We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel will surprise you”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Songtsam Shangri-la (Lugu) Hotel
Ranked #2 of 179 Hotels in Shangri-La County
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We are really surprised at the hotel in this area, where we will not expect has such nice and wonderful hotel. The view is excellent, and most important it is their people, such nice and helpful, make you feel like at home. Also the rooms are clean and with wonderful Tibetan design, high classical. We will stay again next trip, also would like to say thanks for the service when we were there.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christan115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 70 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

Beautiful location from which to begin our China vacation. Fantastic view of Songzangling Monastery from our room. Perfect starting place to acclimate to the high elevation. The staff was incredibly attentive and hospitable. They knew our tastes by heart by the time we left (we spent 4 nights).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was our favourite Hotel on our 5 week trip through China and Tibet.We had been travelling through Yunnan on our way to Tibet and decided to stay 3 nights so we could acclimatise before we flew to Lhasa. It was also our midpoint and we wanted to have some peace and quiet, before continuing our private tour. What a great choice.
Our room was on the first floor that overlooked the lake. We found the room quiet. It was spacious with a separate lounge area, bathroom and big bedroom. The bed was comfortable, the shower hot and the 2 heaters kept the rooms warm. The clothes we washed, dried overnight.The humidifier was also a great benefit. Free wi-fi in the room.
The staff were wonderful,always friendly and helpful. We loved coming back after a day out, to the warm reception and a delicious cup of hot ginger tea that was always heating on the pot belly. The free afternoon tea from 3 to 5 of homemade biscuits, fruit and brewed coffee was inviting.We enjoyed the breakfasts and as we were leaving early on our last morning they packed a breakfast which was wonderful. We ate there every night and the meals were also enjoyable. The view from the dining room and the atmosphere, made it a very pleasant experience.
Great location for walks through the village,around the lake and the Gedan Songzanlin Monastery. Easy to taxi into Shangri-la and we did do some shopping, but most of the old town has been burnt down.
The Hotel with all the beautiful rugs, furniture, wall hangings and traditional door hangings was such a delight to come home to. The staff made it extra special.
A traditional Hotel with all the comforts, away from the hustle and bustle of the city.

Room Tip: Room with a view. Our room faced the street but we never found it noisy. Such a peaceful area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We just completed a 9 day circuit of all the Songtsam Lodges (Shangrila, Tacheng, Meili, Cizhong, and Benzilan). What a fantastic and unique experience. The lodges in each location were wonderfully comfortable and beautifully decorated with amazing views. The antique textiles and furniture in each lodge alone are worth the visit. The only thing missing was a curated catalog of the art. The staff is incredibly professional and provides the highest level of service. On a par with or better than the most highly rated European hotels. At each location we were able to take hikes to see the local sites and scenery, all of which are very unique and document a way of life that may soon disappear. Our guide, Thupten Dolma, was very experienced and a great teacher and naturalist. This is a unique experience for anyone who wants to explore Tibetan culture in the setting if a 2,000 year old classic trade route - the Chamagudoa or Horse-Tea trail. This is a first rate travel experience.
Laurence and Michele Corash, San Francisco, CA

Room Tip: Book the superior deluxe rooms. No need for a fitness center, just take the walks. Only one lodge (T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lcorash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

One of our favorite places in China! The hotel accommodations were wonderful: room, service, food, and staff. The location right next to the monastery could not be better. We will definitely plan another trip to this wonderful place.

Room Tip: All the rooms were lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

It is An amazing place. The people there are always nice. The food was really good! It is really close from the temple. It is near the lake. There are trails to walk. You can take the bus to go to the city it is really cheap it only cost 1 yuan.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Meylin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Liked this hotel very much. Great location, interesting interior if a little rambling . Our room was very good, lots of space, good clean bathroom,good facilities. Excellant service throughout, we were there 3 nights and had really good breakfast and evening meals.
Warning, it is cold -take some warm clothing

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrJAS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shangri-La County hotels
3.4 mi away
Arro Khampa Shangrila By Zinc Journey
Arro Khampa Shangrila By Zinc Jo...
#4 of 179 in Shangri-La County
86 reviews
7.8 mi away
Banyan Tree Ringha
Banyan Tree Ringha
#1 of 179 in Shangri-La County
424 reviews
0.4 mi away
Songtsam Retreat at Shangri la - MGallery Collection
Songtsam Retreat at Shangri la -...
#3 of 179 in Shangri-La County
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Shangri-La
Hilton Garden Inn Shangri-La
#17 of 179 in Shangri-La County
10 reviews
2.5 mi away
Shangri-La Resort, Shangri-La
Shangri-La Resort, Shangri-La
#5 of 179 in Shangri-La County
88 reviews
0 mi away
Huajinzhao Boutique Guest House
Huajinzhao Boutique Guest House
#77 of 179 in Shangri-La County
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Songtsam Shangri-la (Lugu) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Songtsam Shangri-la (Lugu) Hotel

Address: Songzanlin, at the foot of Songtsam Lama temple, Shangri-La County 674400, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Yunnan > Shangri-La County
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 179 Hotels in Shangri-La County
Price Range: £80 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Songtsam Lodge at Shangri-la (Songtsam Lvgu Hotel) is the flagship lodge of Songtsam Lodges - a series of luxury boutique lodges built in pristine and beautiful locations in Yunnan.Songtsam Shangri-la (3,280m) is situated right next to the Songzanlin Monastery, the largest Tibetan monastery in Yunnan province. The lodge is housed in a traditional Tibetan dwelling within this typical, self-sufficient Tibetan farming village where the founder of Songtsam, Baima Dorjie, spent his childhood. Songtsam Shangro-la has hosted thousands of intrepid travelers from all over the world in the past 10 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Songtsam Shangri-la (Lugu) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Songtsam Hotel Shangri La County
Songtsam Shangri-La (Lugu) Hotel Shangri-La County, China - Yunnan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing