us while we make our way down (took one & a half hours). High Tea at Lugu is extremely comforting after a day out in the cold. Meals are a-la-carte but there is a good variety to choose from. Staircase to our room on the 4th level is steep but we are alright, just slightly breathless. We are quite fortunate throughout our trip as we have no severe reaction to high altitude except the occasional headache (saw many others holding onto oxygen canisters). There is a boardwalk opposite the hotel where you can see the reflection of Songzanlin Monastery. It’s a pleasant 1 hour walk which we went in the late afternoon. To sum up this free & easy trip, it is entirely different from my last few visits to China which I travelled in package tours (eg. Beijing, Shanghai, Guilin, Harbin etc). Staying in Songtsam lodges eased the trouble of doing extensive research in terms of transport & things to do in the area as all are taken care of. Furthermore, guests are assured of clean, cosy & comfortable rooms, high level of service, food that suits most palates, experienced drivers (we felt so safe that we tend to doze off in the car) & tours which will leave you breathless (triggered by countless breath taking views & scenery).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank funtraveller76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Songtsam Lugu was recommended by a friend who traveled to Shanghri-la a couple of months before I did. We arrived at Songtsam Lugu on a rainy day after sunset, and the hotel staff waited for us outside with an umbrella. It gets very cold around March - April in Shangri-la when the sun is down, and the warm (red-brownish) colored interior and the smell of Tibetan tea warmed us up immediately. The hotel staff are very attentive, bringing us slippers as soon as we got in the door. The furniture and decoration of the hotel follows a very authentic Tibetan style, from the old wooden furniture to the Tibetan tea pots. We had the fortune of running into the hotel owner during our stay, a retired CCTV anchor from Bai Minority group who started this boutique hotel chain after his he left his career in media. He told us he handpicked every piece of furniture and that when he was sitting in the dinning room, he thought of ideas of how to move the furniture around to improve the ambiance of the space - he is very dedicated. The food served in the restaurant are very good, there are some authentic dishes but they also cater towards a more international crowd. We loved the spicy yak meet and the Tibetan tea, perfect for a cold rainy day. The rooms are nicely designed and thoughtfully decorated, with books of Shangri-la culture and history on the coffee table. We had a room with a patio/small "sun room" where we could read, which makes the stay more relaxing. The location of the hotel is extremely convenient as well - it neighbors the famous Songstam temple, which is a marvelous piece of ancient architecture, we spent a whole day just wandering around the hotel area - the whole place was extremely photogenic. The only regret is that we did not go in the summer time where the flowers are blossoming and the local festivals take place - which leaves us something to look forward to for the next time!

Room Tip: Pick a room with a patio, it is a great place to read and relax under the Shangri-la sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

we did the songtsam circuit in apr2013: shangrila - benzilan - meili - shangrila

we decided to do the circuit as songtsam provided all the tour services to transport from one village to another, so thats great for us. we could choose to stop anytime along the way, snd customize any specifics as needed. truly a great trip.nlike i wrote in the other review on songtsam meili, all songtsam lodges share following characteristics:

1. location in remote villages, nestled among traditional/old village houses (so a stroll out of the lodge immediately transport one into experiencing the life in rural china). always an interesting hike around the lodge, whether it's farm, fields, ancient temples, natural scenery, etc. in the case of shangrila, it is close to the great lama temple, so its good exploration into the temple in the early mornings, or late evenings when you xan see all the lama go back to their cottages in the surriunding village.

2. boutique style lodge with specific characteristic that matches the surrounding tibetan culture/environment. the decor is very tibetan. so great immersion into tibetan culture. when we were in shangrila, we got upgraded to a suite!

3. good food provided, with focus on tibetan type cuisine. western type food provided too, but that is very much a chinese-interpretation of western food so can be a hit or miss. only drawback is that the breakfast is the same spread in all pf songtsam lodges, so after a few days, it could get unexciting (its fine if you can have usual bread and butter everyday, or omelette). for dinner at this particular lodge, it has a great spread of different food, and it's really up to us to order (no wastage of course!). the ice-cold local beer got me and my mate hooked. since back from the trip i have been craving for ice-cold beer every dinner.

4. great service from the staff. friendly and cosy setting.

5. exceptionally clean linen and great comfortable beddings. great toilets (no kidding.. this is one thing which put me off in venturing to remote china villages).

songtsam ticks all the right places. it is special because it allows anyone (non-chinese even) to experience the life of tibetan culture (which big hotels with no character will not be able to provide), without having to put up with awful sanitation (as in the case of most guest houses). small enough to be very personal. feels like staying in a big mansion where everyone knows each other. we bumped into baima dorje (owner of the songtsam lodges) a few times when we were here in songtsam shangrila.. very friendly.

we also want to thank our guide, tashi for all the great hospitality throughout the trip. the drive from shangrila to benzilan and subsequently to meili was truly spectacular (though not for the faint-hearted).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeshAsianTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We are so happy we chose this hotel for our three-night stay. All staff members were friendly, attentive, and extremely helpful to us in arranging everything. The local barley beer was nice!! However, we ordered too much food for dinner (large portions!) and wished that the wait staff were more forthcoming with advice/suggested we cut back. That was embarrassing.
Remember to ask for the free airport pickup if you're flying in to Diqing - the hotel van is way more comfy & spacious than any taxi you will use during your stay.
We would love to go back at a warmer time of year. We imagine the patio area to be lovely in the summer.

Room Tip: We needed two rooms (family of four with kids 11 & 12 yrs), but there were no rooms with twin be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swhodges67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We arrived in the early evening after a long trip and some good sightseeing on the way up from Lijiang. At over 3500m the altitude means, if you live at sea level like we do, that the climb to you room, we were on the 4th floor, is literally "breathtaking".

The views from the room were spectacular, and with autumn evening sun and leaves turning, it was exceptionally photogenic.

On arrival you are registers in the main lounge next to a lovely wood burning stove and given hot ginger tea. fortunately your bags are carried up to you room as the stairs are steep and as said the climb is breathtaking. The rooms are of reasonable size and well appointed with nice comfortable beds.

Located only a short walk from the Songsam temple, its easy to reach for the "must do visit". There are a lot of steps so take it easy and remember the temple closes at 19:00.

The dinning room in the hotel is about the only place to eat, and its nicely set up. Food was OK, nothing special but filled the gap. Breakfast was good with a nice selection and the local Yunan coffee was delicious.

Room Tip: A room on the top floor at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyW888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
325 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The Songtsam Shangri-La is a beautiful lodge in a pristine and beautiful area. It is done in the traditional Tibetan style and the furnishing and decoration throughout is authentic Tibetan.

The lodge is located on the grounds of the stunning Songzalin monastery next door. There is also a nice two-mile boardwalk around the lake in front of the monastery and lodge. From this walk you will get beautiful views across the lake of the monastery buildings – and encounter black pigs, cattle and yak along the way.

Upon our arrival we were seated in the lobby area and given a nice welcoming tea and snacks. We also learned that we had been upgraded to a nicer room.

An extensive breakfast is included in the room rate and includes Western as well as local Tibetan fare – quite tasty! The lunch/dinner menu has a wide selection of Chinese and local Tibetan foods – and even some Italian items. We had many meals here and thoroughly enjoyed them all. Be sure to try the yak, yak cheese and yak butter - they are delicious! In the afternoon is a complimentary tea – very nice.

Prior to our arrival I had picked up some food poisoning. Our first day at the lodge was not so pleasant in dealing with the effects of that. As the condition was not improving, by evening, the staff offered to take me to the hospital. Leming, the Executive General Manager accompanied my wife and me to the hospital where I was put on an IV drip. It took until 2:30 am to finish that, and Leming was there with us the whole time to interpret for me and to share travel stories. She was delightful, very helpful and went way beyond expectations in seeing that I was properly taken care of. I can't say enough about what a great manager and person she is!

The hotel staff is top-notch! They are extremely attentive, friendly and helpful. It is obvious that making your stay memorable is their goal. And they succeed beautifully!

Atmosphere….comfort….great food….attentive and friendly staff….and all of this in a peaceful and beautiful environment. The Songtsam Lodge truly fits the definition of “Shangri-La”.

We travel extensively and can honestly say that the Songtsam Shangri-La Lodge tops our list of favorite stays. We will definitely return and will probably avail ourselves of the other Songtsam lodges in the area as well. If you are planning a trip to Shangri-La, do yourself a favor and avoid the downtown shiny-new hotels in the modernized town - make the Songtsam Shangri-La Lodge(s) your first choice!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roams-A-Lot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shangri-La County hotels
7.8 mi away
Banyan Tree Ringha
Banyan Tree Ringha
#2 of 163 in Shangri-La County
278 reviews
0.4 mi away
Songtsam Retreat at Shangri la - MGallery Collection
Songtsam Retreat at Shangri la -...
#3 of 163 in Shangri-La County
307 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hylandia by Shangri-La
Hylandia by Shangri-La
#4 of 163 in Shangri-La County
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Arro Khampa Shangrila By Zinc Journey
Arro Khampa Shangrila By Zinc Jo...
#5 of 163 in Shangri-La County
65 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Wonderland
Hotel Wonderland
#21 of 163 in Shangri-La County
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Huajinzhao Boutique Guest House
Huajinzhao Boutique Guest House
#6 of 163 in Shangri-La County
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Songtsam Shangri-la (Lugu) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Songtsam Shangri-la (Lugu) Hotel

Property: Songtsam Shangri-la (Lugu) Hotel
Address: Songzanlin, at the foot of Songtsam Lama temple, Shangri-La County 674400, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Yunnan > Shangri-La County
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 163 Hotels in Shangri-La County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Songtsam Lodge at Shangri-la (Songtsam Lvgu Hotel) is the flagship lodge of Songtsam Lodges - a series of luxury boutique lodges built in pristine and beautiful locations in Yunnan.Songtsam Shangri-la (3,280m) is situated right next to the Songzanlin Monastery, the largest Tibetan monastery in Yunnan province. The lodge is housed in a traditional Tibetan dwelling within this typical, self-sufficient Tibetan farming village where the founder of Songtsam, Baima Dorjie, spent his childhood. Songtsam Shangro-la has hosted thousands of intrepid travelers from all over the world in the past 10 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Songtsam Shangri-la (Lugu) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Songtsam Hotel Shangri La County
Songtsam Shangri-La (Lugu) Hotel Shangri-La County, China - Yunnan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing