We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice to visit - a first taste of Tibet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sumtsaling Monastery

Sumtsaling Monastery
Book In Advance
More Info
US$95.00*
and up
Private Day Trip of Shangri-La with Monastery Visit
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The biggest monastery in Shangri-La.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice to visit - a first taste of Tibet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

I think it is really something to visit if you are in Shangri-La. This monastery can give you a first taste of Tibet. Maybe it is better to do it with a guide if you are interesting about the meaning of the paintings inside the monastery.

Very bad point:
We took bus N°3 to come here from the old city. Two stops before arriving the monastery, a very rude military guy will ask all the foreigners to get out of the bus to buy tickets. Chinese people can continue their way without any problem. If you refuse to get down the bus, this military guy can become violent. Also he seems racist especially to Japanese people (he kick one out of the bus insulting him).
So after that you have to buy a ticket (115RMB) and wait for a tourist bus which will bring you at the same place as bus N°3 do. When arriving there you will see that it is possible to enter in the monastery freely (they will not check your ticket at the entrance).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank tangbaozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    145
    39
    7
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

The interior red walls are covered in stunning, detailed paintings. How do the colors remain so vibrant? The massive gold Buddhas gaze down benevolently. The air is filled with incense and the sound of monks chanting. It is amazing!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AustinAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
130 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“our guide ( duma tel/ 13988789694) made all the difference - a beautiful example of tibet's treasures -”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

a very friendly place. all covered with murals paintings carvings statues and pictures all very very colorful and meaningful if you have the right local tibetan guide to explain it all

luckily we had the most professional and nice guide we can reccomend with all our heart her name is duma and her phone 13988789694

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank yakir1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Shangri La”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

This area is really Shangri La. Just around the bend of Shangri La city itself which does not merit the illustrious name.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kurkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expensive but enjoyed it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

If you cannot get a visa for Tibet, this complex looks eerily like Potala in Lhasa. We paid 115 RMB and 75 for a college student with ID. No one checked our tickets later. The ticket price goes to feed the monks and rebuild the monastery among other things so we were not as outraged as many by the high ticket price. as the complex still needs a lot of work. We saw six different temples. of which two were under construction. We walked around the lake on a board walk which was rotten in some places. The lake was very peaceful. The Qing style murals were being painted in one temple while we were there so if you are expecting to see the original Qing era murals this is not the place. At the same time the murals are very well done and very colorful. We wished we had an English guide as there were not many good explanations in English. There were lots of monks of different ages. We enjoyed listening to one chanting ceremony complete with drums and incense. You could not watch as the door was covered with a blanket. We watched local men and women and a few monks carry in the heavy supplies. It is steep to climb up to the temples and within the temples so we felt the altitude. There are some English signs saying no hats, no sunglasses and no photos inside the temples but the majority of Chinese visitors ignored the no photo sign.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ElaineClaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sumtsaling Monastery also viewed

 
Shangri-La County, Yunnan
Shangri-La County, Yunnan
 

Been to Sumtsaling Monastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing